We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer”
Review of LOVE

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
LOVE
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Spotsylvania, VA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer”
Reviewed September 27, 2005

It was our first trip to St. Martin, staying 1 week at Divi Little Bay (Dutch side) and another week at Cottages de Lonvilliers (French side). In order to get the flight we wanted we needed to stay an extra night at the end of our trip. We read about Chez Martin form Trip Advisor and booked 1 night for $85.00.

When we arrived, Rudy greeted us and took us up to our room. He asked how many would be staying and we told him 3 including our 12 year-old daughter. Instead of a regular room, he gave us the 'suite' for the same price. Our daughter loved the bunk beds in her own separate room while we enjoyed the large master bedroom; complete with the best ocean view we have ever experienced. The room had a small refrigerator and dinner ware. (See pictures of room from Charlottsville, VA guest)

The only negative part was that it was extremely hot that day and it took until well after dark before the A/C had cooled the room off. But what do you expect on a sunny July day in St. Martin?

While Chez Martin has a restaurant downstairs we tried a different restaurant down the street that our daughter's godparents had recommended.

All in all our only real gripe is that we didn't have a few more days to fully enjoy Grand Case. You can be sure that on our next trip we won't make the same mistake.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mzznlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    80
    19
    10
    6
See reviews for
16
198
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Knox, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2005

A modest gem - perfect for a quiet get-away to St. Martin and a great base for exploring the island. The hotel's excellence is a direct result of the manager, Rudy. Although the restaurant downstairs in the money-maker, Rudy ensures his guests have an excellent and comfortable stay. No TV, phone, internet or minibar, this is a quiet and romantic spot for relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Garri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleborough, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2005

I booked a stay at Chez Martine looking for a seaside inn which emphasized comfort, ease and beauty. I found that and more at Chez Martine. The experience was nothing short of delightful and wonderfully restful. No demands were placed, all requirements were taken care of with discretion and warmth.

The manager, Rudy, was the star as far as pleasure and grace are concerned. He made me feel that I was a guest in a private home, with all needs looked after with kindness and respect. He also made everything so easy, even helping to tidy up some pieces on a case which I had hoped to leave behind in Boston. His staff is equally professional and kind.

A great pleasure was the absence of phones and televisions in the rooms. Ahh, peace. I was able to read nearly four books during the week and slept better than anywhere else. Also, the view from the suite bedroom is great. Brought the outside-the sweep of the bay of Grand Case-into the room. The food at the inn was also very special, a fine blend of French preparation with a unique melange of island spices. Without having planned to, I ate most of the evening meals at the restaurant at Chez Martine, and this in the "gourmet capital of the St. Martin". The food was that good!

I emphatically recommend Chez Martine for those travellers who prefer simple joys and good food.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 20, 2005

Had a really great time. Ruby the manager was very helpful throughout the stay. Food, weather, beach and room all excellent. Also used Wally Car Rental, again very helpful and great prices. Will look to go again next year for sure.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 15, 2005

I found out about Chez Martine on this website, and after reading the great reviews, I decided to book a room for my vacation to St. Martin from March 6th through the 10th, 2005.

In all of my prior trips to the island (4 previous trips), I stayed down the road at Grand Case Beach Club. I love GCBC, but from now on, I will definitely be staying at Chez Martine. The two hotels are similar, but the main differences are size and cost. As for size, I was glad to escape the feel of the big resort; additionally, I thought it was much more chic staying above a five-star restaurant. The biggest difference, though, was cost. Chez Martine cost substantially less than any other fine accomodation on the island.

But Chez Martine deserves more than a comparison to GCBC; it merits its own detailed description. Past the staircase and the hallway leading to the second-floor rooms, there's a very nice balcony which faces the rooms. The provincial French coloring and the nice view - with the mimosa trees, the small mountain and the beach all within sight - capture the what I took away as the essence of Chez Martine: the perfect upscale blend of French culture and Carribean spirit.

We got the suite, which I strongly recommend even though I would have loved any of the other rooms. The most striking aspect of the room when I first walked in was how shiny the light green, tiled floor was. We dropped our bags on the couch, and walked around the suite to see the other amenities. The bathroom was very clean, there was a small refrigerator (more than enough staying in Grand Case), a big closet, plates and every other dinner wear imaginable, an adapter for US electric appliances (there was also two US-style sockets on the wall), and everything else you'd expect to find (lamps, etc.). Chez Martine does not have everything you're probably trying to escape (TV, alarm clock, phone).

The more intangible qualities of the room were what really set Chez Martine apart in our minds. We arrived on a Sunday, and most everything was closed, so we went to the local supermarket and picked up some crackers, some cookies, and some water. We just sat out on our private balcony which offered a phenomenal sunset. Chez Martine has a good beach, so at dusk we decided to walk up and down Grand Case's beach. Coming back, we washed the sand off of our feet and lay down to relax after a full day of traveling. Since the bed is very firm and extremely soporific, and at some point I woke up and realized that we had been sleeping with all of the lights on.

Waking up every morning was wonderful. The waves on the beach seemed to crash louder in the morning, and the shades to the outside seem to block the perfect amount of light. There were competing motivations in getting up, though. As much as we wanted to stay in bed and get a little more sleep, we equally wanted to start the day with breakfast of French bread, croissants, chocolate croissants, strong coffee, a huge selection of teas, meat and cheese and then make it to the beach. We were always inclined to opt for the latter.

Coming back to Chez Martine after the beach was great. There seemed to be not even a grain of sand that we had previously tracked in, fresh towels, and a sharply made bed. It was great to shower and relax on the bed before getting ready to go out. And after a hard day at the beach, it was nice to know that going out entailed no traveling since Grand Case is the place to dine out. We simply leisurely got ready and walked downstairs to have the nicest dining in the Caribbean all within a two-minute walk.

Completely wonderful and very highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 18, 2005

we stayed 7 nights begenning february 2005 in the room #5 (upstairs)
it is a large and clear room with an extralarge bed and a fridge
there is also a private bathroom (shower and 2 lavatories)
and separate toilet - all very clean and practical
this room and 3 others have a shared large balcony
on which each room has a table and 2 seats
from where you have a view on the seaside
the access to the beach is easy and quick
the manager named RUDY is very kindly and helpful
he welcomes you courteously and take care of you with discretion
the breakfast is nice everyday (french bread, croissants, butter, several
jams, cheese and ham, home made coffee, good teas, milk, orange juice )
served in the restaurant over the beach, waves under your eyes...
we have eaten chez Martine only once (last evening) but it was great !
each course was perfect (for eyes and taste) from starters to desserts
and the price is not as high as others for a best dinner
we are very satisfied of Chez Martine and recommand Rudy to you.

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 14, 2004

My boyfriend and I spent 3 glorious nights in Chez Martine, and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice, comfortable and non-corporate hotel. While a lot of the places in St. Martin are very commercial and riddled with mega resorts, Chez Martine is beautifully understated and really charming. We initially had some problems getting our reservation because the hotel has just changed management and the contact information hadn't been updated. But I finally managed to get a hold of Rudy Richardson, the new manager, and he was incredibly accomodating. We stayed in Room #7, which is the suite the overlooks the ocean (actually, it is practically on top of the water!) thanks to Rudy, who gave us a great deal. We can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,782 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.5 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,283 reviews
5.7 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
6.2 mi away
Belmond La Samanna
Belmond La Samanna
#1 of 1 in Terres Basses
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LOVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOVE

Property: LOVE
Address: 140 Boulevard de Grand Case | Saint Martin, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin (Formerly Chez Martine)
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOVE HOTEL & RESIDENCE are located on the beautiful bay of Grand Case, bordered by turquoise Carribean Sea, offering a private and luxurious experience. An ideal setting to relax on the beach and enjoy refreshing cocktails and lunch feet in the water. Families can enjoy the sound of crashing waves while children are entertained by one of the multiple beach activities. Directly on the very lively and animated Grand Case Boulevard, you will be able to enjoy the fine French cuisine at THE PETITE TABLE, situated in front of the HOTEL. You must also take some time to visit the local art galleries, boutiques, bars and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your LOVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Martine Grand Case
Chez Martine Hotel Grand Case

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing