We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service, Excellent Meal”
Review of Ocean 82

Ocean 82
Ranked #16 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Cuisines: French, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New Berlin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Service, Excellent Meal”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I was there over Thanksgiving weekend with my family. The owner of the restaurant, a nice and young frenchman was our server. First, the service was outstanding. The owner was very polite and took the time to make suggestions on the menu. He was very attentive. The restuarant has a nice decor and the outdoor seating is wonderful. We were allowed to take or time eating and did not feel pushed (which is quite common on the French side). Second, the food was delicious. There was not a plate that I did not taste or did not enjoy. All in all, I would come back to Ocean 82 in heartbeat. I strongly recommend it and would say it is easily one of the best restaurants on the island.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
romaindis, Responsable relations publiques at Ocean 82, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Michele, Ocean 82 and staff really appreciate your comment and we are looking for your next visit on the island....Please call us to make a reservation (0590529812 or by E-mail:ocean.82@hotmail.fr ) ,we will make sure that you have a nice sea view table.See you soon. Ocean 82.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    864
    304
    105
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Saved the BEST for last.”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

About the head home after a week of wonderful food mainly in Grand Case on the French side of St Maarten - the pros are
Great modern decor - friendly and attentive staff from the bartender - hostess and wait staff who happens to be one of the owners. The food is French with a fresh take and preparation. The view of the Caribbean is lovely as well- we had creamy rich pâté - lobster and mushroom ravioli in a chicken broth truffle- for dinner we had the fresh Turbot fish that was for two- the fish was masterfully deboned before us and delicious.
Classy not stuffy - it is now our new favorite on this charming island.
Ps I don't have any cons

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank smay222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sorry, but awful experience”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Walked out, first time EVER in Grand Case ; beautiful scenery;After 90 minutes got one of our 3 dinners incorrect, told 5 minutes to fix. When sole arrives 40 minutes later , others cold and lamb chops now past well done. Told no problem. 5 minutes. 30 minutes later, walk up to kitchen, lamb chops never ordered, other meals ice cold. IMO there many better places in Grand Case, this one won't last.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
21 Thank 877AlanC877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison Heights, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food! Wonderful View!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our party of 5 ate here for lunch. Food was outstanding....one the best meals ever! Flavor of every item ordered was delicious!! The presentation of the food was impeccable - every plate had gorgeous presentation! Esp. enjoyed the French Cheese Plate. Service was very attentive and the view of the bay was perfect. We could not have been happier with our choice of a restaurant for lunch!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LAPF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
229 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Wow!! Wow!! Wow!!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Stopped here for an afternoon drink & appetizer. Great interaction with restaurant owner and bartender. Decided to return later in the evening for dinner at a reserved table.
The special attention given us was only exceeded by the highest quality of food that we enjoyed during our week long trip to St. Martin.
Overlooking a tranquil azure lit bay, the setting was perfect.
This restaurant and it's owner and chef deserve the highest possible trip advisor rating.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean 82 also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Ocean 82? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing