We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Food and Service at the Sugar Mill” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sugar Mill Restaurant

The Sugar Mill Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 147 Restaurants in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
SF CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb Food and Service at the Sugar Mill”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at the Sugar Mill for close to a week in early November and loved every minute of it...particularly the food! We had the option of going other places to have our meals, but quite frankly, we couldn't wait to return to our wonderful suite every day to toast the sunset, enjoy the camaraderie at the bar (and their "in house" rum!) and eventually move to the tranquil dining room where the lovely stone walls were graced with colorful tropical paintings by the owner and tables sparkled with candlelight in the dimly lit room. The young chef, a native of BVI, was at the top of his game. His menus changed every night and were offered delicious choices of succulent appetizers, creative and beautiful soups and salads as well as amazing entrees which always included vegetarian and seafood options. The seafood (lobster) risotto was memorable and outstanding! The food presentation was tasteful and artistic...equal to any Michelin starred restaurant and it was obvious that there was great care in making sure the plates left the kitchen perfectly. Service was impeccable at dinner and every meal as we also ate at the beachside "cafe" several times during the week just because it was beautiful, relaxing and delicious. Sitting on a cabana-like patio at the edge of the surf watching the pelicans dive in the crystal clear water while we enjoyed appropriate lunch fare (big thick hamburgers cooked to order, fabulous crisp fresh caesar salad, fish and chips, sandwiches, etc) while looking out across the water to Jost Van Dyke was nothing but heaven. Do not hesitate to relax and have one meal or many meals at Sugar Mill...you will not be disappointed. (Also,their "Painkillers" are killer!!)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trvlchf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    100
    48
    29
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant on Tortola”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We had 4 dinners at The Sugar Mill Restaurant as part of a package with the Sugar Mill Hotel. All 4 dinners were wonderful. All the food has a Caribbean twist to it - local spiny lobster with risotto, and jerk pork tenderloin were delicious. The dining room inside the old sugar mill is beautiful with its stone walls and interesting art work. The service is a little slow, but this is the Caribbean! I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, VA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

The Sugar Mill Restaurant is a treat whether you're headed there for a special occasion or, like us, for a great dining experience at the end of a busy vacation day on Tortola. We've stayed at the hotel a number of times and always look forward to our dinners there. The pacing of dinner is wonderful -- neither rushed nor too slow. The gracious hostess is always available to make sure that everything is perfect. And the food is delicious, fresh, and presented in an artful way. We were especially impressed with the pumpkin and black bean soup on our last visit. The owners' gourmet background shines.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Poplaridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb quality, menu changes nightly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed at the Sugar Mill Resort and ate at the restaurant two of the nights during our week-long stay. There was a selection of 3-5 starters, 2-3 salads, 6-8 entrees and 3-5 desserts. There were always options for pure vegetarian, fresh fish, chicken, beef, or pork, and sometimes an additional fresh seafood option Entree price ranged $30-55. We loved the tuna tartar, grouper surrounded in a cheese souffle, grilled mahi mahi, and the grilled beef filet mignon. The service was excellent.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Don't Do The Fish Taco's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

I believe the Sugar Mill is 2 restaurants. The aforementioned and the 'Island Beach'. Sugar Mill is for Dinner which we had and if based solely on that it would be a 5* for food. Service adequate but matter of fact. Meals consisted of stuffed tomato / thai chicken satays followed by fillet steak & ahi tuna. All were excellent.
Based on the above we returned next day whereupon we were redirected across the street to the Island Beach Restaurant. Having read the "try the fish Taco" reviews I did. Maybe I was unlucky but mine consisted of a very stale taco filled with a bland deep fried piece of fish. My wife had the shrimp pita which was better. We had planned to share so asked the server if she could have the chef split them on the plates. The reply was "The sandwiches come in 2 halves, you can swap them yourself" Well I'd rather guessed that's what it would involve just thought it might have been nice if it could have been served that way. Should add this could have been taken as rude but I actually think she was trying to be helpful. Island beach would score a generous 3* so averaged it to a 4*

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lamxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sugar Mill Restaurant also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to The Sugar Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing