We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun, if quirky place - very good”
Review of Le Quinze - CLOSED

Le Quinze
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Fun, if quirky place - very good”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We've eaten here four or five times. It's a very nicely put together place for a small operation. The dinning room is small but attractive and comfortable.

The menu is a nice range of traditional French and simpler fare like pizza and pasta. The pizza is very good and the pastas are really excellent - and practically the highlight for me. The pizza/pasta combo makes this a very child-friendly menu.

As for the more upscale French - some things were really good - some just average. The onion soup was enjoyable - a light version. The snails were excellent - as was some of the seafood. We found the steaks and scallops to be a little on the plain side. The only thing I would not recommend are the crepes - as when we went they used pre-made crepe. That's okay at home - but the fresh thing is so much better.

The pricing is good - definitely a value and less than other places. I think they offer the 1-1 Euro/Dollar conversion in cash as well. There is little parking in Grand Case if the main lot is full, but there is space for ONE car in back of the restaurant. Which is fine with such a small dining room:) Also, with only 24 seats or so, if you have a large party try to make a reservation. They do have a porch off the front with additional seating.

Service is 'french' but nice at the same time. They don't have quite enough staff so it can feel busy but the couple who own/run the restaurant are good-natured. The rums they make themselves are excellent:)

I've been very happily surprised to have a fun, nice place to go with kids in Grand Case. I hope they can work out a few more of the kinks - and the place would truly be a highlight. Keep up the good work.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    9
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent service with fantastic pizza and crepes”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We were very excited to have a meal at this restaurant and sat down right when they opened. We decided on several pasta dishes and one of us had the pizza. The pizza is brick oven cooked and is some of the best I've ever had - simply fantastic!! The other pasta dishes were pretty mediocre. The desserts were very good, and the dessert crepes were a big hit. Our server was excellent, charming and she even gave us some of her own homemade rum and fruit after dinner drink.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roseleif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food Reasonably Priced”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Cozy, friendly atmosphere, salads and pastas were very, very good with enough left over to back to the hotel for tomorrow's lunch. the quality of the food is excellent and the prices are quite reasonable compared to many other Grand Case restaurants.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank William496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“4 Cheese Pizza - Quite Tasty”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We ordered the 4 cheese pizza and added black olives and pepperoni. The pizza was very tasty - nice thin crust and the cheeses blended well together. The toppings, however, were very very skimpy. One piece of pepperoni (the size of a quarter) on each of 4 slices and one olive per slice. It's more expensive than the other pizza venues in Grand Case but not by a whole lot. All in all, very good, but not the best value in town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank towanda1046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We've been to Grand Case a number of times but were really amazed when a couple on the beach told us about Quinze. It's kind of tucked back and unobtrusive. But the food was wonderful. Wife had a perigourde salad that was out of this world and I had a dinner crepe like none I'd ever had before. This is a real "hidden" gem.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eisenteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Quinze also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing