We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Shambala
Nearby Hotels
Le Petit Hotel(Grand Case)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel L'Esplanade(Grand Case)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
LOVE(Grand Case)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
67
21
7
7
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
67
21
7
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poollobster medallionsaba roomcoconut shellsoverlooking the baylounge areacoffee machineyogurtplace to staymain poolfoie grasa wonderful stayrooms are spaciousour honeymoonevery morningst martindriftwood
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 104 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We really enjoyed our dinner here. this place offers a unique beach setting with such ambience. The food was excellent. Good wine selection. The service was a bit slower due to a larger party next to us. but very enjoyable

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We were looking to get away for a few days in the sun - found Le Shambala in Grand Case - and were totally happy. The rooms are private bungalows with simple and sophisticated furnishings - stylish bath and best of all a private pool and garden. The restaurant and bar are directly on the water which makes viewing the spectacular sunset a real treat. The staff is terrific and genuinely friendly and Patrick the owner is wonderfully accommodating. Now to the best - the food is simply wonderful and has a wine list to match! Damien Vernaison's ability to combine the freshest ingredients into wonderful dishes is outstanding. The flavors in each dish blend beautifully yet you can taste the individual ingredients perfectly. We will be back.

Room Tip: our favorite rooms were Curacao and Tintamarre
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Werner M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We ate here as this restaurant was highly recommended. The restaurant has newly opened.

Positives:

- Oceanside setting beautiful
- Sailboats in the harbor
- Excellent service
- Entrées were adequately portioned with an excellent presentation
- Bar with excellent variety of drinks
- Casual dress code
- Adequate variety on the menu
- Casual sofa seating by the water

Not so Positives:

- Nearby parking is limited
- Limited dessert choices
- Average meal for two with drinks = $140.

Room Tip: Make reservations in advance and get there to see the sunset. It is amazing!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Le Shambala is a newly-opened boutique hotel, restaurant and lounge bar on the beach-front of Grand Case. If you enjoy the upscale sophistication, expert cuisine, sun, sea and sand of Saint Tropez, you will love the effortless sophistication of Le Shambala. Your generous hosts, Florence and Patrick spare no expense in bringing you the quintessential Tropezienne experience.

We stayed for 9 nights as a family. After a delicious breakfast prepared to order by the chef, we would usually play in the pool of the lounge area or collect shells on the beach. The lounge area was mostly empty until the evening time so we had the place to ourselves in the day. The hotel has only 5 rooms, most of which have their own pool. The rooms are simple but spacious and comfortable in a chalet style, allowing for privacy, like having your own mini-villa. The linen and towels are tastefully selected and of high quality. Each room has a fridge and a safe. Patrick provided our room with a WIFI range-extender which was helpful.

At lunch time, we mostly ventured out. There are so many good restaurants on the French side of the island but Le Sand on Nettle Beach stood-out as a favorite location. In the evenings, however, the lounge bar would warm up and there was no better place to watch the sunset. Cocktails washed down by the sea-breeze were followed by dinner in the restaurant on most evenings.

The staff is young, knowledgeable and agreeable. The hotel was not crowded. One really feels at home. The kitchen is honest and the chef is highly-skilled. The fresh lobster was sweet, the cod cooked “sous-vide” was of the highest quality. The tuna and onion tart was delicious and I enjoyed the scrambled eggs and truffle-oil ham which the chef would prepare for my breakfast.

The hotel, the lounge- bar and the restaurant would each be memorable in their own right. The combination of the three in a single location is unbeatably convenient. A pure luxury. Florence & Patrick are to be congratulated on their accomplishment.

Le Shambala is recommended unreservedly.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Isabellita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My friend and I visited the beach lounge 3 or 4 times during our stay. We'd usually stop by for after dinner cocktails. The view from the lounge at sunset is gorgeous. The drinks are great too, thanks to the very attentive bartender Pierre - he was great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianNYCbatterypark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews