We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mosquitos”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Marina Cay

Marina Cay
Ranked #20 of 149 Restaurants in Tortola
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
UK SW
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mosquitos”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Had a cocktail here and looked at the menu for an evening meal. But we both got set upon by Mosquitos, never seen so many. Also waitress was very grumpy. Didn't bother to return for the evening meal because of the Mosquitos, they must have a problem with stagnant water.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HugoCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    61
    30
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very lovely spot to spend the day”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Short, pleasant, free boat ride over. Gorgeous spot and relaxing to walk around the island. Spent lots of time lounging on the beach and eating at the restaurant. The snorkeling is fantastic! Always see a barracuda and once even a shark when venturing on the wrong side of the reef!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank arlene_clare11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Food is ok, "Last Resort" restaurant is a better choice”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I ate here with a few other couples while staying on nearby Scrub Island. We all agreed that everything about this place was average: average food, average to below average service, average to above average prices. For better food and service at a better price (especially drinks prices), visit the nearby Last Resort restaurant off of Trellis Bay. Based on our experience, you won't regret it.

In regard to service, everyone always warns you about "island tme" in the Caribbean. Of all the restaurants we visited over our eight night stay, this was the only place where our food and drink orders were not taken or received in a reasonable amount of time. I believe our bill included automatic gratuity, which is probably a big reason why the waitstaff was very nonchalant with their service. Other places we ate at also included automatic gratuity and were much more attentive.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spdst13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg VA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun and Great!”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We visited Marina Cay twice while vacationing on Scrub Island. It is very convenient - they will actually pick you up at the Scrub marina on their boat and take you to and from the island for dinner or lunch. It was very easy and we never had to wait for pickup or dropoff!
The atmosphere is great! The restaurant is on a small island, has a beach with covered tables and the restaurant is open air and very "island-like". Only issue in the evening are the mosquitoes or gnats, but it wasn't terribly bothersome (and they have Off if you're really bothered).
Wait staff was good - friendly, responsive and helpful. Food was great. The Potato-chip-tree was awesome! We had fish, Jerk chicken, lobster and the coconut shrimp and all were terrific. highly recommend this as a spot to visit if you are on Tortola or Scrub Island - fun and good!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“If your limited by time/Avoid”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

This was the first restaurant that we dined at on our trip. Their boat picked us up at our dock on Scrub Island which was very nice. The service was lacking as our server rarely checked on us as the place filled up. I had to summon the hostess at least twice to take care of unattended needs. I had the jerk chicken (1/2 of a bird). The spices were fantastic with the dark side being moist but the white side was dry and even tasted a little dated. My wife had the mussels which were very good. The setting is an outdoor wooden patio with bar and many old photos and maps included. When leaving we had to wait probably 30 to 40 minutes for the boat to return from somewhere which is pretty typical in the BVI. I will not return in the future for there are so many better options in the area.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluebob52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina Cay also viewed

 
Beef Island, Tortola
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to Marina Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing