We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paris? Grand Case? Le Tastevin”
Review of Le Tastevin

Le Tastevin
Ranked #14 of 68 Restaurants in Grand Case
Cuisines: Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Ouvert midi et soir tous les jours, bord de mer .Wifi
Lyman, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Paris? Grand Case? Le Tastevin”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

It seems only fitting that our first noontime meal in St. Maartens in February was at Le Tastevin in Grand Case as our first meal in Paris in September was at Le Tastevin there. In neither case was the restaurant our actual destination; each just happened to be on the way to where we were going. Each was a testament to serendipity and lack of advance planning.

As would be expected Le Tastevin was located on the beach with a beautiful view of the shore and mountains. It is open to the breezes and our server, Julian, was attentive, familiar with the menu and accurate in his recommendations. At the end of the trip, one of our travel companions whose go to meal was a Caesar salad pronounced it the best of all eaten during our time on the Island. The duck ravioli was good but not outstanding. Barb had the escargot in puff pastry. In our collective view, the best rendition of this is had at Richard’s German Restaurant in Brunswick, Maine, and Le Tastevin’s take on this did not exceed that standard but it was well above average.

I had the scallops served over a mango salsa with endive and asparagus. The scallops were seared in a perfect manner that I can never achieve no matter how hard I try. Presentation was outstanding and there was no disappointment in texture or taste.

Bring friends. Sit drink in the wine and the view. Have scallop perfection.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zeebart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    754
    289
    83
    31
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jamaicanlovers
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Best Duck on the Island!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We enjoyed our visit to Le Tastevin with another couple, who chose the restaurant. We enjoyed appetizers of salad and ceviche (the ceviche did need a little more lime for acidity). We also enjoyed lobster, grouper and duck as our entrees. My duck was exquisite. It was perfectly pared with poached pears and potatoes. Each bite was delicious. The atmosphere was lovely as well, overlooking the Caribbean. We will most definitely return to Le Tastevin on our next visit to the island!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jamaicanlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Great food and service with a fabulous water front setting.
Loved the lobster bisque and mahi special.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris80202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Food & location awesome”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We ate in Grand Case 4 times and it's actually hard to pick favorites. This was my sisters for sure. They have a beautiful view the food and service was awesome Grand Case has some of the best restaurants to choose from and I recommend this one to anyone

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank vacagirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“finest lunch all week - nicest spot overlooking the bay”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

For our January 2014 week on Saint-Martin, we ate lunch and dinner nearly every day in Grand Case if we weren't away on some excursion. Le Tastevin was hands down our best one, fine food, charming proprièteuse, wonderfully clean and colorful provençal decor. It was towards the end of the week, but if we had more time we would have returned for dinner another night.. that's our only regret! A number of places had dining areas overlooking the beach but Le Tastevin's was cleaner and more proper with more attention to detail. Other places gave a great view and the atmosphere of the bay, but were more rustic, or loud, or had servers in shorts and t-shirts, or gave us a few bug bites. Don't get us wrong .. those other simpler places were fun in their own way and we didn't regret the simpler or creole experiences there. But Le Tastevin is the clear choice for a fine lunch in a peaceful shady atmosphere with a beautiful view of the blue water, boats, and beach. It should be on your short list for dinner too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mpblee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tastevin also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Tastevin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing