We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great cafe au Lait and view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain Frenchy

Captain Frenchy
Ranked #22 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Beach bar and restaurant, French and Creole food. Free chairs for lunch. Wifi. Very good fresh fruits cocktails frozen or Virgin... Open 7/7 from 10am to 5pm. Night bar Thursday to sunday 5pm to 11pm or more. KARAOKE every Saturday night from 6pm.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cafe au Lait and view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

I have been here a few times. My husband and I ate a good lobster, and I really enjoyed the atmosphere. I have gone back by myself for an afternoon coffee and to watch a great sunset.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    55
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

We agree with other reviewers that the initial greeting is very friendly, the restaurant is nicely decorated (kind of upscale beachy) and in a great spot on the beach. The service is friendly but spotty, and the Tapas platter we ordered was described as having grilled and fried items, but turned out to be all fried food and not what had been promised. (The calamari were good but there were only about 5 pieces - overpowered by a LOT of fish sticks and mozzarella sticks that were pretty average/mediocre. The shrimp was pretty good, but wasn't the "tempura" shrimp that was promised, and here, too, pretty small portion. There were supposed to be chicken wings but there were none). We regret not sticking to our original plan of ordering the grilled lobster tails that we saw on someone else's plate or any creole entrees, which we also looked good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank markushu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
103 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a warm welcome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had already eaten when we asked what the cost of using the beach loungers would be? Not a problem - free if you consume something food or drink. Sandrine made us feel exceptionally special and we spent a very pleasant 2 hours there. We really didn't want to leave!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zinneke_gas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
79 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Creole at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

People talk about authentic creole food. And sometimes you need to go to the local places to find it. This isn't really one of those times since Frenchy's is situated on a great section of the beach. It certainly doesn't get the attention it deserves. Accras were the best we had. The creole seasoning was super fresh. Service was amazing, especially compared with its neighbors. Really enjoyed everything here and would go back in a heartbeat. Especially for the best mojito I ever had.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rufus100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“More staff needed for beach bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We spent an afternoon on the beach here, and then ordered off the tapas menu to share a couple for lunch. The food was good, the chairs were comfy, but it took forever to get a menu, then order, and finally get out food. Clearly their priority was the lunch crowd inside, but it was a little frustrating because we couldn't even get a drink. We had to go inside every time we wanted anything because there were so few staff serving the beach. Its a fairly new restaurant- and I think they are still figuring a few things out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Frenchy also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Captain Frenchy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing