We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cruise excursion on tortola bvi to cane garden bay”
Review of Cane Garden Bay

Cane Garden Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Stand-Up Paddle Board in the British Virgin Islands
Ranked #3 of 65 things to do in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Centrally located on Tortola's north side, this is probably the busiest beach since its beauty is often compared to Magen's Bay on St. Thomas.
Omaha NE
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“cruise excursion on tortola bvi to cane garden bay”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

used trip advisor to decide which beach to visit on our port stop in road town tortola, and was not disappointed with our choice of cane garden bay. did not go through the ship to book, just used local transportation which was a minimal cost, and very reliable and safe. it is a quick 15ish minute drive over some steep terrain, but very worth it when you drop down into the bay. BEAUTIFUL!!! a couple of places to purchase refreshing beverages and food and clean rest rooms. this is a popular beach so it will not be secluded, but still a big and beautiful beach. there will be sailboats and catamarans moored out in the bay but it just makes the scenery awesome!! the sand is fabulous with no drop off into the water as some beaches have. our ship was the only one in port and it was a small one ( only 2,000 passengers) so that may be why the beach was NOT at all crowded. it was definitely HEAVENLY!! the drink to be sure and get is the "painkiller" and the rum punches were fab!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    291
    90
    15
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice!!”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Lots of room on the beach, once you get past the hawkers trying to make you rent a chair from them. Just go down the beach a bit and it's fine, and not very crowded.

No fee to enter, and really nice sand and water.

Definitely enjoyed it!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Six_in_the_Field
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A brief encounter”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

colourful, plenty of places to eat, good beach with facilities - a glimpse of paradise whilst we dropped other passengers off before we headed to Brewers Bay

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
110 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Too many people”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

While the swimming is terrific, you have to get by all the vendorsn the beach as we'll as the massive influxes of people. Go to long bay.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jmwzawza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most beautiful beach I've been to”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

As a Floridian, I feel like I've been to a lot of beautiful beaches. Nothing compares to the gorgeous Cane Garden Bay - while it's a shorter beach, flanked on both sides by mountains, there is still plenty of space. The businesses lining the beach are all amazing, the drink specials are to die for, and there's enough within walking distance to keep you occupied all day long. When we went, we visited from a cruise ship - took a taxi from port to the beach immediately, and basically had the beach to ourselves all morning and into the afternoon. Once the sand got crowded, we headed in for lunch at the restaurants along the beach, sampling rum punches as we walked. At the end of the beach there's a great rum distillery worth visiting, and some kayak and snorkel equipment rentals. Overall, while it is true that this beach can get very crowded, it is 100% worth the visit. If crowds are not your thing, at least hit this beach up in the morning and then spring the $8 for a taxi ride to Long Beach right down the road, which is much more secluded.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cane Garden Bay also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Road Town, Tortola
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Cane Garden Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing