We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hidden Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Long Bay Beach Club
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Hidden Gem!”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We spent 10 days at Long Bay Beach Resort and Villas on Tortola in the British Virgin Islands. We had planned to use this resort as our base for touring the Islands, BUT the Resort was so wonderful that we stayed there for the entire 10 days enjoying the sound of the surf, the amazing warm water of the sea, and the incredibly beautiful white sand beach. We were in a beach front apartment. The whole 10 days were so relaxing, the food in the restaurant was so delicious, and the people so pleasant, that we did not feel the need to go any further away than the pool, the beach, and the restaurant. We have never had a more relaxing 10 days anywhere and we fully plan to return there making it a regular destination.We had found paradise!

Room Tip: We would suggest being on the beachfront if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nicholas263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    285
    118
    65
    41
See reviews for
94
365
32
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
110 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

We stayed Thanksgiving weekend so our trip was short. however, we started out in one of the rooms inland, behind the pool, with a fabulous view, and then they moved us (due to some construction on their back driveways) to a beachside villa. Both sites were nice, but we were very glad to be moved to the beach. Service was good, facilities clean and dependable. The beach is just astounding, and we are scuba divers who have seen a lot of beaches. We dove the with dive group on the premises, Jost van Dyke scuba. They had to come get us from Jost van Dyke every day. They were attentive, solicitous, ie, the service was terrific. THe divemaster, Mark, was great, and was very intent on giving us a dive experience that was uniquely BVI. some dives we dove with less experienced divers and he dealt with them politely and safely. Some dives we dove with only experienced divers and the channels and chimneys and crevices made it a rewarding experience. Hard to have a unique experience in just one weekend, but Mark did it.
The restaurant is good, though there were a couple of service gaffes---that kind of stands out on this island---ie, the breakfast buffet was irregularly stocked, the sommelier was erratic and blew us off, but in general the food was good and the staff attentive. We did try to eat dinner elsewhere, since there are a couple of good restaurants in west end Tortola.

Room Tip: We liked the beach villa though we were warned about sand fleas so we used repellent. We left the u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scdaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My wife and I stayed for a week. The beaches are rocky, but it's just a 5-10 minute walk to Smuggler's Cove beach, which is one of the best beaches I have ever visited. We were here the week of Thanksgiving. Talk about romantic. There were only a handful of people at the place! We were pretty much alone the whole time. EXCELLENT FOOD! The new chef is brilliant! Best food on the island, IMHO. Great pool, great service, and great accommodations. Stay in the Deluxe Beachfront Room if you can.....it's perfect! A/C is flawless. The only minor (and I mean minor) complaint is that the beach/pool towels are not ready until about 10 AM......but who cares? You are on vacation. I am not a huge beach resort guy, but I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Choose the Beachfront Deluxe Room. High vaulted ceilings, huge walk-in closet, separate room for to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hsmithjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We just got back a week ago from our 10 day wedding/honeymoon at Long Bay Beach Resort. This was our first trip to Tortola, and hopefully not our last. We weren't sure what to expect, but we definitely can say we had an *awesome* time and our wedding experience was absolutely perfect!

We booked 2 different rooms for our stay - the first four nights we spent in a poolside oceanview deluxe room; and then switched to a Beachfront deluxe room for our wedding night and honeymoon for the last 5 nights. Both rooms offered spectacular views - we fell asleep to the sounds of the ocean waves and enjoyed hearing the roosters wake us every morning at 5 o'clock. :)

This time of year was not peak season, which had it's pros and cons. On a positive note, it wasn't crowded so you had that great feeling of relaxation - unfortunately because it was off-season, there was only one restaurant option ("1748") except for the poolside bar which was only open until 6:00 p.m. There was also only one bar open which was at the restaurant, so when the restaurant was closed, so was the bar. Both our rooms were furnished with refrigerators, so we went to "Bobby's" grocery store in Road Town to stock up.

What surprised us however was the price of the cab fares. After 10 days of cab rides, it really takes a large chunk out of your wallet. It might be a better option to rent a car if you can handle the steep hills and windy roads.

Tortola itself is in a great location where it's easy to "island hop". We took advantage of the water ferries and took a trip to Jost Van Dyke and went to White Bay to spend the afternoon at the Soggy Dollar bar and take in some great swimming! Another day we took the ferry over to Virgin Gorda and visited "The Baths" - a definite must-do trip. Snorkeling there was also amazing!

The resort has wonderful amenities - the best of which is the location! A helpful hint we learned 1/2 way into our trip was to focus on the far left side of the beach. That's where you can wander out into the ocean for quite a distance before it gets too deep and when the sandy bottom becomes just rocks.

On a downside, the reception of the TVs was poor. We only could get one station in fairly clearly, the others were more static than picture. We got pretty bitten up by the bugs - mysteriously we would start to itch and find the bites but no idea when or how they occurred. So do be generous with the bug spray. Also, the whirlpool wasn't operational during our stay so that could have been nice to experience if it were.

The food for the most part was very good, as was the service. The poolside bar offered great burgers and was convenient. We ventured out a few nights for dinner as well but again, the cab fares were pricey, so to save money, it's a good bet to stay close to the resort where you don't need to travel.

The staff was very friendly and helpful throughout our 10 day stay. No request went ungranted.

Finally, and most importantly, it was a perfect venue for our wedding in paradise - absolutely beautiful - more so than what we expected. Carlotta, our wedding coordinator, made sure everything was perfect ..... and it was.

Definitely two thumbs up~

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IslandHopper2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

The cabana in the front of the beach is horrible, no lights out side of the cabana, the food horrible, the service tooo slow..I spend 400 hundred dls for each day, for nothing..You better stay in the ROad town...This hotel is too far from dowtown..Never come back again..Stay better in St. Tomas, if you want to go to Torotola take a ferry and spend a day i you want, it just 30 min, form St. Tomas, but it isn"t noting to do over there.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zulma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Alright so I read a bunch of these reviews before heading out to this destination. I had no choice but to stay here since this was part of a deal my sister won on a game show and they sent us here to stay for a week. I was somewhat afraid before I got here because of some bad reviews. Now that I went and saw it for myself I have decided that if you left a bad review it's because you're sort of...an idiot. Sorry! I loved this place. We were there in somewhat of an off season and there were not many people there (SCORE!). My sister and I loved the quiet and relaxation of the pool. (If you go, visit Gusti at the pool bar, he's my favorite!!) The people that ran the resort were friendly for the most part. There is somewhat of a language barrier there due to the heavy accent so a few times we had some confusion, like at dinner and stuff. Not their fault.

If I was going to go back I would fly in and rent a car right off the bat. It's $50 for 2 people to go from the airport to Long Bay Beach. It's like $47/day to rent a car. So you could take your stuff to your room and then hit the road and explore with the car for a day or two then turn it in or keep it, whatever. We walked west on the small road that takes you up over a steep hill and onto the next beach (Smugglers Cove). Great little spot to snorkel or lay out in the water. The water at LBB is rougher and the bottom is rockier than Smuggler's. If you're young and you like to party you can head East on the same road over that equally steep hill and you will find yourself at the Bomba Shack. Check the reviews on this site - no one doesnt like it. Cab driver said if you drink the mushroom punch you'll probably wind up running on the beach naked, so I skipped it. Apparently the Full Moon Party is the best there but there wasn't a full moon during our stay - darn.

We also went to west end and did a little shopping there and then went out on the Kuralu charter for a day. All in all, I'd stay at long bay beach resort again in a heart beat. I gave this place a Very Good instead of Excellent because the rooms were ordinary hotel rooms, nothing special. You know, it's a resort they should be a little fancier.

I love Gusti!

Room Tip: I heard you can go when it's slow and ask for an upgrade...try it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dogtrainer55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed @ LongBay Beach Resorts last year for our Honeymoon and had such a great time we had to go back for our !st Anniversary. We were upgraded to one of the units right on the Water. It happened to be the exact same unit we were in last year. The weather was great. We will surely be back!!!

Room Tip: Rent a Jeep from Jerry's rental. It is a must to get around the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pawpawg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
397 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
1.0 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
282 reviews
11.8 mi away
Scrub Island Resort, Spa & Marina, Autograph Collection
4.4 mi away
Peter Island Resort and Spa
Peter Island Resort and Spa
#1 of 1 in Peter Island
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Bay Beach Club

Property: Long Bay Beach Club
Address: PO Box 433, BVI, Tortola (Formerly Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Long Bay Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on one of the most beautiful, mile-long stretches of white sand beach in the Caribbean, Long Bay Beach Club is truly the gem of the British Virgin Islands. Guests enjoy terrific accommodations including Beachfront Rooms and Suites. The resort amenities include the historic beachfront 1748 Restaurant & Bar, tennis, amazing beach and much more. Fantastic location on Tortola's much sought after West End, just minutes from Soper's Hole Marina. Popular excursions include sailing, diving, sightseeing, and shopping. Great restaurants, bars, and nightlife nearby. Perfect for couples, friends, and families. Also ideal for those seeking a land / sea vacation that includes sailing and hotel stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Long Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Bay Beach Resort & Villas Hotel Tortola
Long Bay Beach Resort And Villas
Long Bay Beach Hotel
Long Bay Beach Resort Villas Tortola
Long Bay Resort Tortola
Long Bay Beach Club Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing