We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a very nice surprise and what an amazing beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Long Bay Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a very nice surprise and what an amazing beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

Long Bay Beach Resort is fabulous, our beach front room was great and the experience at Long Bay is one of the nicest anywhere in the Caribbean. The 1748 Restaurant was very good and a better than we stayed in 2009 - this chef and service was 5 star. Long Bay has a low keyed elegance, is not pretentious and easy to get to from St. Thomas via a 40 minute fast ferry to Soper'shole only 5 minutes away from Long Bay.

Room Tip: either get the deluxe beach front or a villa, avoid the stilt beach cottages.all have great ocean vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BlueShabumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    280
    115
    63
    40
See reviews for
92
357
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We went there after 7 glorious days on a yacht cruising from St Martin to the BVIs and prior to returning to London.We wanted somewhere to chill out on a beach with great swimming.

The beach is superb but not really good for swimming as it can be dangerous.However we loved watching the 3 or 4 Pelicans diving and flying around looking for fish all day.
A lovely bay 15 minutes away called Smugglers Cove is excellent for good safe swimming and average snorkelling though.

The hotel sadly needs much tender loving care and an injection of money urgently. It is in a glorious location but is now looking quite tired and out of date.
The non-service around the swimming pool was quite extraordinary. They could easily make it so much better without much money. Umbrellas in the eating area blew over in the wind because nobody had thought to make their bases heavier. The choice of food is a joke - no salads for a start- and the one sweet lady behind the bar which was also a small kitchen (!) was a bit stressed and that was at a quiet time. Not mad about getting the smells from the BBQ cooking when in the pool!
No fresh fruit juices, no ice creams and no waiter to take orders around the pool.

The main restaurant on the beach has a great location but the food was only adequate with well meaning but very slow service, albeit by sweet people. Again they could make it so good with just a little imagination and money. We did not try their Pasta place as we were not there long enough.
We enjoyed our 2 days because of the fabulous location but somebody needs to take the place over and update it urgently. It could be so good as it a really great property!

Room Tip: We were in a Hillside room about 150 yards away and up from the beach with a great view which was fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank macgregorkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Nice resort, beautiful beaches, but needs an influx of financial support to refurbish its dated property. I thought it was overpriced for what it had to offer. Management and staff very nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MJWMJWMJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

We returned from a week's vacation at Long Bay and had a fabulous time. The resort is incredible...great scenery, attentive and friendly staff, manicured landscaping, beautifully clean pool, and delicious food. Yes, the food is pricey but it's just as pricey everywhere else on the island....you're not in Des Moines, folks. The water on the eastern half of the beach has a rocky bottom; however, the western half has no rocks and is perfect for swimming. The resort has two rental car companies on site, a snorkel company, two restaurants, a spa, concerige service, and exercise room. The main restaurant is right on the beach with the perfect ambiance - gorgeous! Best of all - the resort and beach were pretty much uninhabited, and we went during high season. Simply paradise and we would go back in a heartbeat. I'm not into time shares, but I'm ready to buy a timeshare there!

Our room was right by the pool, and had all new furniture and bedding.

We left some clothes behind by mistake, and the staff found them and shipped them to us at our home.

By the way, right next door to the west of the beach is Smuggler's Cove...home of a fantastic coral reef.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, MT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

The resort and the rooms are lovely, however, other than that we were very disappointed. There is only one restaurant and the food is both TERRIBLE and expensive. An average meal for two, with one drink each, was rarely under $100. Spent $52 for two bad sandwiches and small drinks at the "swim up bar." Be prepared for a $50 shuttle ride to/from the airport. There is NO ATM on site, nor near...bring a lot of cash. The only usable beach is a 20 min walk away, the staff (other than those at reception) made us feel like we were an inconvenience to them. Very rude. The housekeeper came every morning at 9:30 a.m. and was annoyed she couldn't come in. I do not recommend this resort whatsoever.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Kayli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trujillo Alto, PR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this resort two years ago and we were a little disappointed with the room and service. We returned this year and stayed from April 5-8, 2012. I noticed a huge improvement in the service and the room. We were cordially received with a rum punch (yummy) and the lady at the front desk explained in detail all the amenities at the hotel, including the spa, gym, activity center, etc. The room was AWESOMEEEEE!!! We were upgraded to an oceanfront deluxe room with jacuzzi and an amazing view. The jacuzzi have a window facing the beach, so you can hear the waves while taking a bath (amazing). The bed, linens, everything was perfect, including the fully equipped kitchen, air conditioning, and the complimentary bottle of wine left for us at the room. The hotel is conveniently located near the West End ferry terminal, supermarkets, excellent restaurants, car rentals, etc. The beach at the hotel is very pretty, but in windy days the huge waves make it perfect for surfers. The smuggler's cove is a beautiful blue turquoise water beach with good snorkeling located at less than 3-4 minutes from the hotel. Another beautiful beach at Tortola is the Long Bay beach in East End near the airport. I want to come back and definitely will stay again at this hotel. Thanks to all the effort and attentions received from the staff and Mr. Johnson.

Room Tip: I stayed at the buildings located at the end of the road. My room was 516. I want the same room next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Josselyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at this resort. Management and the employees were very accommodating. Upon arrival, we were greeted with rum punch. Our room was nicely decorated and our shower was huge. The only things that we could hear from our room were the sounds of wave crashing or the passing breeze. This resort is situated on a dead end corner of Tortola so there was no city traffic or the noise associated with city life. Our view was great although it was not actually on the beach. We slept peacefully with all the windows open. There was a variety of foods offered for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Dinner at the Pasta House was not only good but it also was beautifully presented. It was nice dining directly on the beach every day. On some occasions, we relaxed in the pool and enjoyed the island drinks and food at the swim up bar. The beach has nice plush white sands that your feet sink into and the water is inviting. This is a place where you can leave all your worries behind and enjoy your solitude or your mate. I would definitely return to Long bay again and again........

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RustyPelican26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#2 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.0 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
11.8 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
8.6 mi away
Gallows Point Resort
Gallows Point Resort
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Beach Club

Property: Long Bay Beach Club
Address: PO Box 433, BVI, Tortola (Formerly Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Long Bay Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful, mile-long stretches of white sand beach in the Caribbean, Long Bay Beach Club is truly the gem of the British Virgin Islands. Guests enjoy terrific accommodations including Beachfront Rooms and Suites. The resort amenities include the historic beachfront 1748 Restaurant & Bar, tennis, amazing beach and much more. Fantastic location on Tortola's much sought after West End, just minutes from Soper's Hole Marina. Popular excursions include sailing, diving, sightseeing, and shopping. Great restaurants, bars, and nightlife nearby. Perfect for couples, friends, and families. Also ideal for those seeking a land / sea vacation that includes sailing and hotel stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Long Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Tortola
Long Bay Beach Resort And Villas
Long Bay Beach Hotel
Long Bay Beach Resort Villas Tortola
Long Bay Resort Tortola
Long Bay Beach Club Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing