We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible music that goes on until the wee hours” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quito's Gazebo

Quito's Gazebo
Ranked #14 of 147 Restaurants in Tortola
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
el mundo
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible music that goes on until the wee hours”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

I recently visited Cane Garden Bay, Tortola, BVI, and Quito's Bar and Restaurant there.

I had heard good things about Quito's Bar, primarily about his music when he plays solo. I was unpleasantly surprised to experience not the wonderful music I had heard about, but instead a slamming sounding dj music played at such a high volume that it prohibited all conversation, caused your ears to ring afterwards and could be heard throughout Cane Garden Bay, both on land and on sea, throughout the night, so until 3 am - 4 am. It was unpleasant. It prohibited getting a good night's rest without the use of earplugs.

I learned later though conversation with others that this is an ongoing situation at Quito's and that people in the Cane Garden Bay have taken Quito's to court in an effort to control the noise volume and hours, all to no avail. Interesting.

I cannot recommend this place based on my experience.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sherthebrave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    60
    15
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best night life on Tortola”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

If you are looking for something to do on Tortola at night and if a Full Moon party isn't going on at the Bomba Shack, I suggest hitting up Cane Garden Bay. Tortola is pretty quiet at night, but Cane Garden Bay offers the most enjoyable nightlife for this laidback beach bar island. We had the best time at Quitos on our recent trip to the Island. Its a great place to take in the vibes and feel of the island. Quito himself plays regularly at his establishment and always puts on an awesome show.(If you didn't know Quito is a reggae recording artist who is regularly on Margaritaville Radio). We went most days for happy hr and good music(all of the other acts are always great. We really enjoyed happy hr and the music Friday night. Candyman opened for Quito and put on a great show. We also had dinner there one night which was pretty good by comparison to some of the other spots in Cane Garden Bay. We will definitely spend time at Quitos when we return to Tortola.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kais34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Lucia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Place to be on Friday Nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

The sound of Sweet music coming from the Live band playing at the Gazebo every Friday night. Great ambiance. Beach front restaurant.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Great view & great food.... oh & great service too!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AlicesDaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One word...Quito”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

Quito is what makes this place special...that and the setting on cane garden bay. Since he took the pace back, this season, it is once again a great spot to enjoy the best of the BVI. The food is good, and the view is exceptional....with breathtaking sunsets across cane garden bay. A consistent spot to catch live music, and if you are lucky, Quito himself.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank sbh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quito's Gazebo also viewed

Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Quito's Gazebo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing