We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience”
Review of Le Tastevin

Le Tastevin
Ranked #14 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ouvert midi et soir tous les jours, bord de mer .Wifi
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Great food and service with a fabulous water front setting.
Loved the lobster bisque and mahi special.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris80202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    735
    280
    79
    30
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Food & location awesome”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We ate in Grand Case 4 times and it's actually hard to pick favorites. This was my sisters for sure. They have a beautiful view the food and service was awesome Grand Case has some of the best restaurants to choose from and I recommend this one to anyone

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank vacagirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“finest lunch all week - nicest spot overlooking the bay”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

For our January 2014 week on Saint-Martin, we ate lunch and dinner nearly every day in Grand Case if we weren't away on some excursion. Le Tastevin was hands down our best one, fine food, charming proprièteuse, wonderfully clean and colorful provençal decor. It was towards the end of the week, but if we had more time we would have returned for dinner another night.. that's our only regret! A number of places had dining areas overlooking the beach but Le Tastevin's was cleaner and more proper with more attention to detail. Other places gave a great view and the atmosphere of the bay, but were more rustic, or loud, or had servers in shorts and t-shirts, or gave us a few bug bites. Don't get us wrong .. those other simpler places were fun in their own way and we didn't regret the simpler or creole experiences there. But Le Tastevin is the clear choice for a fine lunch in a peaceful shady atmosphere with a beautiful view of the blue water, boats, and beach. It should be on your short list for dinner too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mpblee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food good, service a little iffy”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Made reservations days in advance for a table by the water and got stuck behind a big pillar with an obstructed view even when other tables sat empty. Was a bit disappointed in this. The food was good but not anything revolutionary.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mickimicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
letastevinsxm, Gérant at Le Tastevin, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear customer,
we are very upset of this rewiew, we usualy take great attention to give a nice table by the seaside when the reservations are made in advance and if it seems to you that other tables were empty is probably because they are reserved for guest who have reservation later on the evening and reservation since many days too,probably before yours.
the table "stuck behind a big pillar with an obstructed view" is appreciated by many costumers who ask for it, the view is not obstructed as any table in our restaurant.
Please be comprehensive,if you d'ont get exactly the table you want...
the managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ancaster
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great again in Grand Case”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our second trip in 2 years to Grand Case and it was excellent. To all who are concerned about safety, we walked the streets and the beach by day and very late at night. We felt comfortable at all times and had no problems what so ever. For us the people are friendly, we smile and say hello and so do the locals. Our condo was very secure, but honestly, when we went beach walking or swimming or just next door to Rainbow or whatever we didn't even bother to lock the patio doors. The street door was locked, but no one bothered us at all.
We stayed this time at Ti Calypso, a condo right next door to The Rainbow. Renting was easy with SunSea. The condo is 2 bedrooms, very well laid out with a great kitchen and lots of space. We loved it. The location is fabulous for walking to everything in Grand Case. Rainbow, which we also love, can get pretty loud at night, but you just join in the party and there you go.
Restaurants abound, but two are our current favorites. Spiga has the best food, hands down. they are off the main drag, so no ocean view, but the food more than makes up for that. The Cioppino is out of this world perfect. as is the squash ravioli. Le Tastevin is also fantastic. The view is perfect, the food excellent, and the service from Nigel is second to none. He is amazing.
We spent several hours there eating, and drinking, and it was all excellently prepared and served. We left, reluctantly, long after the regular closing time. Love hotel is still great for a drop in drink and Tapas. So laid back and casual. Great music and great staff. You just love the atmosphere there. Actually all in all we just love St Martin, Grand Case in particular and look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tastevin also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Le Tastevin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing