We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place-great beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Long Bay Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice place-great beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2008

Long Bay hotel was a great deal. The hotel is located right on one of these typical white caribbean beaches. This I think is the most important thing when one looks for a hotel in a Caribbean island.
The hotel has a very nice restaurant but also very expensive. Breakfast alone costed around $14 so the best thing to do is just go shopping at the nearest supermarket (which is also quite expensive btw).
Stuff was very friendly and polite. The rooms were spacious with their own balcony and beautiful view (even the ones that were not in front of the sea had a sea view and not just "gardens").

Overall it is a quiet and nice place featuring a great beach.

  • Liked — Beach
  • Disliked — bar tender
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MyIsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    280
    115
    63
    40
See reviews for
92
357
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morris County, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2008

My boyfriend and I recently went to Long Bay on our first vacation together. After booking our trip we read more and more reviews on the web that all seemed to say the rooms were dated, staff not so friendly etc. After calling Elite Island Resorts (booked though them) they assured us the resort was nice and there would be no issues. Although coming close to changing our vacation at the last minute we decided we would stick with it.
(always trust your gut).

Before getting into the negatives.....I will tell you that this resort is on a absolutely beautiful, quiet beach where you could easily find a spot far removed from other vacationers! The beach could not have been more perfect. This detail made our vacation worth it. It is very easy to take cabs around (the hotel will call for you) so getting around Tortola by cab is completely do-able!
It is also extremely easy to take Ferries to other islands on your own. We went to Peter Island one night and to Virgin Gorda as well. Jost van Dyke and St. John are also very close and these are all great for day trips!
As for the negatives:
Upon arriving in our room we were extremely disappointed. We booked a Hillside Deluxe room. The room was small, there was only one dresser to put our belongings in with just 3 drawers so we could not fully unpack. The bathroom was very dark, extremely small and the tile in shower and floor was 'dated' to say the least. Despite reading reviews that said the staff was unfriendly but if your friendly first they reciprocate.....this was not the case. Every time we went to the front desk with a question, restaurant recommendation, etc we were more often than not greeted by looks of exasperation as if it was a chore to answer us. (And we did not have many questions!) We booked a snorkeling day trip through the 'activities desk' only to be stranded on the the dock where our snorkeling/boat trip was 'supposedly' leaving from.....and sat there for 2 hours w/ no cab or no cell phone service because the Hotel sent us to the wrong location. We wasted a 1/2 day of our vacation. We did not get as much as a dismissive 'sorry' for this and were even charged for this at the end of our week. (taken off eventually).
Three to four mornings in a row we went to get clean beach towels as early as 8:30am and were told they did not have any....
Food at the hotel was average at best. We opted for the all-inclusive plan and ate dinner out the last 4 nights b/c we couldn't stand eating there anymore.
Oscars and Sugar Mill are both FABULOUS choices for a nice dinner. Oscars is newer and more open and airy and the service there was amazing as well.

As a couple in our 30's that were looking for great beach, good service and good food, this was not the place.
I personally would not return, however if you want no frills and food and service are not a main priority for you then this could be a great place for you!
.

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank sf60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2008

Our family of four (one 20 year old and one 17 year old) spent New Years at Long Bay. When we arrived at our deluxe beach front room, there was one king bed and one roll away bed for the four of us---the a/c was not working. The staff was nice enough to give us a two bedroom villa overlooking the pool--took a little time and patience tho. It was much,, much better. As all the rooms are in need of upgrading and updating I found the pool side villas were in much, much better shape than the beachfront villas. For this reason, I would recommend pool front villas--the walk to the beach is really nothing. The beach itself is beautiful. It has some surf and there are some rocks on the bottom as you go farther out but all in all we loved it. We walked to Smugglers Cove to snorkel, it was not an easy walk but we never felt unsafe--I wore flip flops for the walk--sneakers probably would have been better. I am glad we did the walk and took some nice pictures along the way. There are no facilities at Smugglers Cove and you must bring your own towels and snorkeling equipment but it was great. We had the best bushwackers ever there. The food at Long Bay is okay---the poolside burgers were good as were the sandwiches down at 1748. Although we never got up early enough for the breakfast buffet at 1748 it was recommended to us that you get there early when the food is fresh as it can then sit there for a while. We had no problems finding a cab, we did not feel comfortable driving, the roads are very twisty and steep but many tourists do drive. Wegot the name of a cab driver and his phone number (Kelly) he took us every where. There are some really nice places to eat off property--The Sugar Mill and Banakeet Cafe and Pussers were our favorities but the list of restaurants were numerous to choose from. The kids walked down to the Bomba Shack one night with a group of others they had met. We took a day trip on the White Squall II--we were supposed to go Virgin Gorda but the sea was too rough--we went instead to Norman Island--the snorkeling was great but I felt the price for what we got on the boat was a little too steep (tho we are glad that we did it). We spent New Year's Eve on Jost Van Dyke--Foxy's--it was great. We would definitely go back to Tortola--probably stay at Long Bay but would definitely look into other options (one night a pipe had burst and the entire hotel had no water for about six hours----3pm until about 9pm--that was interesting)----thank goodness all the guests we ran into had a good sense of humor about it and we had some good laughs. Anyway, we met a wonderful group of people and had a blast!!!We never felt unsafe and found overall most everyone pleasant.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
19 Thank Ginny01OT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2007

Long Bay is a full-service resort in beautiful Tortola. The facility is nice, although a bit worn: rooms are spacious and clean; excellent views are to be found almost everywhere; and there's a nice pool. The resort is set on a long, beautiful beach that, because of surf and rocks, is better for strolling than swimming. Better beaches are not far away -- by a long walk or short cab ride. The food was generally very good and plentiful. But the staff is, with a few exceptions, notably unfriendly and unhelpful. Simple, reasonable requests are often met with blank stares or monosyllabic, do-it-yourself-type replies. In short, most staff there don't seem to realize that they are in the hospitality field. On the whole, a mixed stay.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
10 Thank aaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2007

My husband and I enjoyed five nights at Long Bay Beach Resort in Tortola. I got a great deal on luxury link; I really didn’t know anything about the hotel except that it is owned by the same company that owns Galley Bay, which is where we got married in Antigua. They are different level properties and very different prices, so you can’t compare the two. Overall, the resort was ok…service was hit or miss depending on the person providing. Don’t bother with the pool bar; service was the worst there and the prices were high for just a hamburger/chicken sandwich. The food was much better at 1748; we ate there for a few breakfasts, one lunch and a dinner or two. The bar at 1748 was much better and the view is just lovely.
Our room was clean and nice; we loved having the awesome balcony to eat breakfast on in the mornings! We were supposed to be in an Oceanview Deluxe (though I’m not sure what the “deluxe” part was….I’m not 100% sure we got the category of room we were supposed to, but I didn’t make an issue of it because the view was nice and that’s really all I cared about).
The beach at Long Bay is really what it’s all about…a beautiful long stretch of beach with enough nooks and crannies to feel like you have the beach to yourself. We found a nice, shaded spot not too far from 1748 so we could walk back up for drinks. But, don’t expect to snorkel on this beach, it’s a little rough. It’s definitely swim-able (at least when we were there) but for great snorkeling, go over to Smuggler’s Cove. This beach is really pristine, not very crowded…and much calmer than Long Bay. Note: you can walk to Smuggler’s Cove from the hotel if you wish but I would recommend going with a group as it is a very remote walk (I think we saw two houses the whole way) and I would have felt safer with a few more people…though I’ve heard the island is very safe.
As for Tortola itself…wow! Absolutely beautiful! We walked down to the Apple Bay area (just down a big, steep hill from the resort) and got some great pictures. Ceta’s market is just past the bottom of the hill and you can get water, snack, cereal, etc. for your room MUCH less expensive than at the resort (of course, you have to lug whatever you buy back UP the hill so if you’re not up to it, you may want to grab a taxi). We ate at Sebastian’s and were a little disappointed because our beautiful, huge lobsters were overcooked…such a shame to overcook such a wonderful lobster! We also ate at Pusser’s at Soper’s Hole for lunch one day ($5 per person cab ride) and it was really good…and we had the best Painkillers our entire trip. The highlight of our trip was our excursion to Virgin Gorda and Cooper’s Island on White Squall II…totally worth every penny! Pierce and Kate were just wonderful to spend a day with and the lunch they provided was just delicious (everyone was raving about the curry rice salad…I put the recipe on my logbook [--]).
All in all, we loved Tortola and very much hope to go back. Would we stay at Long Bay again? Maybe. It was great for the price but I would have expected more had I paid regular price.

  • Liked — quiet peaceful beach
  • Disliked — rooms were average
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank kirbyderb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego, ca
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2007

We stayed at the Long Bay Report during November. A really great location, wonderful beach. We had a beachside room. The rooms are average, in dire need of updating. The bathrooms are tired and the furnishings old. They do not supply you with ample shampoo, and no conditioner. Once you get over the initial minor disappointment, the location is so wonderful, you can't help but have a great time! They have started updating some rooms, so make sure when you book you request an updated room, they are not very flexible, so be prepared. I think the staff is overworked, so the service suffers. We arrived late at night and had not eaten, everything closes at 11 pm, but the reception staff were kind enough to make us some sandwiches. There is no room service, the fridges are not stocked (even if you are on the all inclusive plan). The food is very good and the pool and ammenties are enjoyable. Definitely a 3 star experience.

  • Liked — Location, great beach
  • Disliked — Room too old, service below average
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Travelgirl056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2007

Long Bay Resort was nice for Tortola. The Villas needed some updating and work done to them. We had a toilet that did not flush well and the bathroom window that you could not shut and a wasp nest under our stairs that no one would come remove. The water pressure was not so great for taking showers and such and they even ran out of water once. But that is not the hotels fault the local road crew cut a hole into the main waterline. In regards to the water situation, the hotel did have water trucked in so we would have water.

Most of the staff was very friendly and helpful and made it a pleasant stay. The food at the hotel was overpriced and you did not get what you paid for. For $30+ per meal you should get better quality food that melts in your mouth. There where several local restraunts near the area that are cheaper and better. I would not waste my money on food at Long Bay.

The grounds of the resort where kept up very well and the place was gorgious. We found the beach in front of Long Bay to be deserted most the time. The most people we say on the beach at one time was six. Six people on a mile long beach with clean white sand and no trash. We even had the opprotunity to do a beach photoshoot and not one single stranger is in our pictures.

We are divers and the hotel hooked us up with Dive Tortola. Dive Tortola was very friendly all ex-pats. The boats where clean and nice. Most days we had more dive masters than divers. The most paying divers we had on the boat at one time was four. In the afternoons when there where cruise ships they would not let us dive. But in the mornings when we did dive they treated us like kings. We where very pleased with Dive Tortola. Very nice folks.

Overall, Long Bay is a good resort to stay at if you are looking for a quiet time, no crowds, and seclusion. I would go back in a heart beat.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
8 Thank pjpaschal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.0 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
11.8 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
8.6 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Beach Club

Property: Long Bay Beach Club
Address: PO Box 433, BVI, Tortola (Formerly Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Long Bay Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful, mile-long stretches of white sand beach in the Caribbean, Long Bay Beach Club is truly the gem of the British Virgin Islands. Guests enjoy terrific accommodations including Beachfront Rooms and Suites. The resort amenities include the historic beachfront 1748 Restaurant & Bar, tennis, amazing beach and much more. Fantastic location on Tortola's much sought after West End, just minutes from Soper's Hole Marina. Popular excursions include sailing, diving, sightseeing, and shopping. Great restaurants, bars, and nightlife nearby. Perfect for couples, friends, and families. Also ideal for those seeking a land / sea vacation that includes sailing and hotel stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Long Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Tortola
Long Bay Beach Resort And Villas
Long Bay Beach Hotel
Long Bay Beach Resort Villas Tortola
Long Bay Resort Tortola
Long Bay Beach Club Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing