We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

The Sugar Mill Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 149 Restaurants in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fine dining but on real food with substantial portions. Cocktail bar and Pavillions lounge area overlooking the sea. 400 year old stone built dining room formerly the Rum house of the plantation. Terace section overlooking the sea.
New Hampshire, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just by chance we rented a villa within walking distance to the Sugar Mill and ate there three times over the course of the week. It is a gorgeous spot and the building and grounds are lovely.
It was pricey but well worth it. I appreciated that they were able to accomodate the vegetarian in the group.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    108
    49
    32
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berwyn, PA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best on the Island”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed on the island for a week and visited the restaurant twice. There are very few places on Tortola that we found that actually knew how to serve dinner. The menu options are varied and everything we ordered was very good. The ambiance is relaxing with exposed stone walls, candlelight and open air gentle breezes. One of the evenings we visited we told the server that we were celebrating my spouse's 50th bday so they brought over a slice of cake with a candle and several of the staff sang happy birthday. The staff at this restaurant are clearly a cut above any other place on the island. If you are looking for a romantic dinner or a place where you can talk with friends and enjoy a very good meal this is the place to visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TessBerwyn_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level 4 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We enjoyed the atmosphere of this historic restaurant built in the 1600's (as a sugar mill) and right across from the gorgeous beach. More importantly, the food was spectacular! By far the best on the island. Highly recommend!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank enjoykauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harmony, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The ambiance is wonderful at this restaurant, however, the seating and the service is a little stuffy. The meal was good at best but NOT filling. You know one of those overpriced, overrated restaurants. If you are a fun loving Island free spirit - don't go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merida, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff...amazing view!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Dined here for lunch and dinner and always had fresh, well prepared food served by friendly, professional servers. Take a dip in the pool and let them bring you your pina colada and burger right to you! Very casual and relaxing....what more could you want?

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sugar Mill Restaurant also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to The Sugar Mill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing