We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location & Price, Nasty Innkeeper”
Review of LOVE

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LOVE
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The rooms are very spacious, have air-conditioning, comfortable beds, and are kept very clean. The man who owns it is always gracious and charming but his wife seems to view the guests as her enemies, determined to cause her trouble and cost her money. She scowls and turns away when you ask something outrageous like, "Is there any chance I will have running water in my bathroom anytime today?: or, "Is there an ETA of when electricity might be restored?" I still think it's a great deal but we won't eat or drink in the hotel because we don't want to give anymore money to the b----.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor face the main corridor so it is quite noisy. Try to get a room upstairs if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 302 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

Renovated in the last couple of years the Love Hotel is a little gem on the beautiful shores of Grand Case.

Accommodation is now a lot pricier than it used to be as the Love Hotel has gone upmarket with current owners. However, the service & quality of food,& coffee in the restaurant was fantastic and the location on the beach front is even better. The photos speak for themselves!

The owners of the property are very helpful and friendly, seeming to treat the hotel as a lifestyle rather than a business. Unusually in Grand Case, the owner's wife speaks a little english. She's also disturbingly keen to hang around in the bar with the customers after a midnight swim in nothing but a very skimpy g-string but she's in good shape for someone in her mid 50's - kinda disturbing but very amusing nonetheless!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shmemley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

To honest, The Wife and I didn’t stay here, but just had drinks and lounged by the beach one afternoon. Yes, you can use their beach chairs and tables if you’re paying customers. Hell yes, they mix a mean drink.

We had a great afternoon here, and are seriously considering staying here on our next St. Martin/St. Maartin vacation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AwkwardTron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Love Hotel from June 23-June 26 of this year. This hotel is fun fun fun!! Julian and Bouba took very good care of us.The hotel sits right on the Grand Case harbor. Every night we would have wine on the beach watching the sunset. How spectacular!! Add to the wine, grilled Camembert and why would anyone want to leave. There are 7 rooms, only # 7 has ocean views from the room but 4-6 have ocean views from a large shared balcony. Our room # 4 was boutique style with basic furnishings. The bathroom was of good size with shower only. Take an electrical converter for a hair dryer.There was not a TV in the room which suited us just fine. This hotel drips with European ambiance which made the visit even more enjoyable. We would definitely go back to the Love Hotel in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms 4-7 are the best 1-3 are near the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank monami33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this cozy beachfront hotel and loved it!!!
Nice spacious clean rooms with a very comfortable bed. We had execellent breakfast with fresh baguettes, french cheese and cold cuts while lounging with our feet in the sand. Their tapas are excellent and their service is out standing.
The location right on the quiet beach is perfect and has everything you need, lounge chairs, fat boy's, benches and umbrellas + kayaks and paddle boards free of charge for hotel guests.
The personal attention of the staff was truly making us feel at home and they really made sure we had nothing left to wish for.
We can recommend this place to everybody and if we come back to St Martin we definitly go to the LOVE hotel again.

June 2012
Bob & Marianne

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marieontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Hotel Love is in a great location--right down the road from where all of the restaurants and shops are located--plus it is right on the beach! The rooms are very basic but clean. They have a cafe on the first floor which was convenient and the coffee was good (we didn't try any food). They have comfortable lounge chairs available to guests on the beach. The owners/managers did not have the best customer service. The guy was sort of friendly but the woman was aloof and not very friendly at all. They both should be more welcoming and helpful to the guests staying at their place!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetwirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We had been staying in our time share on the Dutch side and drove up to Grand Case for a day trip. Found the Hotel Love; stayed for drink on the porch and enjoyed the location so much we returned the next day and spent the night. As previous reviewers have commented, the location is unbeatable, staff friendly and helpful and rooms simple but more than adequate.....just don't expect high end resort style. We were in room 2 on the ground level (only room available) and next time we'll try room 4,5,or 6 on the second floor with balcony views of Anguilla. The afternoon tapas on the beach are not to be missed! We loved the Love.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.6 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,816 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.5 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Le Beach Hotel
Le Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Marigot
523 reviews
5.4 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.7 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LOVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOVE

Address: 140 Boulevard de Grand Case | Saint Martin, Grand Case 97150, St Martin / St Maarten (Formerly Chez Martine)
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range: $136 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOVE HOTEL & RESIDENCE are located on the beautiful bay of Grand Case, bordered by turquoise Carribean Sea, offering a private and luxurious experience. An ideal setting to relax on the beach and enjoy refreshing cocktails and lunch feet in the water. Families can enjoy the sound of crashing waves while children are entertained by one of the multiple beach activities. Directly on the very lively and animated Grand Case Boulevard, you will be able to enjoy the fine French cuisine at THE PETITE TABLE, situated in front of the HOTEL. You must also take some time to visit the local art galleries, boutiques, bars and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your LOVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Martine Grand Case
Chez Martine Hotel Grand Case

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing