We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Sugar Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sugar Mill Hotel
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Just back from The Sugar Mill Hotel. A delightful experience at every level. The staff are professional, charming and friendly. We had an Ocean View room and fell asleep to the sound of ocean waves crashing onto the shore. The room was simple but comfortable and Housekeeping is to be commended as being both timely and meticulous. The restaurant is outstanding and offers food with a caribbean twist but with international flair and the dining room itself is relaxed elegance in a historic building. As noted elsewhere, the menu repeats every 4 days or so. Wine list is well priced. Renting a car is the way to go as the beach here isn't so great by Tortola standards- there is a long beach 5 minutes drive away and many others to explore. A lovely island experience- highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4994MM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

445 - 451 of 653 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed there last week and it was truly a dream come true. Actually, I can't even call it that because I never would have dreamed a place could be so nice!

We got the Anniversary Package, which included a three-day vehicle rental, a bottle of champagne, a picnic lunch and a few free meals at the restaurant (Can't remember how many). It was a great value.

The staff at the hotel, all the way from the house keepers to the managers were impeccable! They each showed a genuinely caring attitude and were extremely helpful when taking care of our immediate needs and also gave great advice and assistance for things to do outside of the hotel.

We stayed in a Deluxe Studio room. It had a balcony with an INCREDIBLE view! Also, it was rather spacious (at least for my tastes) and very clean. There was a small kitchenette, which included a mini fridge (with freezer), microwave, sink, coffee maker and some basic dishes, glasses, silverware, etc. The bathroom featured a vanity, a beautiful tile shower and one of the nicest toilets I've ever seen in a hotel.

Something that should probably be higher on this list is the FOOD! We ate every meal during our stay at one of the the two restaurants at the hotel. Breakfast and lunch were fairly standard and dinner was incredible each night. The dinner menu changes every night, although, as some mentioned, it doesn't change completely from night to night. Either way, we were extremely satisfied with each of our meals and the service was second to none.

Some people only gave the location a 4 out of 5 star rating and that probably depends on what you're looking for in your trip. My wife and I wanted somewhere remote and tranquil. Our main objective was simply to relax. There are a few small stores near the hotel. One within walking distance and the others are only a few minutes of driving. There aren't a ton of choices nearby for other restaurants, but we were happy to eat each meal at the hotel. I would give the location a 5 star rating as it is remote and the views of the surroundings are wonderful.

My wife and I both worked in the service industry for many years, in hotels and restaurants and we recognize good service when we see it. The Sugar Mill has EXCELLENT service.

We hope to return every year to the Sugar Mill. I hope this review was helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Trent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I just spent a week at this charming, boutique hotel. We booked the adventure package, which we felt was a great value, and we stayed in the plantation suite. The suite was spacious, had a fridge, coffee maker and microwave, but the best feature of all was the balcony with the hammock. We spent a great deal of time on that balcony...in the morning, sipping coffee and enjoying the sound and sight of the ocean right across the street, in the late afternoon with a glass of wine before dinner, in the evening with our books and another glass (or two) of wine. We left the french doors open and let the sound of the surf lull us to sleep every evening. There is a small beach right across the street with a beach bar that serves lunch from 12:00 to 2:00 and we spent our first two days there. As mentioned in previous reviews, the entire hotel and restaurant staff is very gracious and accommodating. The food is very good, but one caveat is that the menu repeats itself about every 4 days. There are usually about 5-6 entrees to select from and this is probably one of our only complaints...with 4 meals included in our package, we wished there would have been more of a selection to choose from or at least that the menu rotated over a period of 7 days instead of 4. Other recommendations: book a day sail on the Kuralu (we enjoyed it so much that we booked a second excursion), enjoy a sunset cocktail and some appetizers at the Bananakeet Restaurant and have dinner at The Dove in Road Town. This was a peaceful and relaxing respite from our busy work lives and we can't wait to return to Tortola and the Sugar Mill Hotel and repeat the experience!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deaken7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay here and we just wouldn't stay anywhere else on Tortola.

Nothing is ever too much trouble.

We stayed in a Pool Room on this occasion, there was plenty of space. We had an outdoor shower and on one evening I had an uninvited visitor of a little frog!

The food in the restaurant is fantastic. Whilst we were there it was my husbands birthday and had asked them if they could make him a birthday cake - not a problem, and it was delicious.

The beach and beach restaurant is just over the road. It's only a small beach but big enough and usually we had the beach to ourselves.

Wherever you stay on Tortola you need a car to get around. You can book one through the hotel.

We are looking forward to our next visit, Tortola holds a very special place in our hearts and so do the staff at the Sugar Mill.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winkys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This is my favourite place on Tortola. The beach bar Islands has a fantastic view over onto the sea and the beach is just next door. The food is simple and nice - don't expect anything fancy, just ordinary food - go there for the tranquil view and peaceful atmosphere. After lunch, the pool at the Sugar Mill is gorgeous, and often when we go there it is just us around the pool. There are changing rooms there and the hammocks are a nice touch. I cannot think of a nicer way to kill time in Tortola :)

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank BeachGuru1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Had a wonderful vacation with my wife in July. We were really impressed with this little gem tucked away in a tropical garden on the island of Tortola. Great room, excellent food and impeccable service.

Room Tip: Try one of their packages as they are excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Larry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Our family, including two teenagers, stayed at the Sugar Mill Hotel for two nights. The hotel is ideal for a peaceful stay but also in a good location for exploring Tortola. We found the property to be in excellent condition, very clean and tidy. The staff are great. They cannot do enough for you and everyone recognizes you wherever you are in the hotel. There is a sparkling pool and a small pristine beach, as well as a gazebo with beautiful views of the sunset. We liked that each meal was taken in a different part of the hotel. Breakfast on the terrace....lunch by the beach...and dinner in the great restaurant.We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tortola hotels
9.1 mi away
Surfsong Villa Resort
Surfsong Villa Resort
#1 of 1 in Beef Island
294 reviews
1.6 mi away
Frenchmans
Frenchmans
#1 of 2 in West End
389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sebastian's on the Beach
Sebastian's on the Beach
#1 of 13 in Road Town
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fort Recovery Beachfront Villa & Suites Hotel
4.2 mi away
Fort Burt Hotel
Fort Burt Hotel
#10 of 13 in Road Town
131 reviews
0.8 mi away
Long Bay Beach Club
Long Bay Beach Club
#7 of 25 in Tortola
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Mill Hotel

Address: | Apple Bay, Tortola
Location: Caribbean > British Virgin Islands > Tortola
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Tortola
#1 Spa Hotel in Tortola
Price Range: $255 - $695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sea side boutique hotel with a world standard restaurant. Set amid lush tropical surroundings, the Sugar Mill is the perfect place to relax and enjoy the beautiful British Virgin Islands. All our rooms have balconies or terraces and panoramic sea views. From January 2016 our refurbished rooms will include free wi fi, refrigerators, safes, dressing gowns and slippers, iron and board, hairdryers, flat screen TVs , mobile device charging points, luxurious new european bedding and new tropical designer furniture. We have on site the BVI's Number One fine dining restaurant offering fresh lobsters, succulent steaks, crispy belly pork, rack of lamp, scallops in champagne sauce and other mouth watering fare served in the dining room which has been restored from the Rum House of a 400 year old sugar mill. We also have a casual beach restaurant right alongside the hotel. Our small secluded beach offers luxurious loungers and umbrellas with bar and snack service right at your bedside. Alternatively our fresh water circular pool is set among swaying palm trees with a help your self honour bar. Check out our new for 2016 our Five Star All Inclusive option. Everything you need for a perfect vacation at one fixed price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sugar Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Mill Tortola
Hotel Sugar Mill
Sugar Mill Hotel Tortola, British Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing