We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly Average”
Review of Marina Cay

Marina Cay
Ranked #20 of 148 Restaurants in Tortola
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Amazingly Average”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

There may not be a restaurant with a better view than Marina Cay. It's a shame just how average the food and service are. This place could be a home run, but instead its amazingly average and totally underwhelming.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    61
    31
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
W. Pa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Fun Little Island”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

You have to Stop in @ Pusser's and get your Pain Killer. Nice little beach. Wave to Sir Richard as the Necker Belle was anchored just off shore! We ordered Conch fritters, but were a little disappointed. They were a little too greasy, but the Super Sized battered Hot Dog was really a treat!
Quaint little island, with a romantic history.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Firstmate362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pussers have got to get their act together”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Marina Cay is a beautiful setting, but Pussers in general are in need of a major shake up. We have been visiting for well over 10 years and won't be returning unless they start to get consistant rave reviews.
First of all, pulling into the dinghy dock, the dockmaster(?) sitting in his hut yelled at us. It was incomprehensible, but we sort of understood he wanted the mooring fee. Could he have got off his back side and approached us and asked pleasantly?
Then we walked around the island. Sad state of repair through out, paths with broken slabs that would be easy to fall over in the dark, and signage to Happy Aaar: this was from Michael Beans era several years ago. It turned out that there was evening entertainment that night, but there was absolutely nothing to say so, timing for Happy Hour etc.
At 4.30 we went for a drink at the bar. Again nothing visible with regards to Happy Hour, but 4-6 is fairly common, so we thought we would take a chance. I have never received such surly, miserable and slow service. Grunts were the only method of communication from this lady. She is the 'face' of Pussers here and should be charming and welcoming surely? And the price for two painkillers, their house rum based drink? $20!! We did not have another round as that is the most we have ever paid in the BVI. And let me remind you, the drinks are served in disposable cups, not even a glass.
We also visited Pussers at Sopers Hole, sitting down for over half an hour just two tables away from where a waitress was also sitting. She never approached us to ask if we wanted service in all that time, so we eventually went elsewhere. Service with a smile? Not at Pussers.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
270 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Beautiful place marred by lousy service”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

The maître d was one of the rudest people I have ever dealt with. He seemed outraged that we would want to dine in the restaurant. Our dinner was somewhat strained by trying to avoid unwittingly antagonizing him. Such a pity a really beautiful place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 69Armstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
258 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very average restaurant, fair food, poor service but a nice view”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We were disappointed in Marina Cay as the restaurant appears to be regressing. We had a party of six with shared appetizers and individual entrees. The service was slow and the food ok but not great. The location is the attraction.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank IP3806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina Cay also viewed

 
Beef Island, Tortola
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Marina Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing