We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand view of Grand Case”
Review of Hotel L'Esplanade

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel L'Esplanade
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have stayed at L'Esplanade for the past four years because we feel it's the perfect spot from which to enjoy St Martin. The hotel overlooks Grand Case and it's a short walk down the hill to some of the finest restaurants on the island. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped. For lounging around on days you don't feel like going to the beach they have a lovely secluded pool. The owners and staff have obvious pride in the hotel because it is always spotless. I love the flower petals placed on tables and countertops when you first arrive! We have stayed at other hotels on previous trips but now when we leave we always book our next visit at L'Esplanade.

Room Tip: The oversized lofts are fantastic.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaribKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
There are newer reviews for Hotel L'Esplanade
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 742 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014

Every single thing at this hotel was perfect. The setting, the room, the reception area and the pool were all just beautiful. The service was excellent and not intrusive. The attention to detail was phenomenal. It was low-key, but attentative. They put free starter groceries in the fridge and they had fresh lemon and cucumber infused cold water and juice on site for all at all times, as well as red, white and rose wine for guests each night. On the Wednesday night, they had a cocktail party with live music, an open bar and delicious appetizers. Each room had a copy of a wildlife reference book and the author was at the party, signing books if you wanted one. We truly could not have had a better time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

10 years ago i went to St. Martin and we stayed in a large loft in this hotel; fast forward 10 years and we are back, this time in the regular rooms ( suites ). So when I say room I mean suite. One enters the room, there is a full kitchen,welcoming snacks, fresh cold bottled water etc in the Fridge. You walk down a hall and the room opens up to a Large space with a large King size bed, TV/DVD but best of all the a wonderful baslcony overloooking the Grand Case
The hotel is on a hill which makes it more attractive as it is a bit cooler than on the main drag and as one takes a short walk down the path to " restaurant row " one is engulfed in palms, ferns, bouganvilla absolutely gorgeous
Pros: Probably the nicest place to stay in Grand Case. The grounds are groomed imaculately
Small yet still has a pool and a wonderful bartender Alain who will keep you company if you want or allow one to chill
Clean clean clean. This was one aspect I was really proud to give feedback- the rooms were spotless and all the staff were friendly
We had already planned the dinners but the management is very accomodating and will help out if you need
Essentially one can spend a whole week in a 2 square mile radius have All the comforts of home Plus Real French Food and sun etc.............
Airconditioning!
CONS:
Of course one has to pay for all this luxury but interestingly I compared prices at a similar hotel ( larger ) in Key West and it was more expensive.
Shower head in our room 117 needs replacement
Soft mattress so just an FYI

All in all it was a Perfect week in a Wonderful villa with friendly staff and great food each night. And after wine and dinner you can Walk home Not Drive!!


A big Thanks to Nathalie and her colleagues for making our stay with our friends Fabulous!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AtlantaBender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed at the L'Esplanade on our 25th wedding anniversary vacation.
The great service started with the online booking. The staff communicated with me very well. They assisted with my car rental and someone was waiting at the airport to transport my wife and I to the hotel as promised.
On arrival we were greeted with a bottle of champagne in our room and congratulations on our 25th wedding anniversary.
The accommodations and view were wonderful. The location is perfect to use as a starting point to explore the island, its beaches, and tourist areas, and then return back for a short walk to some of the best restaurants in the Caribbean.
The hotel staff was excellent at arranging dinner reservations and tour reservations for us.
They had a nice complimentary hors d’oeuvres and drink evening at the pool with entertainment one evening while we were there.
It would be nice if they replenished the coffee in the room daily.
Tip, if you are renting a car rent the smallest one available. The streets are narrow and parking spots very small. We were pleased our rental was small enough to put in the back of the Tundra we drive at home.

Room Tip: Room 3 was nice. It is a loft with a nice view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

L'Esplanade is charming, quiet, peaceful, comfortable, convenient, and a home away from home. I just got back from 4-night stay over Valentine's Day weekend with my wife (my third stay in 7 years). I love everything about this hotel and I love Grand Case. The service is spot on and casual, especially Natalie. So take your wife, husband, lover, partner and go to the French side of Saint Martin and chill out.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Chillmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

My husband took a long time to research where to stay for easy access to French cuisine and a top quality hotel with high ratings. We celebrated 25 years of marriage at this hotel and it was delightful. We stayed in a loft room. Service was wonderful- although they failed to mention that the Beach Club restaurant will give you a discount if you tell them you're staying at l'Esplanade. We went from there to Viceroy in Anguilla, where the price was high but the service and quality and ambience nothing like what we enjoyed at l'Esplanade. Only other complaint is that the upper balcony in our room had a lovely view but if you sat in the lounge chair you would be staring at a solid wall. Lower deck had a nice view, although it was pretty close to your neighbours so not very private. They didn't refill your coffee supply every day so if you want that first morning cup, bring some of your own or order it with room service.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Love this hotel and location! Breathtaking view of St.Martin's beautiful Gran Case.
Owners Marc & Kristin were really nice and very helpful. It's been two weeks and I miss it so much already. Busy planning our next trip!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.2 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,815 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Belmond La Samanna
Belmond La Samanna
#1 of 1 in Terres Basses
1,143 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Esplanade

Address: On the Hill of Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range: $245 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel L'Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid lush tropical gardens, affording its visitors privacy without sacrificing its panoramic ocean views. Spacious interiors blend harmoniously with the Mediterranean architecture. Magical sunsets come to you on your private terrace to touch your soul. A delightful footpath leads you on a journey of discovery. We invite you to find your own rhythm, knowing that our staff is there to ensure that your every day is a perfect day, knowing that your comfort is our excellence and with us, you are home. For those who appreciate privacy, enjoy an uncrowded atmosphere, gracious hospitality and seek relaxation in exclusive, blissful surroundings...Welcome to Hotel L'Esplanade. Introducing our new Ti Spa for all of your beauty and relaxation needs! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel l Esplanade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing