We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be Happy or Leave !”

Ranked #83 of 148 Restaurants in Tortola
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
carribean territory
Level Contributor
114 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Be Happy or Leave !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

Ok , I have been comming to chef Clarence's restaurant since the early 80's
It's not the fastest place on earth but it's good,it's local, and you get what you pay for! To the tourons who complain about slow? Where do you have to go? Your on vacation! Expensive? Ha, you try to run a business in the Bvi ! If your looking for cheap stay on your boat! It Probly cost all you had to come down here! The waitresses are nice, and chef Clarence works his butt off in that kitchen ! And don't leave with out trying the conch in lime butter sauce!!
You go guys!!

Helpful?
3 Thank corsairofmalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
377 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Our last night in Tortola with our taxi driver, Mr. Lonely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Mr. Lonely drove us around the island during our holiday and to show our appreciation we took him out to dinner. He choose this out of the way local restaurant which is decorated with patio furniture and lattice. Actually works for the tropical environment. We ordered the swordfish, barbeque chicken wings and the rock cod. All entrees came with four sides. Mr. Lonely eats here as he is a local and they all know his name and his preferences. He told us the story of his family and growing up on the island with his siblings. My regrets is we did not record his thoughts. We will always cherish him and document him in our travel journals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Flounder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Very disappointed!! Came highly recommended but it sucked!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Wine came at aprox 98 dgr as it was kept in the hot cooking area...lobster like rubber! Conch fritters were worse I ever had!! Won't be going back!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tuttue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go Local”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This place was recommended by one of the taxi drivers at the Moorings. We asked for local and boy did we get it! We had 11 in our group and they were willing to cooperate. We were also there in off season so we just got dropped off by taxi and walked back to the marina. Two people can share a dinner. Most come with fried plantains, rice, vegetables and some sort of pasta. I tried the crab cake appetizer, wonderful. Conch fritters were great too with a lime cream sauce of some sort. Our BBQ chicken dish came with macaroni and cheese with raisins which was a unique island flare. There is also a fried fisherman's plate and the spare ribs were divine. I actually ordered these to go the day before we left so I could have them on the plane. They also have a whole cooked grilled snapper, it's great if you want to eat like a local just beware of the bones. No doubt you get your moneys worth at this place.

As a tip just remember you are in the islands! There is no fast speed to anything. Be patient! If you need to have more than one check, let the server know before you start ordering.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LaureJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tortola
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

Not a great location, the food was alright. can take large groups. we went there for 'local food' pretty expensive for what it was. Good service

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MegsInParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed C & F Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Tortola, British Virgin Islands
 

Been to C & F Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing