We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”
Review of Ocean 82

Ocean 82
Ranked #17 of 68 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We had dinner with my wife after a recommendation from a fellow traveler. Located in Gran Case and over the water Ocean 82 is a very good restaurant. The food is classic french, it has a very good wine by the glass selection but the best thing is the service.
We had no reservation and were given the last available table on the room next to a big and noisy table of 6 women....sorry girls but you were really loud.
As soon as another table over the water cleared up our waitress came to us and moved us over. That was a nice detail.
The people working were very nice, we met them later that night at a beach party.
It is well priced as well

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Juan Pablo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    880
    307
    111
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Another "great catch" in Grand Case”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Pardon the pun but we had an outstanding meal here in Grand Case. Reasonably priced for upscale ocean side dining.

From the bread to the after dinner shot on the house, the meal was great. Do yourself a favor and make this place happen.

Mahi Mahi was fabulous!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garth1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
120 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great French Food and Service - Good for larger Groups”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Great view of the bay and Anguilla because it has a cantilevered dining room out over the beach. A little more lit then some of the restaurants in Grand Case. Because it often has groups of 6, 8, 10, or 12 it is a little noisier and not quite as romantic as some of the other restaurants. Lobster is one of their big things. We watched them bring in 100 Kilos (220 pounds) of live lobster and put them in their tank. All will be eaten in less than a week.

We started with traditional escargot (6 each) and then had the Sea Scallops with Smoked Duck Carpaccio with Foie Gras sauce it included mashed sweet potatoes and vegetables. We shared so we each got 2 1/2 scallops which was plenty. For dessert we had a traditional Grand Mariner Soufflé with chocolate and vanilla sauces. It also was served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and a brittle.

The wine was an excellent Sancerre and of course they had flavored rums for a final treat (as all of the restaurants on the French side usually do).

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AkronTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great view, great service, but average food”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This restaurant has great service, white linen, polite servers -- essentially everything you expect from a French restaurant. The food is fine, but not exciting. But at the high price point of this restaurant you are mainly paying for the beautiful view and sea breeze.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2opinionated_guys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, good food”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Really enjoyed an early evening dinner at Ocean 82. Their balcony area is great with a beautiful view of the water. The food was excellent (conch & chicken stew especially) and presented in a fun way.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ambJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean 82 also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Ocean 82? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing