We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The beach view was amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Long Bay Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
connecticut
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The beach view was amazing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in a beachfront cabana for a week. The rooms are dated and the bed is hard but the view from the balcony was amazing. They have satellite TV so you van watch anything you want. My room had a wifi receiver so I had a good signal and could even FaceTime however most rooms have no wifi and you have to go to the lobby to get a signal. I was able to meet a group of tennis player who meet every day at 800am. The courts are a synthetic grass.
We ate breakfast at the resort everyday. We would arrive at 1000 and wait till 1045 for our order. Good thing the view of the beach and waves passed the time. On the first day I ordered corn beef hash and when they delivered to the other person at the table I was advised they had no corn beef hash. (40 minutes wasted). The orange juice the first day was great but the next day it was watered down. bacon was great most of the time but tasted spoiled one day as well as an order of sausage I had to send back. Only ate dinner the first night as their are so many better choices around.
I would come back because of the beech location and the tennis courts.


Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank globalpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Long Bay Beach Club, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us on your recent stay at Long Bay Beach Club. We appreciate the time you took to provide us with your feedback.

Long Bay Beach Club is located on one of the most spectacular beaches in all of the Caribbean delivers and intimate boutique experience.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the dining service and cuisine. We have shared your thoughts with management and our chef with the goal of continuously improving our guests' experience.

We are happy to note that you will be returning and look forward to welcoming you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    280
    115
    63
    40
See reviews for
92
357
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Long Bay Beach Club was a fantastic place to totally relax following our bareboat cruise. Informal and relaxed with a great beach, great food and friendly employees….we had a great stay starting with our Rum Punch at check in. The steel band on New Years day topped off our trip!

The best thing was the people, which we also found throughout the BVIs. Mabel and Leana, our waitresses were terrific…… as was the staff at the front desk. We were touched by the dishwasher who took the time to say hello and chat easily about his desire to learn to cook some day. Nice people, nice food, nice rum……. and a wonderful location.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Lou
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

To start, probably the nicest beach in Tortola. Long Bay in general is very pretty. The hotel has changed a lot and they have closed down the entire top area consisting of the huge resort pool, restaurant, pool bar, and little shops. Very sad as that part of the resort was great many years ago when we stayed at a villa in Belmont above Long Bay. The deluxe rooms on the ocean are pretty nice by Caribbean standards. Definitely not a Ritz, but I can see 4 star on the deluxe rooms. The cabanas (ones on stilts) however are very outdated, floors are vinyl, furniture and bathrooms outdated. Ours was pretty clean which was a plus, but its hard to loook super clean when its so outdated and poor quality. They need to be either knocked down or in need of a remodel (Cooper Island BC remodeled theirs and they are gorgeous, LBBC needs to go check those out).
The biggest dis-appointment was the service at the restaurant. We waited forever for everything. After the re-opening, as much as I hate to say it, the management really should have cleaned house. I get "Island Time", but this was just ridiculous. Ahi at lunch was great and breakfast was great. For dinner, go elsewhere, food was pricey for quality.
Stay here for views and beauty of beach, just dont eat there unless you get takeout and go sit on the beach and have a cocktail (no dedicated bartender so buy your own boos and mix everything in your room). I would return for that reason and its easy accessibility to West End Ferry to head to Jost Van Dyke, which is why we stayed here in the first place. With some good service, good marketing, opening the pool back up and having lunch happy hours, pool day etc. to all the yachters, and some renovations to get all rooms nicer (again look at Cooper Island BC for their rooms), Long Bay Beach Club could be a top all around 4 star Caribbean resort. Hope to see that someday..

Room Tip: Deluxe Suites are further from 'CLUB" portion but are large a newer, regular deluxe rooms I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CBakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Long Bay Beach Club, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us about your recent stay at Long Bay Beach Club. We greatly appreciate your taking the time to let us know about yours stay.

As you know the resort has been renovated and rebranded for a total of 42 rooms which include beachfront deluxe suites, beachfront rooms and beachfront cabanas all have which been refurbished. A new swimming pool will be added near the beachfront rooms by mid-2014.

Long Bay Beach Club sits on one of the most spectacular beaches in the Caribbean.

We do hope that when you plan your next Caribbean vacation we at Long Bay Beach resort may create timeless memories for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband stayed here for 2 nights after a charter. We rented a beachfront Cabana. Check in was smooth and reception had someone bring our luggage to our room, which we very much appreciated. Though the room was not renovated or updated, it was clean and well kept. We had a king size bed, minifridge, coffee maker and a flat screen TV with cable. Overall, we were very pleased with our room. The cabanas are right on the beach, you literally walk down the stairs onto the beach. Long Bay, in my opinion, is one of the most beautiful beaches on the island, so waking up to that each morning was priceless.
We ate at the restaurant once for lunch, once for breakfast and visited the bar one night for a few drinks. The lunch food was just OK, breakfast was good – service was wonderful. Drinks were tasty, but the bartender seemed inexperienced and took a very long time to make our drinks (well beyond the allotted “lsland time”). Not that it bothered us, we weren’t in a rush to go anywhere anyway! Overall, I think the food needs some improvement and that the bar needs to commit to being a real bar…this is vacation…everyone wants cocktail!
We’ve been to Tortola a few times before and we were familiar with Long Bay Beach Resort and had heard about the restructuring it had undergone. I think it’s a huge improvement, I love that they’ve dedicated their resources to the beachfront. I will, without a doubt, stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMarie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Very nice location with comfortable and spacious oceanside rooms at least where we stayed. Housekeeping and desk staff were very friendly and helpful. Dining and bar were not so good. Many menu items not available, waitstaff were friendly but slow and inefficient. Often difficult to find a bartender. Best to plan most meals elsewhere but there is nothing walkable from this location.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms get better breeze and some have open ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank paul19010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Long Bay Beach Club, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Value Guests,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Long Bay Beach Club. We appreciate your taking the time to provide us with feedback.

The Long Bay Beach Club was recently re-opened after renovations and rebranding to create a more romantic and intimate beach club-style atmosphere.

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the dining and bar service. We have a full premium bar available at all times. Our restaurant menu has been crafted to offer a wide variety of local and international favorites. We do understand that dining is subjective but our goal is to always deliver outstanding cuisine and service to our guests.

We do hope that when considering another sun-filled Caribbean vacation we may once again host you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west haven, ct
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

My husband and I chose Tortolla for our honeymoon and after searching for a place to stay, we chose Long Bay. When we booked originally Long Bay was still the resort etc. I was a little nervous about the place after I read some so-so reviews. I am happy to say that we had a wonderful time at Long Bay. The view from the cabana was beautiful. The staff in the front lobby, namely Leslie and Althea were extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was cleaned every day and they always checked in with us to see if everything was fine. For a "home base" Long bay is fine. The restaurant was ok..at best. I agree with other reviews that if the management worked on the restaurant(food could be better) and arranged for some nightly entertainment, people might stick around more in the evening instead of venturing out. We would have!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank thedreamjeannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head
Level Contributor
135 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The resort is close to failing. The management told us that it was in receivership for the 5th time. The pool and villas were closed over the holidays. Only the beach front cabanas were open. Half of those were very old, totally worn out and up on stilts.

The food was simply bad. The "premium"bar was unstocked and what they had was low end.

The help was indifferent. The service was incredibly slow (30 minutes to get coffee in the only restaurant every day at breakfast).

Random phone calls @ 4am. Rock hard mattresses.

The New Years Eve celebration was one of the worst DJ's I've ever heard. We hoped that it would be bad enough to be funny, but no such luck.

It's also on the opposite end of the Island from the airport, making it nearly an hour ride.

It's a shame because it is a beautiful beach.

Even at a bargain basement price I couldn't recommend it

Room Tip: New beachfront cabana the older ones are a dump
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hhishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, General Manager at Long Bay Beach Club, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at Long Bay Beach Club. We appreciate your taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please know that we strongly disagree with this review. We do sincerely appreciate our guests’ feedback, even when pointing out ways in which we can improve; but we feel this review is inaccurate and unfair.

The resort is still an Elite Island Resort property and is not in receivership We had a brief closure for renovations and re-branding to create a much more romantic and intimate beach club style atmosphere centered on the resort's unparalleled beachfront location as well as the highly personalized service The resort now consist of 40 rooms and offers its most popular room categories: beachfront deluxe suites, beachfront rooms and beachfront cabanas all of which were opened during this period.


Long Bay Beach Club’s amenities have also been simplified to focus on providing a superior beach club experience. Remodeled on-property offerings include the 1748 Restaurant & Bar, personal check-in service, tennis courts, a gift shop and the reception and guest services desks. The original swimming pool and pool bar have been discontinued, but a new swimming pool will be added near the beachfront rooms by mid-2014. Also, a new massage treatment cabana will be installed near the beachfront rooms in November 2013.

Our guest comment cards praise the food and we only serve premium liquor. During the Christmas holidays our guests enjoyed entertainment by a variety of very well known and liked musicians which our they enjoyed immensely. Our New Years Eve celebration was quite the success with most guest dancing well past midnight.

We have created a very special boutique style resort in a spectacular setting and look forward to welcoming you once again for an amazing and memorable Caribbean vacation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.0 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
11.8 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
8.6 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Beach Club

Property: Long Bay Beach Club
Address: PO Box 433, BVI, Tortola (Formerly Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Long Bay Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful, mile-long stretches of white sand beach in the Caribbean, Long Bay Beach Club is truly the gem of the British Virgin Islands. Guests enjoy terrific accommodations including Beachfront Rooms and Suites. The resort amenities include the historic beachfront 1748 Restaurant & Bar, tennis, amazing beach and much more. Fantastic location on Tortola's much sought after West End, just minutes from Soper's Hole Marina. Popular excursions include sailing, diving, sightseeing, and shopping. Great restaurants, bars, and nightlife nearby. Perfect for couples, friends, and families. Also ideal for those seeking a land / sea vacation that includes sailing and hotel stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Long Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Tortola
Long Bay Beach Resort And Villas
Long Bay Beach Hotel
Long Bay Beach Resort Villas Tortola
Long Bay Resort Tortola
Long Bay Beach Club Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing