We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in BVI, and the world !!”
Review of Cane Garden Bay

Cane Garden Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$80.00*
and up
Stand-Up Paddle Board in the British Virgin Islands
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Half-Day Tortola Rum Tasting and Snorkel Tour
Ranked #4 of 65 things to do in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Centrally located on Tortola's north side, this is probably the busiest beach since its beauty is often compared to Magen's Bay on St. Thomas.
Holmes Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best place in BVI, and the world !!”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

If there is anyplace I would want to go back to visit, it would be CGB. Our visit was 1 of 13 stops in the BVI by our privately chartered boat, and this was our favorite. A beautiful paradise crescent white sand beach gave this spot a special feeling of peace and beauty. Upon arriving on shore we found a special little village w little beach bars, a grocery store, police station, post office, and a few speciality shops, even a hair stylist shop. (Just like Mayberry America, except for the beach bars). It had everything needed in a village, without being a tourist trap. In walking the island, we found a unique old Rum distillery, a grave yard and lots of chickens in the road. The thought of living here forever entered my mind many times, before an involuntary departure. I often reflect on our trip to BVI, with Cane Garden Bay as my favorite! Just like the paradise picture on front of a Caribbean travel magazine !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank a l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

934 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    304
    95
    16
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires ARGENTINA
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderfull beach”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

It is a beautifull beach. Calm water, Smooth Sand, Greenpeace mountains. My family enjoyed very much the beach day in cane beach.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank pdfargentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Cane Garden Bay is probably the busiest beach on Tortola. Tons of restaurants, beach bars, etc here. The beach itself is nice, but tends to be pretty crowded. I hear that a lot of cruise ships stop in through here, so that probably explains it. If you want to see a beautiful beach, they are plentiful on Tortola; consider Brewers Bay instead, which is absolutely gorgeous and much quieter. On the other hand, if you want to get drinks and party with friends amongst a sea of beach chairs and tourists, this is probably a better fit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Peaceful beach with facilities”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Tortola was a stop with Royal Caribbean. It is not worth to buy the 3.5 H excursion from the ship to Cane Garden Bay $29.00, because it is only transportation and it uses the same public open trolleys that you can get at the small port for $8.00 each way with the advantage that you can stay at the beach as long as you want. The drive to the beach is very scenic and it goes the same route of the island tour. The beach itself is long, quiet and good for swimming, with a nice view of the bay and of some islands in front. There are umbrellas and lounge chairs for rent for $15 or $20 cash. There is a restaurant with good fresh fish, various stands to get a drink and souvenirs. They accept dollars and you can pay by credit card at the restaurant. In the way back you can ask the driver to stop at the art craft center and/or at the few shops at walking distance from the port. At the port there is the list of all the beaches the trolleys go to and you can plan to see more than one, just bring cash to pay for the trolley rides. Or you can take the excursion to Virgin Gorda Island or to Jost Van Dyke Island by boat in the morning and then spend the afternoon at this beach or at another beach.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank laurapoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful Beach”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My wife and I visited this beach when our cruise ship docked in Tortola. The beach is beautiful, with plenty of places to grab a drink or a bite to eat.

This was our favorite beach out of all the islands we visited.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank NJ76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cane Garden Bay also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Road Town, Tortola
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Cane Garden Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing