We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we were looking for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Long Bay Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just what we were looking for.”
Reviewed April 22, 2010

My husband and I stayed for about a week at the Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas. We were excited about the location even though some comments on trip advisor had complaints. I am not sure how you couldn't enjoy your time at this property. The food was excellent on property and I usually don't care for hotel food. We were upgraded to a beach front villa upon arrival along with a tropical drink. The drive from the airport in Tortola/Beef Island is about 45 minutes as this resort is on the other side of the island. But, boy is it worth it! It is secluded and romantic, yet still friendly for families and just a short taxi drive to ferry docks for day trips to other islands or to Sage Mountain Park. Some of the reviews we read complained about service or a lack of things to do because of the off-season...however, we had a fantastic experience, would recommend to anyone and would go back in an instant. For a great taxi driver who has a great passion for his home country and the island of Tortola, ask for Eric. If you are looking for a relaxing island vacation this is a great place. If you are looking for a cookie-cutter large chain resort, this isn't that...and that is one reason we liked it so much. A quick side note: the beach is wonderful! However, it does have waves and wouldn't be the most ideal for swimming while we did get in, it was only up to our knees due to the waves and current. There is a great pool on property with a good view and beautiful plants/flowers for swimming.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPell224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    289
    118
    65
    41
See reviews for
96
370
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

We vacationed at Long Bay for one week in March with another family. Our attempt to get there was crazy because of the ferry schedule. Make sure you understand that Long Bay is around the corner form West End and not Road Town. The Inn and property were historically interesting, but could use a little sprucing up. Our rooms were on the beach and totally outdated. The wood was rotten on the doors and we had some bug issues. We hardly spent anytime in the room so that was easy to overcome, but still disappointing. The main help/front desk was very efficient, but the wait staff was extremely slow!!!! They were polite, but not 5 star service. The beach itself was well kept and clean. The view from our room was breathtaking. We did not do all inclusive so that we could roam the island at meal time. I can not stress the excellence of Bananakeet restaurant! The food at Long Bay was also very good! This is not a "resort" atmosphere but a quaint little nook that is semi secluded. We enjoyed the safe feeling for our kids ranging in ages 10-14. They could go to pool and beach safely on their own. I would go back and felt it was a good value, but it was not 5 star resort.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kellynichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2010

We recently returned from a 5 night stay at Longbay and had a wonderful experience. I was a little concerned about some of the negative reviews on this site but we found the place to be great for a family trip. I came to the conclusion that the majority of the negative reviews were due to people not understanding that the BVI is quite different from the USVI and that if you want "5 star" service and impeccable accommodations, then the BVI is probably not for you.

We stayed in a 3 bedroom villa that had a great veranda complete with a gas grill and 6 seat table. We spent most of our "open time" in the villa out on the veranda with a wonderful view of the ocean and neighboring islands. In fact, I think we ate most of our meals out on the veranda when we weren't eating out. The kitchen was satisfactorily equipped with a full size refirgerator and stove, microwave and toaster. The bedrooms were comfortable and all of them had balcony access and the same view as on the veranda. We only used the AC at night and didn't really even need it then or during the day given the constant breeze through the villa through the screened doors.

We only had one meal at the property at the 1748 restaurant and is was pretty good but not great. It had a fairly limited menu but all in all not too bad. The kids did have a lunch or two at the poolside bar (burgers, sandwiches, etc) but we didn't make it to the other restaurant on site.

The beach area is beautiful and uncrowded. There are numerous shady areas under the palm trees if you need it and plenty of beach chairs in the area. The water right off the beach is a little rocky but better near the 1748 restaurant area with more of a sandy bottom. In the entrire time we were in Tortola, we didn't see a better beach area at any of the other hotels or resorts. Cane Garden Bay is nice but be prepared to share the area with all of the boisterous cruise ship people that come over there on day trips.

Our family is pretty big into fitness and we also worked out almost daily at the small but adequate gym. There are a couple of stairmasters and 2 treadmills in addition to the weight training area.

Overall, we had a great time and a great trip. We would highly recommend a day sail with Captain Steve on the Aristocat out of Soper's Hole. We had a wonderful day sail out to Norman Island and stooped 3 times for snorkeling and lunch. We would also recommend a morning or afternoon trip to Sage Mountain (if you are physically able to hike in moderate hills). It was a nice excursion and the views from there are outstanding.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Hlhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2010

I stayed here for one night after a 10 day sailboat charter in the B.V.I.s. I was very disappointed in this hotel after all the misleading photos I saw on their website. The grounds were in poor condition, the rooms were funky and mosquito ridden. The location was awesome but the hotel was shabby and need to be bulldozed.Service was typical "island style" lazy and rude. I feel sorry for the people who said this place is great, obviously they have never stayed in a well kept hotel. You would have to have really low standards to like this resort. Oh yeah, it was also a total rip-off , $300.00 U.S a night plus a $10.00 electricity charge everyday on top.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnduranceIdaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one week in March 2010. The grounds are very well landscaped and kept beautiful. The resort is constantly updating so it was really nice. Our room was a Hillside Oceanview Deluxe and it was awesome. Great room, comfortable bed, and I have a bad back, so that was very important. My husband and I loved it so much we bought a timeshare. We will be back as often as possible. Oh by the way, if you want night life go to Las Vegas, not Tortola.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank messyjessy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We stayed at Long Bay Resort for 5 days in January and had a wonderful time! The manager and staff welcomed us and were very attentive to our needs during our entire stay. The accomodations were very comfortable and nice. The view was incredible! We will definitely return to Long Bay!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetraveling70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pellsangel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

We arrived late in the evening after paying the 20 dollars per person to drive to this hotel only to find that even after email confirmation they did not have a room that would accommodate us. After quite some discussion they agreed to let us stay in a small room until morning and then we would sort it out. Sorting it out entailed us paying additional money for two additional guests as the room they booked was only to accommodate 2 people and even though we all had to share a bed it was an additional 35 dollars per person per night more. We had asked the night before when they said they didnt have a room for us if they could give us our money back so we could find another room they said no because Corporate has your money not us, so they wern't going to give us our money back or a room. The hotel staff was extremely rude and unfriendly. We discovered this from many other guests though it seems the people who live in the Villas were happy. They didnt appear to eat or shop in the Long Bay area and a cab ride anywhere was quite expensive. The restaraunts in the area were often closed and or out of many things. There was zero night life no bar around to go have a drink or socilize and the people in the area all seemed like they did not want to have your business. I went to other areas on the Island where this was not the case the restaraunts and bars were hoping with smiling faces menu choices, live music etc... I will never go back to Long Bay especially that hotel!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pellsangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChungB, Manager at Long Bay Beach Club, responded to this review, March 16, 2010
It is truly frustrating to us when a guest leaves the proper with a less than wonderful experience. Our employees strive to make each and ever guest feel at home. To that end, each guest is greeted with a smiling face and a welcome drink to kick start the vacation.

We understand that your vacation was not what you expected; please be assured that your matter was thoroughly researched by all the parties involved. It is safe to say that due diligence was exercised, but nothing came up which indicated that there was a reservation for four. We apologize that this was not articulately communicated to you before you arrived to the resort.

As you already know, the resort is on the West End of Tortola virtiually all by itself. And this is the reason why so many guests return year after year.

By way of clarity, the restaurants are open seven days a week for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The pool bar is open from 10:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. each and every day. The Terrace Bar is open six nights per week from 4:00 p.m. to 11:00 p.m.

Lastly, the resort does not have any control over what a taxi driver may charge. The various Taxi Associations set the rates; what we do is facilitate the request for a taxi.

I am sorry that the service attended to you was less than spectacular, we will continue to train our staff to deliver the right service.

Respectfully Submitted,

Bruce Chung
Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas
West End, Tortola
British Virgin Islands
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
440 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.0 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
291 reviews
5.2 mi away
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
Moorings Mariner Inn Hotel
#6 of 13 in Road Town
230 reviews
11.8 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Beach Club

Property: Long Bay Beach Club
Address: PO Box 433, BVI, Tortola (Formerly Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Long Bay Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful, mile-long stretches of white sand beach in the Caribbean, Long Bay Beach Club is truly the gem of the British Virgin Islands. Guests enjoy terrific accommodations including Beachfront Rooms and Suites. The resort amenities include the historic beachfront 1748 Restaurant & Bar, tennis, amazing beach and much more. Fantastic location on Tortola's much sought after West End, just minutes from Soper's Hole Marina. Popular excursions include sailing, diving, sightseeing, and shopping. Great restaurants, bars, and nightlife nearby. Perfect for couples, friends, and families. Also ideal for those seeking a land / sea vacation that includes sailing and hotel stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Long Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Tortola
Long Bay Beach Resort And Villas
Long Bay Beach Hotel
Long Bay Beach Resort Villas Tortola
Long Bay Resort Tortola
Long Bay Beach Club Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing