We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing here but the view.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of BananaKeet Cafe

BananaKeet Cafe
Ranked #1 of 149 Restaurants in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Casual fine dining with exceptional foods, friendly service & spectacular sunset views!! Open daily for Sunset Happy Hour: 4-6pm $1 off all cocktails. FREE 'Sundowner' at Sunset! ALa carte poolside dining 5:30-9:30. Live legendary music Fridays from 6pm CAFE SEASONAL CLOSING: September 15- REOPENS October 15 Closed for ALL Public Holidays
Ithaca, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing here but the view.”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Everyone is sold on a fantastic view. Just don't expect much else. The attitude of the wait staff is horrible. My wife and were seated at a table for three when we arrived. Mid-way through our meal we were told to move to a different table as there was a party of three waiting to be seated. The food and drinks are over-priced. $13 for a cheap glass of champagne, everywhere else on Tortola is $5-7. Myett's, Quito's, or Sailor's Rest are all best. All of these places have wonderful, warm, and welcoming staff and owners!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank rtfess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    198
    33
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Still the best food and view in Tortola”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We have visited the Banakeet regularly over the years and the quality is consistently high. Chris and crew are welcoming and the food is delicious: fresh and thoughtfully prepared.
The view, 400 feet above the water is fantastic. The sunset over the Drake channel is unparalleled, so it is OK to arrive early for a drink (we do!).
The restaurant is casually elegant and comfortable with covered and open outdoor seating.
There are menu items to suit all tastes. I personally enjoy the sushi specials (particularly the Ahi tuna). I love the Asian calamari salad.
It is a high value dining experience with reasonable prices; absolutely worth the drive up Windy Hill

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTKerryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful sunset and view”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Dined at BananaKeet for dinner with my husband and two friends. We went to enjoy the sunset and were not disappointed. The view was fantastic. The food was quite good, especially the coconut shrimp. Also, there was live music the night we were there which we really enjoyed. We would return on our next visit to Tortola.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MilesManiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best view!”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Had Christmas eve dinner here and it was great! Filet and Caribbean lobster. Get there before sunset for the view!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great views and atmosphere”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We had New Year's Eve dinner at Bananakeet and ordered carry out one night. It was delish both times! The coconut shrimp were soooo good! Wish it was open for lunch!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank SRod17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BananaKeet Cafe also viewed

 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to BananaKeet Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing