We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of LOVE

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
LOVE
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2006

If you read the previous reviews and want to stay at the Chez Martine because of the top tier management, do not come here. In the last month there was a staff change and it was apparently a change for the worse. The owner, manager, and cook are unfriendly and frankly, creepy. Also, breakfast was not as described and only included coffee, warm juice, and bread.

The actual hotel was as decribed, basic and nice. The location is prime and the view is great. If we were to go back, we would stay on the same street, but in a different hotel. There are many newer, beautiful hotels with private balconies to choose from. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    75
    19
    10
    5
See reviews for
15
189
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2006

We stayed on the 2nd floor where we found the accomodations nice and the veiw of the bay breath taking. The restaurant was excellent as all are on Grand Case. The manager ( Mr. Richardson) was very helpful and acted upon our requests in good response time. The only negative was that the beach was very narrow and one of the scary locals had set up a squalid shanty under the restaurant terrace which kept the hotel quests away from the beach because he and his buddies were all ways in command of the hotel lounge chairs.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2006

When you book a room at this hotel, make absolutely sure that you get a room upstairs and preferably beach-side. Our room, no.1, sat on the corridor along which clients approached the hotel's restaurant. So, we didn't gey any peace until about 2 a.m. Then, being next to the main road, we had to put up with the sound of clubbers returning home with their stereo's blaring loud, as they drove along the main street, on which the hotel is situated.

Furthermore, do not choose this place if you are looking for convenient access to shops or the airport. Grand Case is really in the middle of nowhere, with very few places open during the day.

The only selling point for this place is that it sits right on the beach, and I mean RIGHT ON THE BEACH! the room's decor and bathroom were tawdry and with a distinct feeling of being not quite clean.

An eyesore during the day, Grand Case at night transforms into a myriad of beautifully lit late-opening, boutiques and restaurants. However, the prices to eat at these venues is formidable and anyhow, why on earth would you come to the carribean to eat french Cuisine?!! Luckily, there a couple of cafes on the main strip where you can get local cuisine at an inexpensive price.

All in all, if you were going to stay on St. Martin's, itself a wretched dump of a destination, you would want to stay in Grand Case. Only because it is the only place that was not overly developed in a tasteless manner for mass tourism. There again, that isn't saying much! Save your money and go to Benidorm or some other Eurotrash destination, as you'll find the same stuff there as at St. Martin's, an absolutely awful destination!

Helpful?
9 Thank easylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marengo, OH
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2005

If you are simply looking for a "base of operations", this is the hotel for you. This is not a resort, it's a small but excellent french restaurant with a 7-room hotel attached.

We stayed in the "suite" for five nights and then moved into one of the other upstairs rooms for our last night. Our first night we were frustrated by the lack of screening on the sliding glass door to the private deck (mosquitoes bit us all night, every night). We also found problems with the bathroom cabinet door (handle fell off in my hand), the closet door (wouldn't open) and the shower head (detached from wall).

However, our first morning we loved waking up to the sound of waves washing up on the beach outside our room. We ran right downstairs and straight onto the sand. The location is excellent.

Grand Case looks like a typical caribbean village (poor) until you get to the beach road (blvd du grand case). All the shopping and restaurants are here. Almost all of the restaurants are expensive, french and very good. For a more reasonably priced alternative, the lolos (especially Talk of the Town) also offer great BBQ.

The week we were here, the town was fairly uncrowded. Most of the time there were only a couple other people on the beach. The beach itself is quite long and varies in width from about five feet to 20-30', depending on the tide. The sand is nice and soft, and I collected quite a lot of beach glass. (be careful of the glass that is still a bit sharp!)

Here are some other details. Only the suite (room 7) faces the beach directly. Rooms 4,5,6 share a patio space that overlooks a sort of garden area. You can see the beach, but only if you are at the rail. Room 3 faces a dark upstairs corridor. Rooms 1 and 2 are on the first floor.

Each room has a mini-fridge, but all rooms share the same "kitchette". (see photo) The beds were rather hard, and the pillows ran the gamut from compressed down-filled to lumpy polyester. The bathrooms all had double sinks and plenty of counter space. Room 5 did not have a bathtub but the shower worked. Room 7 only had a hand held shower nozzle. The limit of the hot water is about five minutes.

Breakfast is included. You eat in the small dining room, overlooking the beach. Every morning is the same croissants (plain and chocolate), baguette, ham & cheese, orange juice, preserves and coffee. The Miami Herald is also available Mon-Saturday.

Rudy, the manager, is very amiable, however we didn't really meet him until the third day. The owner doesn't speak a word of English, but is also very friendly and helpful.

We had some trouble with our car. The battery was stolen right out of it, as it was parked in front of the hotel! The owner, despite significant language barriers, was tremendously helpful. He made dozens of phone calls for us and even drove my husband to the airport trying to find someone from the rental agency.

All in all, we did have a wonderful week. We were looking for something quiet and convenient to the beach. We didn't want lots of other people around, or noisy pool areas. We visited the Grand Case Beach Club one day and Orient Beach another day, and both areas had lots of activities but were too crowded for us.

If you are looking for a modest hotel, without frills or amenities, this is definitely your place. You won't overspend and you'll be right on the beach.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank babair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2005

My wife and I enjoyed five nights at Chez Martine in Grand Case in October, 2005. The accommodations were good, and the service outstanding. Rudy, the proprietor-manager, works very hard to make his establishment first rate. The beach is beautiful and clean in Grand Case, and the hotel is right on the beach, with a gorgeous view from the dining room and the suite, if you get it.

The restaurant is outstanding, with great food, a gorgeous view, nice wine list and good prices compared to the other bay front dinner establishments. The food is delicious, and beautifully presented. My wife said the lobster was the best she's ever had. No one will be disappointed there.

The rooms are few (only six) and nice sized, with mini-fridge, AC, and comfortable beds, though there wasn't always water as hot as you would like it (however, it felt great when we were sunburned.) There are a couple spots where the maintenance has been deferred, but management is working constantly to improve the place. Included in the cost of the room was a nice breakfast served in the dining room, overlooking the bay, composed of orange juice, croissants, bread, cheese, meat, jams, and coffee, more than enough to start a day.

It is not a luxury resort (though the restaurant is worthy of one), but it is nice, well-located, well managed and priced fairly. It is a great value in paradise! We hope to return.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeftMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, VA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2005

It was our first trip to St. Martin, staying 1 week at Divi Little Bay (Dutch side) and another week at Cottages de Lonvilliers (French side). In order to get the flight we wanted we needed to stay an extra night at the end of our trip. We read about Chez Martin form Trip Advisor and booked 1 night for $85.00.

When we arrived, Rudy greeted us and took us up to our room. He asked how many would be staying and we told him 3 including our 12 year-old daughter. Instead of a regular room, he gave us the 'suite' for the same price. Our daughter loved the bunk beds in her own separate room while we enjoyed the large master bedroom; complete with the best ocean view we have ever experienced. The room had a small refrigerator and dinner ware. (See pictures of room from Charlottsville, VA guest)

The only negative part was that it was extremely hot that day and it took until well after dark before the A/C had cooled the room off. But what do you expect on a sunny July day in St. Martin?

While Chez Martin has a restaurant downstairs we tried a different restaurant down the street that our daughter's godparents had recommended.

All in all our only real gripe is that we didn't have a few more days to fully enjoy Grand Case. You can be sure that on our next trip we won't make the same mistake.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mzznlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2005

A modest gem - perfect for a quiet get-away to St. Martin and a great base for exploring the island. The hotel's excellence is a direct result of the manager, Rudy. Although the restaurant downstairs in the money-maker, Rudy ensures his guests have an excellent and comfortable stay. No TV, phone, internet or minibar, this is a quiet and romantic spot for relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,746 reviews
4.4 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
1.3 mi away
Marquis Boutique Hotel
Marquis Boutique Hotel
#1 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
4.4 mi away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LOVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOVE

Property: LOVE
Address: 140 Boulevard de Grand Case | Saint Martin, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin (Formerly Chez Martine)
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOVE HOTEL & RESIDENCE are located on the beautiful bay of Grand Case, bordered by turquoise Carribean Sea, offering a private and luxurious experience. An ideal setting to relax on the beach and enjoy refreshing cocktails and lunch feet in the water. Families can enjoy the sound of crashing waves while children are entertained by one of the multiple beach activities. Directly on the very lively and animated Grand Case Boulevard, you will be able to enjoy the fine French cuisine at THE PETITE TABLE, situated in front of the HOTEL. You must also take some time to visit the local art galleries, boutiques, bars and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, West Indies, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your LOVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Martine Grand Case
Chez Martine Hotel Grand Case

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing