We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprized” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Long Bay Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Long Bay Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Worcester, MA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprized”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

I had read mixed reviews on TripAdvisor, so I was a little worried, but was pleasantly surprized when we arrived! We had a room that overlooked the ocean. It was very nice and clean and we had a nice deck looking out at Jost Van Dyke. The front desk staff was very prompt and pleasant with check in. The resort was quiet the week we were there, which was nice for us. We ate at the restaurant at the beach (1812?) many times out of convenience. The service was adequate and the food was OK. I had a problem with my back and went for massages at the spa 3 of the days at the resort. The massages were excellent and saved the vacation. I was able to do more activities b/c of them. After day two we decided to rent a car to explore and find more restaurants etc. We ate at a new Natural Food restaurant beyond Road Town which was very good and extremely clean. We stopped at Cane Garden Bay and relaxed for a bit, one of the few beaches we found that had little surf. We also sought out the Banana Keet Cafe on the advice of a friend and had a drink. The location was beautiful and we went back the next night for dinner. The dinner was the best we had on our trip and the drink ( Bananakeet) was great. Got the recipe to bring home with us. They also turned us on to a breakfast place on Frenchman's Cay called D'First Cup. Their food was excellent and the people were very friendly. Our stay on Tortola was good, in that we found the resort nice and the scenery was beautiful. We did feel that a good percentage of the people on Tortola were not terribly friendly. It was a very different feeling that we didn't really enjoy. I doubt we would go back again but we are glad we at least tried it out.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Splasher54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    277
    115
    63
    40
See reviews for
91
354
30
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

The scenery was beautiful, but the property needs some work. Our room had been remodeled and was nice with a huge shower, but some of the common areas have been neglected. Near the lobby is a fountain with black mold and gunk in two of the pools. The dining room was pleasant, but near it we saw an abandoned court of some kind with the green paved surface sinking back into the earth. Most of the employees were courteous and helpful. The property is isolated from other restaurants. If you rent a car, you can get around; otherwise, you need to get a cab. The roads can be frightening with steep hills and sharp turns.

The restaurant is only average and needs to serve more fresh locally caught fish. We had live music on Friday and Saturday nights. Good jazz. Music every night would be nice.

We enjoyed ourselves in spite of the imperfections.

Room Tip: We had a hilside room and had to do a lot more climbing than we expected. Not convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank somanyislands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, FL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

I am not sure what I expected when I chose to go to Tortola. I was looking for something different that is for sure. I have travelled the Caribbean often choosing the Western side and I wanted to try a different side. Being based in Miami I have the luxury of non-stop flights to most of the islands, Tortola would be a bit different as I was flying into St Thomas and taking a ferry to the hotel that in itself seemed liked an added value tour to me! The transfer from St Thomas airport to the Ferry port at Charlotte Amalie was about 5 minutes and $10, there are plenty of ferries to choose from but be sure to choose the West End ferry when going to Long boat or you will have a 25-30 minute taxi ride to the resort. The entrance to the resort is unique as its like entering a town and indeed the main road leads right to Long Bay (not a lot of traffic no worries) the resort has different accommodations Beach Cabanas on Stilts (I wanted one of those but they are the most popular so they were sold out) instead I opted for Hillside Oceanview Deluxe - it did not dissappoint the view was out of this world, and it was close to the pool and the swim-up pool bar.

One morning I ran the beach which was almost a mile long, the next I went out a little later and ran through town I did not have my GPS on so not sure the mileage but the hills were a bit tricky but it was a great work out. The road had little traffic and I felt safe there were other runners and cyclists. I passed the famous Bomba Shack (more on that later), Smuggler's (Nigel makes a real painkiller - but that is another story!)

During the day I found Main street in Road Town so cute tons of cute shops and restaurants. It was the original downtown. I took a day trip to the Baths on Virgin Gorda and I am still in awe..

I was fortunate to be have been there for the full moon party at the famous (or infamous) Bomba Shack! It was great fun (They are known for a famous tea that posseses special qualities) the party was on both sides of the street. You buy tickets drink price is $6 each no matter what you are drinking - or buy an all night band for $50. The live band was amazing great reggae.

I am already planning my next trip...Have to get to Joss Van Dyke, Little Joss, The Indians, The Dogs....There is so much to see - I was there for 3 nights but I think you need 5 to take full advantage of all.

Room Tip: The best way to get here is the ferry from St Thomas use the Charlotte Ferry terminal and choose the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank GwennF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

This was our second visit to Long Bay Beach resort, and it was even better than I remembered it to be. We took a beachfront cabana room this time (last time was the hillside ocean view) and although both were clean and with full amenities, I think it's my personal preference to be so close to the water. Although I had planned to spend more time at the fitness centre (to counter some of the effects of the magnificent deserts on offer) I decided that calories consumed while on holiday don't really count and just indulged without repenting. My husband particularly enjoyed the casual 1748. The service wasn't as fast as it could have been, but the local dishes on offer made it well worth the wait. Be sure to make reservations for the Pasta house, the first time we went there we unfortunately got turned away as we hadn't made ours, but we got it sorted for the next night. The great food and romantic atmosphere are not to be missed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank BeachGalAtHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Other than the unfriendly service and the sorry shower, there is nothing wrong with Long Bay. It is located near smugglers cove and sopers hole. They have a decent pool and tennis courts. We atayed 2 nights in a studio and felt our experience was "ok". We spent less money on better places in the BVIs. If we came for 7 nights, we'd be more dissatisfied with our experience. The beach is beautiful but management did not condone swimming. The surf is rough and rocks are all over. The resort, itself, is understaffed and a bit unfriendly. Whatever you do, do not eat at their restaurant Pasta House 1748. It was the worst service of our entire lives. I got up repeatedly to fill our own water glasses and we were going to order dessert but no one came by for 45 minutes. We left laughing at the whole situation an left a note with our room number so they could just deal with it later. It was so pathetic, i actually feel bad writing about it. Just dont go there and you'll be better for it.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thestresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

My wife and I returned for our 20th stay at Long Bay Hotel, Tortola. We had a wonderful time and enjoy the great location, clean rooms, and helpful staff. It was the 26th annual Plastic Surgery Workshop BVI, and the hotel did a terrifc job in accommodating all of our wishes. We recommend most highly this resort for a quiet and beautiful vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the beach directly--a wonderful experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RonaldWorland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown CT
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Before going I saw the comments regarding the beach and can't believe anyone would complain the main part of the beach is beautiful sand but when you enter the water it is somewhat rocky. however just walking hundred feet in either direction and it is sand all the way out into the ocean. It is one of the most spectacular beaches in the Caribbean. Nature boy has a stand on one end that is particularly beautiful. the restaurant on the resort is expensive but very good, particularly the breakfast.
The staff goes out of their way to provide every request.when I called for ice it arrived as I hung up the phone!
originally we booked a hillside deluxe, but when we saw the cabanas on the beach we switch staying right on the ocean. the rooms were a bit more rustic but who cared?

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stu L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
0.5 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
0.9 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
5.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
7.4 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
11.9 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Beach Club

Property: Long Bay Beach Club
Address: PO Box 433, BVI, Tortola (Formerly Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Long Bay Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful, mile-long stretches of white sand beach in the Caribbean, Long Bay Beach Club is truly the gem of the British Virgin Islands. Guests enjoy terrific accommodations including Beachfront Rooms and Suites. The resort amenities include the historic beachfront 1748 Restaurant & Bar, tennis, amazing beach and much more. Fantastic location on Tortola's much sought after West End, just minutes from Soper's Hole Marina. Popular excursions include sailing, diving, sightseeing, and shopping. Great restaurants, bars, and nightlife nearby. Perfect for couples, friends, and families. Also ideal for those seeking a land / sea vacation that includes sailing and hotel stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Long Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Tortola
Long Bay Beach Resort And Villas
Long Bay Beach Hotel
Long Bay Beach Resort Villas Tortola
Long Bay Resort Tortola
Long Bay Beach Club Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing