We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Trip Yet”
Review of Hotel L'Esplanade

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel L'Esplanade
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2009

Once again our stay at Hotel L'Esplande in beautiful Grand Case, St. Martin exceeded our expectations. Not only is the hotel uniquely situated on a hillside with magnificent views, we found the updated room decor to be especially comfortable and elegantly done. Kristin And Marc Petrelluzzi (the owners) have a flair for the unique and extraordinary and this trip we were treated to an impromptu acoustic pool-side mini concert by well known island reggae band Orange Grove. The setting was great with complimentary food and drinks and a small but appreciative audience. What a great way to top off a truly wonderful week. The hotel is always spotless and the hillside setting is convenient to all Grand Case has to offer yet provides the feeling of a "private hideaway". Hotle L'Esplanade is a wonderful "Island Gem"

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank capeandislands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 744 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2009

this was our third visit to L'Esplanade. Its still the best. I agree with all the positive reviews and add that the warmth of the staff and owners is incredible. It feels like coming home. I suppose thats why the hotel attracts such pleasant clientele....we always meet great people while relaxing at the pool, or having lunch or a drink at the bar. This is a unique hotel,,,its not for everyone though, families with children over the age of 1 will find that there is very little to keep the kids entertained. This is a place more suited to couples, or friends travelling together seeking tranquility and a pleasant setting to meet new friends or get together with the folks they met at the hotel last year.

Any the food in Grand Case is some of the best of the Carribean, and in many cases, is better than the food that's available in some of the higher end settings in the Carribean.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank plectical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

My husband and I have stayed there in the past and really enjoyed it, although it is a walk to a beach that is not so great, and the walk to Grand Case at night to eat is dark and thus dangerous. We liked it anyway though, as we thought the rooms and service were very nice.

Extremely disappointing in this latest visit to see what appeared to be a $395/night room inflated to $592.25. While this includes the 15% tax which would be the case anyway, it also included a $140 night surcharge for my husband and 1 year old baby, who were considered "additional people" in the room and thus charged $70 each. How can a couple and a small baby sharing the same bed create $140/night in extra work for them? A 3 night stay thus rose to almost $1800, which is ridiculous for a studio. (You can get rent a villa for less than that for the same time period, which is what we did for $1280 which had a private pool and easier parking.) Unbelievable.

On a lighter note St. Martin is one of our favorite getaways from NY as it is a relatively short direct flight, and we love the ability to get around the island easily (so we definitely always rent a car). Have stayed on both dutch and french side and infinitely prefer french side, as we are only interested in beaches and food. For beach love Pinel Island the most, for both lovely sand, calm water and wonderful restaurant Karibuni (my favorite on the island period and only available for lunch- love the codfish fritters, fabulous salad followed by either lobster or fish and had with a chilled bottle of rose or white wine). More casual but fun is Orient Beach, for which we like to drive down towards the end and hang out by Kon Tiki (sp?) etc where we sunbathe and have lunch on other days.

For dinner if you go casual really like Calmos Cafe in Grand Case, where you can have your feet in the sand while eating ribs or fish (great tiger shark there the other night) and where they often have live music on weekends. For high end with water view really loved
Le Ti Provencal, also in Grand Case. For high end in more relaxed cottage porch setting recommend Ti Bouchon, which is on right hand side of road right after a mexican restaurant between Grand Case and Pinel Island (almost there so out of way but very tasty). Lots of other places too but that is my short list! (Given most of my favorites are in that area would recommend staying near Grand Case, Orient Beach or Mont Vernon.)

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank enuktnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2009

My wife and I stayed at L'Esplanade for our honeymoon, and it was absolutely the best decision we could have made.

When we arrived, the hotel had a nice bottle of champagne on ice for us, and we were able to take advantage of the dinner at the pool bar on night one after our long trip. They actually told us that they would be able to cook a special dinner for us during our stay if we wanted it, but we decided not to.

Throughout our trip, we made several trips to local markets so we could have some toast each morning as opposed to buying the expensive breakfasts. That was one drawback, but a positive was that there was a toaster, a full kitchen, and when we left our dishes in the sink each morning, they were done by the housekeeping staff upon our return.

The front desk was able to help us set up a few things that we wanted to throughout the trip including a sunset restaurant and booze cruise, and some very nice dinners in the GREAT local restaurants.

The location of the hotel was outstanding as well, as we were able to walk to great beaches, restaurants, and the quaint town area of Grand Case. With the tough driving conditions of the little town, and horrible lack of parking, we were very glad to be able to walk everywhere.

I guess the last thing I think would be good to mention was that we were treated like a king and queen. The people were great, especially the folks at the pool bar and at the front desk. They were FANTASTIC, and we are definitely going to go back so we can experience their hospitality once again.

We LOVED it, and know you will too!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bigbruce97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2009

L'Esplanade is not on the beach, but unless you're willing to die for that, this is the hotel of your dreams. The location is terrific--a five minute walk to the beaches of Grand Case and into the village with its restaurants and shops. the rooms are spotless, the owners --Kristin and Mark--ever present, and the service just outstanding. At the pool bar, Alain gives great advice, plays great music and serves wonderful drinks (he also rents cars!). this was our fifth year at Esplanade; we love it more each time we go. In the village, try La Cottage for dinner. The food is wonderful and always follow their advice for wine--great quality and good prices. This is a GREAT vacation!!!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pciny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

L'Esplanade is an absolute DELIGHT!

It is so often a struggle to find sophisticated lodging in an environment normally packed with cruise ship tourists… the French side of St. Martin’s is quieter, classier, more natural, and hosts small luxury hotels like L’Esplanade. The town of Grande Case is intimate and chock full of world-class restaurants in addition to the beachside rib places (the “lolos”). L'Esplanade in its white stucco and blue tiled glory sets just a 3 minute walk up a very slight (and lovely, well-lighted) hill from the end of Grand Case’s main thoroughfare (a perfect evening stroll down to eat and back). This setting allows for the sensation of complete privacy while at the same time feeling close (enough) to all the activity. Even at the hotel pool (with a full hotel) we felt there was barely another soul at the place.

Kristin (GM and co-owner), Myriam and all the staff were exceptionally helpful and kind with any and every request. The rooms were classy, large, tastefully decorated and comfortable (the bathrooms stocked with top of the line eco-friendly toiletries), the kitchenettes complete with pots, pans, and all the accoutrements needed (IF you needed) - AND all had amazing views of the bay (with terraces surrounded by fuchsia bougainvillea and humming birds). We travel the world and like to find the charming, elegant OFF-the-main-tourist-strip kind of places - the ones that are in "a class above".

L’Esplanade is truly a gem. We would never stay anywhere else on St. Martin.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RQP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

My husband and I were extremely disappointed with St. Martin and the Hotel L'Esplanade. We thought that since it was a short walk to the beach and dining that it would be a great way to spend a vacation. The beach at the base of the hotel is just OK and you are at risk walking the path to Grand Case at night. Difficult to get a taxi as well. We felt uncomfortable spending as much money as we did staying there and seeing a guard protecting the parking lot from theft. St Martin charm is gone and the hotel amemities not worth the price. Puerto Rico, Barbados, & St. John's are much nicer islands.

Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
6  Thank shamrockgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.2 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,817 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.6 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
404 reviews
5.9 mi away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Esplanade

Address: On the Hill of Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range: $245 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel L'Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid lush tropical gardens, affording its visitors privacy without sacrificing its panoramic ocean views. Spacious interiors blend harmoniously with the Mediterranean architecture. Magical sunsets come to you on your private terrace to touch your soul. A delightful footpath leads you on a journey of discovery. We invite you to find your own rhythm, knowing that our staff is there to ensure that your every day is a perfect day, knowing that your comfort is our excellence and with us, you are home. For those who appreciate privacy, enjoy an uncrowded atmosphere, gracious hospitality and seek relaxation in exclusive, blissful surroundings...Welcome to Hotel L'Esplanade. Introducing our new Ti Spa for all of your beauty and relaxation needs! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel l Esplanade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing