We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Set expectations correctly... u will love it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Long Bay Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
A TripAdvisor Member
Philadelphia, PA
18
Reviewed April 18, 2005

Most Important... Several reviews suggest NOT renting an oceanfront room. We couldn't disagree more. We visited other rooms and ours was superior, by far. (Don't get the bungalows on stilts, get an actual room.) It was large, with a big covered deck. What views!!! And we were lulled to sleep by the surf each night. Our stay would not have been the same had we NOT had an oceanfront room. And, it certainly did NOT smell fishy or salty or musty. It was wonderful.

We WOULD recommend this resort, so long as you set your expectations appropriately!

So we were very happy with our room, and the views!!! We worked with the Dive Shop there (friendly and helpful) and the on-premises car rental agencies (quick and nice!)... we'd highly recommend both. The Guest Services staff was helpful in arranging our dolphin swim and White Squall outing to Norman & Cooper Islands (don't miss it).

However, prepare to be laid back and overlook some other "issues" at the resort. The service is just plain bad... generally slow and apathetic, though you do meet the occasional attentive staffer. The food is below average... breakfasts are good and the Palm Terrace occasionally performs. Order desserts at your own risk... we found each one to be inedible. (Coco Plums is a short walk and very yummy!) Skip the spa services; they're not relaxing. The pool is not great. And, if you plan on using the fitness center, bring a towel from your room. It's humid... you'll sweat and chances are you won't be supplied with a towel.

Tortola and surrounding islands are just stunning, and this resort is in a serene, beautiful location. We found the physical beauty of Long Bay beach to greater than that of its much-heralded neighbor, Smugglers Cove.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

656 - 662 of 733 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2005

Came to Long Bay after 4 days in St. Thomas. When we got there, we were told we had no reservation and that it had been cancelled 3 months prior by the travel agent. Needless to say we went through the roof (this was our honeymoon) and became very upset / angry. The staff was unable to tell us exactly how it had gotten cancelled, but they handled the situation in a very professional manner. Needless to say we were a bit impatient and short with them, but Teresita at the front desk was very patient with us, understood why were so upset, and booked us into an available room.

Unfortunately, the beachfront cabana we thoguht we were getting was taken, so we were hillside, which was still very nice, with a great view. Two days later, the front desk called w/ news that they could move us down to a beachfront that had just opened up. The rest of the week they joked us w/ us that we looked much happier. At the end of the week, the travel agent had been contacted and straightened the situation out with Long Bay, and the bill showed a balance of $-0- . A nice end to the week.

As far as the resort, we were very pleased. The pool area was nice, with a good swim up bar (and a great bartender Cheryl). Good sandwiches and snacks available there.

The meals we ate at the resorts various restaurants were very good, with the Tuesday night Italian being the best.

The rooms were good, not great. They were generally clean and in working order. The fridge worked well, TV did not, but is TV really that important in the islands?

The beach was also very good, not very crowded, with gorgeous views. The one negative is the rocky coast. Don't expect to spend hours wading in the surf, unless you've got shoes on.

Overall though, we had a great time and the staff (Teresita, Cheryl, Alan, etc) were very nice and very helpful at all time. Especially considering the difficult situation at the beginning of the trip. If you are not a super high end resort dweller, I would definitley recommend it.

Several great restaurants in walking distance....Cocoa Plums and Sebastians were both excellent. We went to Bombas as well, but I can't remember anything about it, other than Johnny Bomba and Big Sexy. Haha.

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank cj422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Atlanta, GA
222
Reviewed March 29, 2005

My husband and I just returned from a week long stay at Long Bay Resort in Tortola. The resort is in a wonderful area of the island and has a pristine beach. If you walk to the end, it's almost totally private and it's great for swimming. Service was moderate and our view from our hillside deluxe room was gorgeous! Our room had a kitchen which was very helpful. We ate breakfast and made lunch almost every day. If you grocery shop, use the two in Sopers Hole Marina since they are MUCH closer than driving to Cane Garden Bay. We ate at the Sugar Mill Restaurant which had excellent service and food was excellent. We took the White Squall to the Baths and Cooper Island...loved the staff!! We also took a catamaran out 2 days with other couples we met at our resort and we used Captain Nibbs at Island Fun. He's highly recommended as well! Jost Van Dyke was a fun day and just being there made us wish we never had to leave! I'd return to this resort again...it was very relaxing and all we wanted. The BVI in general is absolutely breathtaking!!! Only negative thing I have to say is - don't eat at Sebastian's. The food was overcooked and the service was terrible!

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2005

This review will give an accurate comparison for those that commonly go to large resorts with many ammenities. First, remember that you are in the islands, and it is not the USA, not Mexico or Bermuda. The BVI are beautiful but you need to check your impatience at the door when arriving. Here goes:

Location: Excellent, gorgeous views towards Jost Van Dyke. Taxi service is expensive so if you want to explore, rent a jeep which costs about $50 per day but its worth it because there are great beaches to explore.

Room: do not, repeat, do not take rooms by the beach. They are dated, smelly, in severe need of updating. Hillside Ocean View Deluxe was very good. Water is a bit slow but was sufficient.

Food: we ate every morning at the beach cafe, right on the beach. Good buffet, service slow (what else is new). If not on a package, breakfast is expensive... try $75 for 4 every day...ouch. Dinner in the Palm Terrace was very good but decor was drab. Many better restaurants to explore out of the resort. Go to Coco Plums, Pisces, Jolly Roger, Quito's,Sugar Mill..explore... its cheaper and much better. We had a package that included 2 dinners...wish we did not..

Service: slow, just as expected. Rooms were cleaned superficially. They add 10% service fee to all charges which is annoying. I usually did not add anything more because no one really went out of their way to assist us. The people are lovely , but some management training could make this resort top notch.

Pool: large by island standards...very clean, decent pool bar but again VERY slow..order food 30 minutes before you get hungry.

Overall: I think we would return, include room and maybe breakfast or rent one of their villas and eat breakfast in, but who really wants to do that any way? Rent a car, explore Cane Garden Bay, Smugglers Bay, Josiah Bay, Sage Mtn Park. Nice that the resort had access to rental cars and some excursions right from the resort. If you're looking for a resort type hotel in the islands and you have been to the BVI before, you will get what you expect. If you have been to Beaches, Iberostar or other all inclusives and expect that much, you probably should not go here. But the beaches and the views are incredible! You are paying for location and beauty, not service and accessability. Hope this helps....

10  Thank BillyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
St. Louis, Mo
218
Reviewed March 27, 2005

We had stayed at Long Bay 8 years ago and had a fabulous experience, therefore we decided to go back. It is quite apparent that the resort has had very poor management and has deteroiated since we last visited. The front desk staff was apathetic to say the least to any concerns or problems that arose and often were the cause of the frustrations we encountered. We knew we should be concered when as part of our "Adventure Package" we were to have a trip to a neighboring island included. We were told at the front desk that we would be reimbursed for the cost of the ferry ride to St. John which totaled 160 dollars, once they had our reciept. When we bought the ticket at the ferry dock we were warned by the lady at the ticket counter to hold onto the main reciept because numerous people who stayed at Long Bay were told by the staff at Long Bay that there was no record of their reciept and that they would have to pay the cost without proof of the reciept. Again in the customs line we were told the same thing by a different person. Once back at the hotel the front desk insisted they had to have the original receipt but my husband insisted they make a copy and we would keep the original. This made them very upset for some reason but they finally did this. On check out we were told there was no record of our ferry cost and that without the receipt we were responsible for this cost. A different person was at the desk at this time and was surprised and bothered to find out we had the original and that they had made a copy and her demenor became hostile after we showed her that, yes, they had to reimburse us for the ferry. Numerous locals, when they found out we were staying at Long Bay, told us to be careful of hidden charges and that they had quite a reputation on the island. We found their advice very accurate on too many accounts to mention. We even had them touring people through our villa without our consent when we were out of the room. The only reason we found out was we came back to our villa to find a strange man touring four other people through our unit. He seemed embarassed to have been caught. In addition to poor service the food was overpriced and substandard. Much better food could be found off the resort. Needless to say we will not be back and would never recommend this place at this time to anyone. We were saddened to see that such a beautiful place at one time had been allowed to become so run down.

17  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2005

My husband and I travel for 2 weeks every winter with another couple. This year we spent a week at Long Bay Beach resort-we rented beachfront cabanas and were very happy with our decision. The cabanas were off the beaten path from the rest of the resort so it was very private and tranquil. The rooms are clean and comfortable-king size beds, fridge, A/C. This is not a luxury resort but it's not priced as one either. We have traveled to several islands over the years we feel that Long Bay is a good value.

We ate breakfast at the resort - the food was very good but some mornings some of the entrees were on the cool side but that can happen at a buffet. We ate diner outside of the resort every evening because we like to explore. We never had a bad meal on the island but would highly recommend Brandywine Bay and the Sugar Mill Inn.

If you are looking for a low-key place to unwind with a great beach and privacy go for the beach cabanas at Long Bay you will not be dissappointed.

7  Thank SallyScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2005

This was my third time to Tortola and my 50th or so to the Caribbean. My overall impression of Long Bay is positive. It's very true that with a little extra effort, this could be a fabulous resort. As of now, it's good but not great.

Thoughts on the resort:

Isolation: I didn't find this resort too isolated. It's near Bombas (I think walking distance to bombas), Sugar Mill, fifteen minutes from Cane Garden Bay and West End/Sopers Hole, and 30 minutes from Roadtown.

The room: The beachfront cabana (not just beachfront room) is worth the $170 upgrade. The cabanas are stand-alone structures with only two rooms. There is a fridge in the room. We wanted to be lulled to sleep with the sound of the waves, however they are so strong on this part of the island that it sounds more like a storm and I woke up every 20 minutes until we closed the windows and put on the A/C. The deck (with table and two chairs) is shared by the other room with a large, solid wall in between. We found it afforded enough privacy for us. The walls are very thin though. All beachfront rooms are a fair distance from the lobby and pool. Conversely, the non-beachfront rooms are near the pool and far from the beach. We saved money by booking through a consolidator using trip advisors quick check. The consolidator was hotels but they will probably edit that out. I never used a consolidator before and it worked out really well.

The beach: The beach is wide, clean and looks like the pictures. The chairs were scarce at times. There are palm trees that provide some shade on the beach. Yes, the beach is very rocky. I'm 33 and I found it almost impossible to swim in the water outside our room. The water is shallow, the rocks are sharp and the waves are extremely strong. They knock your footing off and you end up saying "ouch" more than it is worth it. Over near the restaurant, it's a little better. I was able to do some swimming on that side. However, the waves were relentless and tired me out after a short while. Don't think of relaxing on an air mattresses here. Some kids had boogie boards (brought from home) and it was a perfect beach for that. There was no lifeguard though. We took a cab to Cane Garden Bay ($18), which was nice and calm. Lots of beach bars there.

Service: The staff was generally nice, especially at the front desk. I didn't rely on them for anything though. You are always better off making your own plans and arrangements. I have found that people in the BVI's are friendlier than the rest of the Caribbean. However, we did run into rude staff full of attitude at the pool bar. Keep in mind that EVERYTHING takes longer in the islands. Porters for the luggage were on another time zone it seemed. Taxis were prompt within a five minute range from when we expected them.

Food: The pool has a cute swim up bar where you can eat or drink, while sitting in the pool on stools. The beach side restaurant "1748" was an open air deck right on the beach. The grouper was good and usually a good bet anywhere in the Caribbean.

Bugs: No roaches or anything, don't fret. We came away with dozens of bug bites though. We used OFF, but apparently not enough. Definitely put on bug spray before you go to sleep. Those no-see-ums will get ya!

Other Activities:
Jost Van Dyke: Jost is great, it has a large following among the boaters (who generally tend to be 40+). During the day, you can take a cheap, quick (20 minutes) ferry from West End ($9-$12 cab ride). Ferry schedules are posted online. The Soggy Dollar is the place to go during the day. Foxy's is the place to go at night. They have a BBQ every Friday and Saturday night at 7:30 for $25, followed by live music. They serve ribs, chicken and fish (mahi-mahi in our case). You can take a private water taxi back to west end from Sheppard's or another water taxi service. This cost us $75 one way and you can arrange for pick up at any time. I get the feeling that the cost is negotiable, it's also cheaper during daylight hours. Make sure you arrange for a taxi in West End before leaving Jost. Also, there are several docks in West End, make sure you get picked up at the right one.

Peter Island: Beautiful, private island. You can take a free ferry from Roadtown ($18 cab, 35 minute travel time) and have dinner there at Tradewinds. Live music, gorgeous scenery. Go early and check out the beach and/or have a pre-dinner cocktail on the terrace. Staying overnight here starts at $825, but you can get the experience for the price of dinner. No shorts, no flip flops, collared shirts for men. Make a reservation.

Rent a boat: Renting a boat for a day or going on an overnight charter is a great time. I highly recommend it.

Virgin Gorda: Didn't do it this time, but the sunset massage for two at Little Dix Bay is heaven on earth. Ultra romantic. If you go to the Baths, bring bug spray, the grottos are mosquito breeding grounds.

Nightlife: Go to roadtown, cane garden bay, foxy's on Jost, jolly roger, or bombas (within walking distance). You won't find anything in long bay.

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank bluedaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
9.9 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
389 reviews
4.9 mi away
Maria's by the Sea
Maria's by the Sea
#3 of 13 in Road Town
283 reviews
11.8 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Beach Club

Address: PO Box 433, BVI, Tortola (Formerly Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas)
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range: $327 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Long Bay Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful, mile-long stretches of white sand beach in the Caribbean, Long Bay Beach Club is truly the gem of the British Virgin Islands. Guests enjoy terrific accommodations including Beachfront Rooms and Suites. The resort amenities include the historic beachfront 1748 Restaurant & Bar, tennis, amazing beach and much more. Fantastic location on Tortola's much sought after West End, just minutes from Soper's Hole Marina. Popular excursions include sailing, diving, sightseeing, and shopping. Great restaurants, bars, and nightlife nearby. Perfect for couples, friends, and families. Also ideal for those seeking a land / sea vacation that includes sailing and hotel stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Long Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Tortola
Long Bay Beach Resort And Villas
Long Bay Beach Hotel
Long Bay Beach Resort Villas Tortola
Long Bay Resort Tortola
Long Bay Beach Club Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing