We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For The Sunset”
Review of BananaKeet Cafe

BananaKeet Cafe
Ranked #1 of 148 Restaurants in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Casual fine dining with exceptional foods, friendly service & spectacular sunset views!! Open daily for Sunset Happy Hour: 4-6pm $1 off all cocktails. FREE 'Sundowner' at Sunset! ALa carte poolside dining 5:30-9:30. Live legendary music Fridays from 6pm CAFE SEASONAL CLOSING: September 15- REOPENS October 15 Closed for ALL Public Holidays
connecticut
Level Contributor
94 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“For The Sunset”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Went here twice and the view of the sunset is great. Food was great both times. Our first visit food service was prompt however on the second visit we waited an hour for the food. Not that we were in a rush and even after sunset the view was amazing.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank globalpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    425
    203
    36
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tortola
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss the sunsets here!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The best sunsets on Tortola are here and it's a great place for a drink. The food and service can be a little spotty as it's island time and island food for the most part, but if you adjust your expectations, you'll be happy. I have to say though that the food has improved greatly over the last two years and some dishes are really good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bags2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best view and sunsets! Great drinks and the food is good too!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is the place to go for sunsets after a day sailing or boating or beaching. Spectacular view high up on a cliff. The drinks are very good and the food is good too.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ellen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Lou
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best view on Tortola!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have been here many times, view is definitely the best on Tortola, food is great too! For Tortola, the service is good. Will always return and recommend!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CBakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“DO NOT MISS OUT ON THIS GEM!”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

If you are on Tortola take a taxi, drive or walk to this restaurant! We had been eating at Sebastian's all week until our taxi driver Erik (Wonderful guy! be sure and ask for him at Sebastian's if you need a taxi) suggested we go to Bananakeet's. It is just up the hill from Sebastian's resort and the view is outstanding! Try and go before the sun goes down but make reservations or you will miss out. The service is great, they are so friendly. The food was the best, I had coconut rum prawns, if you love coconut you will love the sauce on these, smooth and amazing. Not like the over cooked coconut prawns that are deep fried we get in Washington. My husband had the scallops, they were seasoned just right and done to perfection! They have a great wine selection as well as a full bar that can make you anything your heart desires. There prices were better than Sebastian's and the service and food was better. They had an older gentleman playing music the night we went which just added to the romantic ambiance after the sun went down. Thank you Bananakeet for ending our trip to Tortola on a great note, we just wished we would have found you sooner!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Candyandrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BananaKeet Cafe also viewed

 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to BananaKeet Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing