We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Long Bay Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Long Bay Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Cransston, RI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Far exceeded our expectations! Everything about Long Bay was absolutely wonderful! If you're thinking about staying here DO NOT HESITATE. Loved our room, the staff, the pool - can't say enough about the quality, the treatment, and the staff is as beautiful as the location. Tortola and the BVI offer lots of opportunities to explore, and enjoy. So go - the poolside room was comfortable and offered privacy. This is the place to go for relaxing and enjoying the Carribbean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    278
    115
    63
    40
See reviews for
91
355
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
argentina
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked through Elite Island Resort, with whom we had a problem with the internet payment. Anyway, the reservation was made and everything was ready when we arrived. We are 5 family so we had reserved a three-bedroom suite, breakfast included.

We were surprised to see our suite, with beautiful sea views. It has three levels, each level has its king bed, its bathroom and a kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave, etc.. The intermediate floor room also has a roof terrace, in there is a table for 6 people and a barbacue, if anyone wants to use it.

Attention was correct, we had no problems in that regard. The breakfast did not have much choice, was more than enough for our needs.

Although from our suite to the beach had to walk quite, well worth the effort. The beach was superb, in some places the sea has stones, but was nearly empty and the place is amazingly beautiful. The water is clear and has enough waves, but we really enjoyed being there.
It also has a large swimming pool, which was never more than five or six people.


We went to the 1748 restaurant that is on the property, open daily, and the Italian too, which opens twice a week. As the hotel is quite far from Roadtown, sometimes it´s convenient to eat at the hotel. Both are mid-level restaurants, a bit expensive for what they offer. One night we went to eat at Cruizin, which is close, and while on the outside the place does not look promising, were surprised by the quality of its food and great value. Another near offer is Pusser in Soper's Hole.

Tortola is a small island, which is only accessible by air from San Juan, Puerto Rico. The center is tiny but quite lively, not much to buy, even though every day comes a cruise.

The interior of the island is lovely, and there beautiful landscapes anywhere on the roads, which are not in very good condition in some places.

Those seeking tranquility, good climate and peaceful life, do not doubt the place is the Long Bay on Tortola. Just do not forget to rent a car.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank migreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Many, many thanks you's to two of the property managers - Vernon Johnson and Carlota Ham!!!! They helped to turn a very good stay into a fabulous getaway. An issue that had arisen during our first breakfast and lunch was quickly resolved, including a room upgrade to a Hillside Oceanview Deluxe room. Great people and wonderful professionals in the hotel & tourism sector.

The food was quite delicious. Each morning, we were welcomed by an assortment of fresh juices and good selection of dishes per our package deal. Chickens of all sizes would be regular attendees at breakfast, always waiting on bread crumbs or whatever may fall off your table. The children's reactions were always priceless. Breakfast and lunch was always eaten here (except for a few lunches when exploring the small island). Dinners were less frequently taken here only because we wanted to pack in as much as we could in experiencing what the island had to offer.

We originally had a Pool Oceanview Deluxe room which did have a good view of beach and crystal blue waters. We were quite thrilled with this location. Upon our upgrade, we truly saw what we were missing out on. Each room was nicely decorated, though the Hillside Oceanview Deluxe is closer to the main building. Ask to look at the map to pick the best locale for your interests.

There is a great selection of amenities for vacationers, adventurous traveler, or explorer - scuba diving and snorkeling excursions, tours & site seeing trips, sister island packages, car rental, and spa. We tried the majority of these and were not disappointed, loved them!! We did have a rental car for 3 of the 5 days we were there. We also made good use of the taxi service, as one drivers became our "regular".

The resort is conveniently located near West End, giving two water options (West End or Road Town) for entry into Tortola. The airport is about 25 mins away depending on traffic too. You will need to either rent a car or hire a taxi (or local taxi). If coming by ferry make sure that you have planned out which ferry service you will use around their schedules. We had to spend the night in (Charlotte Amalie) St. Thomas, USVI and took the ferry the next morning. Likewise, we spent 2 nights back in St. Thomas upon leaving from Road Town on Tortola to explore the USVI. Regardless, Long Bay is a great place to have a getaway. Also, you will be near some of the best tasting and best-kept secret rum anywhere. Just ask at the front desk :)

Room Tip: If money is tight, go during the low season is best. That said, the Hillside Oceanside View Deluxe o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alton_AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

The only reason to go here is to stay in one of the beach front rooms. great view. Decent size and nice patio. However, the rooms are old, the beds too soft, the rest of the resort is just there....lobby is mediocre, no atmosphere anywhere in the hotel. the restaurant is slower than you could imagine and the food is 1 fork out of 10. Again, the service is basically non-existent. We were actually there during a slow period, so not very crowded. Can not imagine if the place was crowded. The pool side bar is almost something out of a comedy show. Would not go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LOVEtheadventure329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

3 nights in January 2013 before getting on a boat. Service typical islands, friendly but slow. Food typical islands, what can you get frozen from the Miami boat. Room nice - two couples stayed in a 2 bedroom cottage - but up the (steep) hill away from the beach. Not a good resort for the mobility impared. Beach nice but thin, and can be quite windy if there is a northly touch to the direction. Location kind of away from it all. If that is what you want, well this will work quite averagely for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BtheBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B V I
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Enjoyed every aspect of the hotel except forgetting some valuable personal items in my villa. Upon reaching the airport, I realise that personal items was left behind. I contacted management immedeately, his responce was that he would check lost and found and get back to me. No one has gotten bacl to me until present. I would recommend, that staff and managment be professionally to complement the "ALL INCLUSIVE " meaning

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 780shyril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I recently return from a week-long stay at Long Bay. While we loved the location, we were definitely not fans of the hotel.
We booked a beachfront deluxe room, which had beautiful views and was steps from the beach. The beach itself is amazing. It was not crowded and there were always beach chairs, however, I only recommend entering the water from in front of the restaurant or in front of Nature Boy's as much of the beach is rocky.
The room was well maintained, although as previously mentioned in other reviews, the bed was quite uncomfortable.
The main reason I gave the resort two "stars" is because of the staff. They were unaccommodating, and to be perfectly honest, rude. Perhaps it was due to the fact that the hotel was at full capacity and it was high season, but I find that to be no excuse. The front desk staff members were not very helpful and forgot to make a reservation for us. A member of the clean staff left our door ajar after cleaning the room. The members of the wait staff at the restaurant were inattentive and just seemed unhappy to be there. In addition to the poor customer service, the food at the resort was below average. We stopped eating breakfast at the resort and opted to make our own. Lunch at the pool bar was mediocre, and the one dinner with had at the pasta house was awful at best.

Room Tip: The beachfront deluxe rooms have beautiful views and are steps from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Dahlia2214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
0.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
0.9 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
7.4 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
11.9 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Beach Club

Property: Long Bay Beach Club
Address: PO Box 433, BVI, Tortola (Formerly Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Long Bay Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful, mile-long stretches of white sand beach in the Caribbean, Long Bay Beach Club is truly the gem of the British Virgin Islands. Guests enjoy terrific accommodations including Beachfront Rooms and Suites. The resort amenities include the historic beachfront 1748 Restaurant & Bar, tennis, amazing beach and much more. Fantastic location on Tortola's much sought after West End, just minutes from Soper's Hole Marina. Popular excursions include sailing, diving, sightseeing, and shopping. Great restaurants, bars, and nightlife nearby. Perfect for couples, friends, and families. Also ideal for those seeking a land / sea vacation that includes sailing and hotel stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Long Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Tortola
Long Bay Beach Resort And Villas
Long Bay Beach Hotel
Long Bay Beach Resort Villas Tortola
Long Bay Resort Tortola
Long Bay Beach Club Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing