We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Ocean 82

Ocean 82
Ranked #17 of 68 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
85 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

After eating at other fantastic restaurants in Grand Case we were hoping for another great dinner at Ocean 82. Unfortunately, while the service was excellent, the food was just average. I tried the mahi-mahi tartare appetizer with 3 different sauces. The sauces were ok, but everyone at the table agreed the dish would have been much better had the chef used a fish with more taste - perhaps a tuna or salmon rather then the mahi. Our friend ordered the escargot app, which seemed to be made up more of mushrooms than actual escargot.
My main dish of the lamb shank was very tasty with a wonderful brown sauce, but my wife ordered the duck which was EXTREMELY chewy/rubbery despite her ordering it prepared medium-rare. She ended up eating only 1/3 of the dish and leaving the rest. She showed our waitress how tough it was to cut and the waitress agreed. Also, make sure to stay away from the tarte tatin dessert. This authentic, traditional dessert is normally served with sliced, glazed apples or pears tastefully arranged on top of fresh puff pastry. The dessert we were served appeared as if a 3rd grader prepared it - 2 tablespoons of warmed chunky apple sauce piled on a pre-cooked wafer. Pretty shocking for 10 euros.... Our party of four agreed we will not return to this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill_Sack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    878
    307
    110
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

wonderfull location the service was pretty good. and the people were very nice,but the food itself could have been better.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank karla g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent choice in Grand Case”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Restaurants in Grand Case typically fall into two categories. Those on the ocean side of the street tend to have beautiful romantic views but also tend to serve meals that are good, but not great. Those across the street have always had the better quality meals but couldn't match the ambience of those on the water side. Finally, Ocean82 offers the best of both worlds. Located where the Fish Pot used to be, this restaurant is owned by the two brothers who own Bistro Caribes and Auberge Gourmand across the street. Given that, Ocean82 delivers the same excellent quality, delicious meals and fantastic service as those two with the added bonus of being on the water. My wife and I ate there with friends this past weekend and thought it was perfect. I am sure it will quickly become a favorite of foodies visiting Grand Case.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BruceSXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No more rum from the chef”
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Nice resturant, the food is excellent, the service is good and the ocean view is magnificent but no more rum from the chef on the way out.

Helpful?
1 Thank Vladimir2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This open on-the-water restaurant is delightful. The food was the greatest. I had duck pate stuffed with figs - an unusual combination but wonderful. Everything was superb including the service. We didn't know how to find a taxi to take us back to our cruise ship. They offered to call one for us and invited us to have a complimentary drink while we waited for the taxi.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean 82 also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Ocean 82? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing