We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Sailing Virgins
from $2,820.52
More Info
Reviews (123)
Filter reviews
123 results
Traveler rating
123
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
123
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sailing experience these guys learning how learn how free diving adventure course perfect balance crew mates life changing an absolute blast great sailing amazing week an unforgettable experience british virgin islands great company amazing adventure beautiful scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 123 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2017

Once again I found myself having an epic time on Libby. I joined James Kell with Sailing Virgins on their first week of the “Down Island Sail” to Guadalupe. The first week was spent sailing 300nm from Tortola, to St. Martin, to St. Barts, to Antigua, and then finally to Guadalupe. It was a good challenge and a thrilling sail full of so much learning, great conversations, some island sight seeing, and of course beautiful blue water and sunny warm days.

There were 5 of us on this trip; 1 student (myself going for my ASA 105 & 106), 3 adventure seekers, and James (owner and instructor). I am extremely happy to say that I learned a lot from James and fine tuned some of my skills that I have been learning this year. On this trip I navigated us on a night sail of 90nm to English Harbor in Antiqua, experienced CTS night helming, and got a true feeling of beating to windward; I had sailed pretty close to close-hauled before but not like this great experience. Even the others that were there for adventure and not certification learned so much and improved their sailing skills all thanks to James’ teaching style, calm demeanor, and energetic spirit. You can’t go wrong with James, or any of the Sailing Virgins instructors, guiding and teaching you.

Sailing Virgins has been one of the important staples in my transitioning to a sailing career and lifestyle but even if that is not your goal, you simply can not go wrong by sailing with Sailing Virgins. Whether you are attending for class, adventure, or vacation you will get all three in your time with James on Libby with Sailing Virgins. It truly is an epic time that will leave you with withdrawals and an eager desire to get back out there on the water. Sign up with Sailing Virgins; you won’t regret it!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K, Owner at Sailing Virgins, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2017

Thanks Melissa! Looking forward to seeing you become a full blooded YW skipper!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017 via mobile

Did the US Power-boating course with James at Sailing Virgins and was blown away with how simple and fun he made it feel. 2 days with James made me feel super confident about my new found skills!! I would highly recommend Sailing Virgins and especially this course for anyone, whether you're new to boats or not!!

Date of experience: June 2017
Thank 204quintonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K, Owner at Sailing Virgins, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Thanks Quinton! Keen to see you all back at Cooper next season! James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile

Just spent 2 weeks sailing with James over the weekend and it was just amazing! Really great experience! I would recommend to anyone who love adventure and sailing!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank DaviPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K, Owner at Sailing Virgins, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Davi thanks mate. What a great adventure we had! Until next time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2017

Just finished the down island adventure! It was an incredible week of sailing. From the great instruction to timeless moments at sea / coming into port every aspect was refreshing and vitalizing. I would highly recommend Sailing Virgins for anyone interested from starting out to preparing to buy a boat and picking up final tips. Why not do it all in an enjoyable fashion? You'll pick up some of the most important and unnamed rules that are vital to sailing!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K, Owner at Sailing Virgins, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Thanks Jeff! Yes indeed, why not do it all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017

Just got back sailing from Tortola > St. Maarten > St. Barts > Antigua > Guadaloupe with James of Sailing Virgins. It was an amazing experience and I learned a ton about sailing. I took the nautic ed course prior to arrival and feel completely confident in day sailing. James is an excellent teacher and an overall cool dude to be around. I would give the course 6 stars if it was an option! I would recommend spending a week with Sailing Virgins to anybody interested in sailing!

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James K, Owner at Sailing Virgins, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2017

Thanks Ben! So good of you to jump straight onto TripAdvisor after you got off the boat. Very generous. Hope to see you sailing again sometime soon! James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews