We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!!”
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Mill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for five nights and can't wait to go back. Beautiful property and excellent friendly customer service. We did a package that included dinner, breakfasts, car rental, etc. and it was fantastic. The packages really seem to be a great deal. I agree with others that upgrading to a pool suite is really worth it. Beautiful views of the ocean from the balcony were so relaxing. I also think a car rental is really worth it and. I'm glad we did it. The food at the hotel is fantastic and you can't go wrong eating there. It was also really nice that when we had day sails planned with charter companies the staff helped us to confirm our reservations, arrange any transportation, directions, etc. staying on tortola was great too because its realatively easy to acesss the other islands. The hotel is not far from the ferries. Before we arrived the staff was very helpful with any questions we had regarding trip plans. Overall it was wonderful!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler5512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 654 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

I normally don't write reviews because I'm such a perfectionist that I'd just end up finding something to complain about even the most wonderful place. But not at the Sugar Mill! We have stayed in many lavish hotels and eaten in great, great restaurants, but the Sugar Mill sets the bar at a new height for us. We spent 7 nights there. The rooms were comfortable, tropical in decor, immaculately clean, and set in a beautiful environment of trees and flowers. They are a little more casual than top hotels but in no way inferior. The bed (which is usually the place you notice the problems) was very comfortable and the rooms were quiet. The grounds of the Sugar Mill are gorgeous; just walking to our room was fun! Nothing can beat the restaurant though! The food is exquisite and they are absolutely willing to bend over backwards to accommodate any special requests...but the sound of waves and the gentle breeze while eating in a gourmet restaurant is beyond description! They also have a more casual lunch place right on the beach where we watched pelicans diving into the waves just feet from our table while enjoying great food. Beyond the lovely beach, the fabulous food and the wonderful setting, what sets the Sugar Mill apart is the staff. We have never stayed any place where the staff were so genuinely warm, obsessively attentive to detail, absolutely efficient, and delighted to help us plan every aspect of our time there: from rental cars, to where to hike, to other places to eat, to the best place to watch the sunset on the island, to when was the best time to go sightseeing in order to avoid cruise ships passengers. I should say that the Sugar Mill's location on the north side of the island makes it possible to completely ignore that fact that on the south side of the island cruise ships are disembarking. We felt like we were able to get away from the crowds if we so chose, but easily able to drive down to Road Town if we wanted to mix right in. We got a deluxe studio on the second floor with a great view and a package that include 3 day car rental, a couple of breakfasts (fabulous as well...ask for a terrace table so you can watch the waves while you eat), a dinner in the restaurant and a gourmet picnic (packed in a cooler and so wonderful), a bottle of champagne, a cook book from the restaurant (which I'm still cooking out of!), cocktails, and probably other stuff I'm forgetting. A very good package for us. When we go back, I would probably get a package that included a meal plan because, although we ate at a variety of other restaurants on Tortola which were very good, nothing could hold a candle to the Sugar Mill. But if you want to venture off the property and over the island there is a lot to do: definitely take the ferry to the Baths on Virgin Gorda; go up to Sage Mountain the highest point on Tortola to look out (and take a hike if you want); visit Brewer's Bay Beach for your picnic and imagine you are on a deserted island; buy jewelry at Bomboushay in Road Town; and watch the sunset either from the Sugar Mill's own beach or during happy hour at the BananaKeet perched on a mountainside. Plus, there are so many other islands a ferry hop away that we felt like there are lots more things to do the next time we come back. Next time we hope to take our older teen sons. I think they would love snorkeling right off Sugar Mill's beach because we saw lots of fish and a sea turtle not far from the beach. We'd probably also let the Sugar Mill arrange a day sail for us so they could go snorkeling as well. So we highly recommend the Sugar Mill.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe studio on the second floor which had a breathtaking view and yet we could still hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Sugar Mill is as advertised; small, clean, comfortable, great staff (shout out to Theresa), private and romantic. We loved the small, cozy feel. The welcome was wonderful - we did the Romance package and everything was delivered as promised - great service, very friendly and attentive staff. We couldn't have asked for more and would definitely return.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a superior room with the outdoor shower and loved it. We have a private balcony over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyC653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The Sugar Mill Hotel was the perfect place to stay during our recent trip to Tortola. We were greeted by the outstanding staff and taken to our lovely room which overlooked the ocean. Our room was very spacious, absolutely spotless and had a wonderful balcony to enjoy quiet evenings and mornings just listening to the ocean. There is a fabulous private beach right across the road, with a restaurant serving delicious lunch and providing the most perfect spot for taking pictures of the beautiful sunset. Meals at the Sugar Mill are a pure delight - open air restaurant serving fantastic fare. Very highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParticularTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Absolutely loved my stay at the Sugar Mill. It has lovely private rooms with fabulous amenities. The beach is just across the road. The sound of the ocean in the cove is nothing like I've ever heard before. A great place to celebrate a special occasion. Full moon party nearby every month!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed in the pool suite facilities at the end of October. The outdoor shower was so nice and the living room and kitchenette were perfect. We loved our stay and especially enjoyed the dinners at Sugar Mill. A wonderful place to stay in Tortola.

Room Tip: Pool suite rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terry m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed for two nights at the Sugar Mill and enjoyed every minute of it.The staff is so friendly and the food is fantastic. We wish we would have stayed another day or two. We stayed in one of the pool rooms and can definately recommend the extra cost.We are jealous if you are planing to go there. Have a great time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARCUS024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tortola
9.1 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
1.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
9.4 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#4 of 4 in Cruz Bay
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Address: | Apple Bay, Tortola
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Tortola
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
Price Range: $255 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sea side boutique hotel with a world standard restaurant. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. All our rooms have balconies or terraces and panoramic sea views. From January 2016 our refurbished rooms will include free wi fi, refrigerators, safes, dressing gowns and slippers, iron and board, hairdryers, flat screen TVs , mobile device charging points, luxurious new european bedding and new tropical designer furniture. We have on site the BVI's Number One fine dining restaurant offering fresh lobsters, succulent steaks, crispy belly pork, rack of lamp, scallops in champagne sauce and other mouth watering fare served in the dining room which has been restored from the Rum House of a 400 year old sugar mill. We also have a casual beach restaurant right alongside the hotel. Our small secluded beach offers luxurious loungers and umbrellas with bar and snack service right at your bedside. Alternatively our fresh water circular pool is set among swaying palm trees with a help your self honour bar. Check out our new for 2016 our Five Star All Inclusive option. Everything you need for a perfect vacation at one fixed price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing