We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Barbecue, classic setting”
Review of Sky's the Limit

Sky's the Limit
Ranked #20 of 68 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast
Groton, CT
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
196 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great Barbecue, classic setting”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

One of the best of the "Lolo's" , traditional open barbecue shops. Probably the best food bargain on the Boulevard.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    424
    372
    135
    34
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great local feel”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch and the food was plentiful. It was neither outstanding nor bad. I liked the atmosphere. Good after coming right from the beach

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paigekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Still a good deal”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

With the closure of next-door rival Talk of the Town, it seemed to me that Sky's has gotten perhaps a little complacent. Don't get me wrong, if you want a good cheap meal and a cold beer, this is the place to go. But the service was considerably less friendly that it was the previous times we've eaten there. But the ribs are still awesome. Hopefully, some competition in the form of the nearby Rib Shack will spark an improvement in attitude. I do believe that a TripAdvisor Traveler's Choice award is the kiss of death for Grand Case restaurants.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrDubious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Sky's the Limit disappoints”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Our expectations were low. We expected to enjoy good food in a rustic and noisy setting. Rustic and noisy we got. Food was honest at best, and the ribs and chicken were lukewarm. But it was the service that really ruined it. 2 of us were served 10 minutes before the third plate finally arrived. We had ordered rosé wine at the same time as our meals, and we had to remind them several times before we got it. When we did, it was warm! We had to return it and we drank beer instead. When we got the check, sure enough the bottle of rosé was on it! After they made the correction, we found out they didn't accept credit cards. No clear indication to that effect anywhere of course. Had to run to the ATM machine.

Bottom line: avoid this place. It's a shame to spend any money there when there are so many legitimate options around. I must say we didn't try the 3 other lolos (they're all in the same spot), but this one is supposed to be the best, so...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mon_onc_steph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We wanted to try some local flavor and went to this restaurant on a Tuesday night which is the night Grand Case has its mini carnival. So needless to say they were very busy and we had to wait a while (close to an hour) for our food. All three of us ordered ribs and two out of the three of us were disappointed. My ribs were very fatty and not alot of meat on them. My daughters ribs were much better but I guess its luck. We also ordered the Johnny Cakes but never got them. Not sure if they were overwhelmed by the crowd but we were underwhelmed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rdevaney68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sky's the Limit also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Sky's the Limit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing