We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location, good experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Long Bay Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Des Moines, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the resort in the dark, was greeted by a very nice person at the front desk who checked us in and provided a refreshing rum punch and found a room that was clean, quiet and comfortable. We awoke in the morning to a beautiful view and a pristine, uncrowded white sand beach. The room was not updated recently but to me cleanliness and functionality is more important. The restaurant staff could have been friendlier, but our breakfast and dinners were really good. The front desk staff arranged all of our transportation to Road Town and the airport with no issue. We spent two nights at the resort, departed for 7 days on our bareboat charter, then returned for another night and had another good experience. It wasn't perfect (not sure if those places exist), but it certainly was a nice place to stay. Even the cabbie said when taking us to the airport that the beach and north end of the island is probably the most beautiful. Couple of tips...be sure to bring some snacks/drinks, since each room has a refrigerator and there really isn't a store around. Cab ride from airport is $50.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Candice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    280
    115
    63
    40
See reviews for
92
357
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

We got married in the islands and then hopped over to Tortola for a couple days to ourselves (or so we thought.) We booked this place on the premise that it looked like they had a decent amount of amenities. When we booked it said they had a pool area and a pool bar along with another bar and restaurant on the grounds. Good enough, and the pictures of the beach looked great.
HERE's WHERE IT GETS INTERESTING
We arrived, and on the way in the cab driver commented that another club on this side of the island was better, but we were still optimistic.
We first found out upon arrival that the resort was mostly closed for renovations (something that they had not updated us on since we booked). The pool was closed and the bar and restaurant weren't terribly exciting. We still tried to stay optimistic. The beach is long and beautiful, but VERY ROCKY only a couple feet into the water. Well, that sucks we thought, but oh well. Then they take us to the room which was one of the huts on stilts. Room inside was pretty nice, but here is where I feel a little deceived. They state the rooms have a private balcony and great view, but they NEVER stated that the rooms are actually duplex huts, adjoined by a PAPER THIN wall. The first morning we were there we woke up to the people next door coughing, hacking, crying, and sneezing. It was as if we could have carried on a conversation through the wall without even raising our voice. Not very secluded at all.
We did walk down the road a little ways to a local beach/cove area that was gorgeous, and that was a fun day trip, even though we had a decent walk to get there.
Ultimately, we ended up leaving the resort early because we just couldn't handle listening to our neighbors when we were trying to enjoy our own time. We spoke with the GM of the place who was a nice fellow, but just didn't understand why we would be upset that when we booked we saw one thing and when we got there saw something different.
I would not recommend this place to anyone. Overpriced for what it offered, the terrible room situation, and no swimming option on the beautiful beach.

Room Tip: DON'T PICK THE BEACH FRONT HUTS. Paper thin walls so you can hear every movement and sound of yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Bryan9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Long Bay Beach Club, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Long Bay Beach Club. We appreciate your taking the time to share your feedback with us. WE are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay.

This past fall the resort was closed for renovations and re-branding to create a much more romantic and intimate beach club style atmosphere centered on the resort's unparalleled beachfront location as well as the highly personalized service The resort now consists of 40 rooms and offers its most popular room categories: beachfront deluxe suites, beachfront rooms and beachfront cabanas all of which were opened during this period.

Long Bay Beach Club’s amenities have also been simplified to focus on providing a superior beach club experience. Remodeled on-property offerings include the 1748 Restaurant & Bar, personal check-in service, tennis courts, a gift shop and the reception and guest services desks. The original swimming pool and pool bar have been discontinued, but a new swimming pool will be added near the beachfront rooms by mid-2014. Also, a new massage treatment cabana will be installed near the beachfront rooms in November 2013.

We have created a very special boutique style resort in a spectacular setting and look forward to welcoming you once again for an amazing and memorable Caribbean vacation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Level Contributor
78 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I hate to write this review, but it needs to be said. I just checked out today so it's fresh. Left on the first ferry out at 8AM today when I had planned to leave at 5PM. We could not wait to get out of there due to how bad they made us feel. We had a Beachfront Cabana which was everything I expected, no complaints about the room. Great view and room 401 has great clear beach access, much nicer than many others. The issue I have with the resort is the attitude of the staff (mostly restaurant) that you are bothering them by being there. Check in was good and the guy who brought us to the room was actually really nice, he was the only person nice to us the entire stay. The waitstaff at 1748 are absolutly bothered by every question you ask about the food, every request for a drink, dessert, you name it. If you aren't drinking alcohol you can feel the judgement about a smaller bill, only a coke, really thats all you want to drink? The hotel staff is sparse (I had to drag chairs a quarter mile two days because there were none by our room one day and someone moved them back the second). Never saw a soul to even ask for help. Such a shame to be made to feel that you are a burden when paying so much money. I will not return and do not suggest you stay here. Wish I had not paid so much for this poor customer service experience. There is a sign that says please let them know about problems when there instead of later in reviews. What can you say, the whole staff acts like they don't want to even look at me? Sorry.

Room Tip: you can't stay here without a car
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank aaronr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Long Bay Beach Club, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Long Bay Beach Club.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the staff. Please note that we take guest comments very seriously and we continue to work very diligently to create a warm and hospitable environment so that our guests enjoy a truly memorable vacation.

We do hope that when considering a fun-filled Caribbean vacation that we once again may host you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Came here last week and we have been coming here for several years. Probably the prettiest, cleanest beach on Tortola!

We don't completely understand the politics and changes happening between the Villas and the beach resort but the new management claims that there are better things coming. We will see next year.

Why not start with what could easily be the best Restaurant on the island and definitely one with a greatest view. 1848 Restaurant could and should be a gold mine for the owners! The food is very good but the service sucks (breakfast, lunch and dinner). Food this expensive should come with a great dining experience. The waitresses are never attentive, and then they have the nerve to add the "service" charge to the bill, no matter how big the party.

There is a common theme here and I'm not sure why the management doesn't get it. Most of the negative reviews have been about the lousy service at the restaurant and they are all true and have been for years. I agree with the review that said..."I get island time, but it's time to clean house." There are several other restaurants on the island that have GREAT service so why keep such slow and rude waitresses??

Food Service (Buisness) 101... Smile, be polite and enjoy what you do...you will be successful. That means you will make more money!!!

Good Luck Long Bay!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelinfeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Long Bay Beach Club, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay at Long Bay Beach Club. We appreciate your taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We constantly strive to create a one of a kind, memorable vacation experience.

We are sorry you were disappointed with the service at the restaurant. We work very closely with the staff to maintain exceptional service and will continue to do so to provide outstanding levels that exceed guest expectations.

We do hope that when considering a sun-filled vacation on one of the Caribbean's most beautiful beaches we once again may host you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We were in Tortola for 3 days prior to going to St Thomas. Stayed at the Long Bay Beach resort and had a beach front Cabana room. What a way to relax. The surf within 25 feet from your deck and you could keep the doors open at night to listen to sound of the waves. Each Cabana has an entrance door to lock and a deck with a sliding door and screen. Walk out right to your beach chair. The restaurant was good for breakfast and ok for dinner. The dinner menu was more Italian fare than island fare. Unexpected. What we ate for dinner was very good however. We went to Pusser's at Soper's Hole for dinner one night and it was very good. The rooms were clean and comfortable and everybody on staff was very nice. Recommended to just get away.

Room Tip: Beach Front Cabana or suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Herb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

Arrived 2/04/14 for a two day relaxation with my wife before we set sail on Catamaran for 8 days. Wanted quaint, relaxing & a beautiful beach. It is all of the above. The grounds definitely needs a face lift & the food is sub par. The employees seem to understand this & make up for it with exceptional service. Worth a visit if your not looking for pampering. A lot of potential here, with a NEW Chef & some grounds/room work this could be a home run. Bonus is the 15 minute wall to smugglers Cove beach... Gorgeous, & Steve the bartender, cook, chair attendant is the ABSOLUTE best!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Neinkzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Long Bay Beach Club, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Long Bay Beach Club. We value our guests'' feedback as a way to continuously improve our guests' experience. The resort has recently been rebranded as smaller more intimate resort on one of the most beautiful beaches in the Caribbean.

We look forward to welcoming you back as we continue improvements to our property
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

A scan through other 'real' reviews will confirm my own.
The resort has the potential to be the islands best but sadly it is far from it. Even a little effort could make big improvements. Whoever owns Long Bay Resort should read the reviews and rather than posting generic answers actually take action to address the same issues raised by so many guests. I would actually suggest that reviewers who give it higher ratings for the beach/location should take into account they are a natural beauty that has nothing to do with the resort which is what should be being reviewed.
Service! Or lack of it. This costs nothing just good management and training. It truly is poor at best. Servers are surly and seem to do anything other than serve. You are made to feel like you are a nuisance not a paying guest. A good example was the evening we returned at 9:30 and thought we would have a coffee before retiring. Having already learned that you cannot expect them to come to you I approached them and asked for 2 coffees.
"I've just emptied the pot"
"so no chance then?"
"I would have to make a fresh one."
"Well if it's too much trouble...."
"I'm here to 10:30"
And so it went. A complete joke.

Beds. When reviewers call them firm you had better believe it. Due to a back problem I like firm and in fact currently sleep on a layer of gel on a concrete floor. These beds are harder than that, I promise I am not exaggerating.

Rooms. Dated but even with a little effort could be better. Caulk, cleaning in corners, paint touch up easy and cheap. One day we returned at 3:30 pm and no towels. I called reception.
"They're in the wash. We will return by 5pm"
Are they seriously saying they do not have enough towels to rotate them? Come 5pm no towels but fortunately the unused beach towels had remained. We left at 7pm to discover them in a plastic bag left in front of door.

Bugs. I had read mention of ants. For some reason the reviewer blamed the beach? Ants are because they do not apply appropriate pest deterrents. However, the much mentioned mosquitoes are a bigger problem. It's fine having screen doors but when you have gaps under doors big enough to limbo through they become pointless. Take plenty of spray and Benadryl.

The truth is it really is a shame to write such a negative review. I work in this industry and found myself frustrated knowing that many of the complaints could be so easily addressed. We drove the entire island several times and this resort has to opportunity to be the best, hands down. However, short of some immediate actions it is an easy prediction that the situation will continue to move in the wrong direction.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lamxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Long Bay Beach Club, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Long Bay Beach Resort. We greatly value our guests' feedback as a way to continuously improve our guests' experience.

We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay. We take our guests' comments very seriously and work very diligently to train our staff in providing gracious and hospitable service.

Please be assured that the issues you have mentioned have been reviewed and addressed. We take pride in our hotel, and do our best to prevent problems from reoccurring. Again we are sorry you did not feel you experienced Long Bay Beach Resort's genuine hospitality and can only hope you give us the opportunity to do a better job in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.0 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
11.8 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
8.6 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Beach Club

Property: Long Bay Beach Club
Address: PO Box 433, BVI, Tortola (Formerly Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Long Bay Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful, mile-long stretches of white sand beach in the Caribbean, Long Bay Beach Club is truly the gem of the British Virgin Islands. Guests enjoy terrific accommodations including Beachfront Rooms and Suites. The resort amenities include the historic beachfront 1748 Restaurant & Bar, tennis, amazing beach and much more. Fantastic location on Tortola's much sought after West End, just minutes from Soper's Hole Marina. Popular excursions include sailing, diving, sightseeing, and shopping. Great restaurants, bars, and nightlife nearby. Perfect for couples, friends, and families. Also ideal for those seeking a land / sea vacation that includes sailing and hotel stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Long Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Tortola
Long Bay Beach Resort And Villas
Long Bay Beach Hotel
Long Bay Beach Resort Villas Tortola
Long Bay Resort Tortola
Long Bay Beach Club Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing