We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WILL RETURN….MAYBE” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel L'Esplanade

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel L'Esplanade
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
656 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
“WILL RETURN….MAYBE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Perched above the Caribbean’s restaurant row, with a beautiful view of the bay, L’Esplanade has much to offer. The rooms are big and airy, the staff attentive and helpful and the property meticulously maintained. I was surprised then I was told it is 20 years old. I thought it was new, on a few years old, as we were there last year.

A limited lunch can be had at the quiet pool bar is and the burgers, fries and hotdogs are cooked to order by friendly barman. Breakfast options are limited but between the baquet provided and espressos or coffee and tea and a full kitchen in many units, not to mention Grand Case an easy walk below (the walk back though is a little tough but you have a full stomach) the lack of an on site full-breakfast does not bother me.

What does bother me is the lack of security on St Martin. In passed years the area tried to handle muggings and robberies by stationing enough men in black T-shirts marked “Security” and I felt safe. (The Island should have handled their poverty and unemployment problem with more money spent on education and job training, not police) This year no. One of our party was mugged, but at 2 in the morning after a few drinks even Times Square can be rough. What bothered me was as our car battery died so we left our car in the main parking lot over night to and someone having tried to steal it, cutting the ignition cable in the process. Maybe a place insecure for man or propert is insecure for our future visit.

Balanced view; I like the low key but comfortable L’ Esplanade. I like all the good restaurants in Grand Case, so I have to relate the security issues and remember Jamaica, Antigua and St Thomas have security issues too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank venamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    85
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
67
460
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this charming hotel in Grand Case for one night, on a layover between Anguilla and Miami. The hotel is charming and the town of Grand Case is filled with great restaurants. I was most impressed with the friendly and attentive service, across the board. We got the feeling like we were being "taken care of" in someone's home. I was particularly impressed by the gregarious bartender at the pool (forgot his name).

I'm not sure we'll go back to Grand Case as we're not really into the whole "culinary" thing (which is what the town is known for). But if we did, we'd certainly stay at Hotel L'Esplanade

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelfam201126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at Hotel L'Esplanade for two nights before sailing on a cruise. It's not really enough time to explore this part of the island, but it was a fabulous start to our vacation.

This hotel could probably earn five stars without trying too hard. After all, the hotel is charming, well-maintained, has an awesome view and is located in a beautiful setting. What we really liked, though, were all the details: cucumber-infused water, a single-serve coffee maker, and a basket of cookies in the lobby; relaxing music, fresh baguette and bottled water in the room; rose petals in the bathroom. The staff was also very friendly and seemed genuinely happy to help us. Alan, the bartender, was our favorite. If St. Martin is the "Friendly Island," then this guy is the poster boy. And he makes killer drinks!

We had a room on the lower level (deluxe studio) and were perfectly happy with the size, location, furnishings and view. The kitchenette seemed to be fully stocked, but we didn't use it. There were strange ticking sounds that woke us up the first night. They sounded like they were coming from the AC unit, but we never figured out the source. I put my earplugs in and was able to get back to sleep.

We ordered different "bakery" items off their breakfast menu, but weren't really crazy about any of them, not even the croissants. The little quiches were OK, but not great. But at least the coffee was good and as long as I have good coffee, I'm happy. If you're not a big breakfast person, you'd probably be satisfied with the baguette.

The setting at the pool is lovely and secluded, but the pool itself is small. It didn't really matter, though, because we spent most of our time at the beach down the street, just past Sunset Cafe. It's not the prettiest beach, but there was hardly anyone there when we went so it felt like a private beach.

Some reviewers complained of the noise from the regional airport near the hotel but it was so minor it didn't bother us at all. (The planes are small so they don't make a lot of noise.)

Since we had just two days here, we didn't bother renting a car. Instead we took a taxi to and from the international airport and paid US$40 for four people. As far as I could tell, all taxis on the island are vans so there was plenty of room for the four of us and all our luggage. FYI: The traffic can be painfully slow, so give yourself plenty of time to get back to the airport.

We enjoyed several wonderful meals at the restaurants in Grand Case. Our number one choice was Le Pressoir.

Room Tip: I think this is one of those places where all the rooms are good. We were on the lower level and nev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MexiLocos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
189 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

A pretty hotel in the hills of Grand Case with access to wonderful restaurants and a small beach. The pool is lovely and rooms are well equipped. The oversized loft is spacious and bathroom beautiful. Linens are good quality but the mattress was too soft for us. Also a disappointing continental breakfast given there is a fantastic bakery (Le Moulin Boulangerie) on the main road, so we walked down every morning for freshly baked croissants/pain au chocolat. One other small criticism - our bags were brought to the room but were left on the lower level which meant we still had to lug them up steep stairs to the bedroom. Overall a nice stay and we would go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MVFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here in December and found that this place deserves its number 1 ranking. The location is great - on the hill with a pretty lighted path down into restaurant row, and the view over the bay from the rooms is stunning. What we loved was that it felt so peaceful and uncrowded even though the hotel was full. The only point we might make that could have been different was that the view from the pool was not quite as impressive as from most other parts of the hotel (as the pool is surrounded by fence and foliage). But this is the only place we will ever go back to stay in when we're in St. Martin again. We look forward to Allen's drinks when we return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I just spent six nights at L'Esplanade. We wish we could have stayed longer. The facility is very clean and well run. The great deal of thought was obviously put into the design of the structure. There are many fine architectural details. All of the rooms have good views of the Grand Case bay. The bar serves good food and great drinks. The overall experience was one of most relaxing vacations we have had. The is fine food to be had at all price ranges in Grand Case which is reached by a 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: We had one of the smaller rooms and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Randy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Wow! What a treat! Beautiful and impressive accommodations -- large, spacious quarters with a full kitchen, living room, and dining area, bedroom upstairs, and two bathrooms, one upstairs and a half bath downstairs. Very pretty dark wood beams throughout the unit. Perfectly calming Caribbean decor. When you enter the unit, there is already wonderful music playing -- it's the perfect oasis. Quiet and peaceful inside. And, it was spotless. There was a baguette and lots of bottled water waiting for us. They owners have thought of everything. This is truly a find!! The pool and grounds are beautiful. The room had a gorgeous ocean view. You'll want to spend a lot of time in the room because it is so very lovely! The hotel is walking distance to an array of wonderful restaurants we loved. As for the beach, we preferred those of Anse Marcel and Baie Orientale. But, those areas lack all the fantastic restaurants of Grand Case. As a note, in the off-season some places close for renovations, so check in advance to be sure that where you want to go is, in fact, open for business. Also, through the hotel, we hired a taxi to give us a tour of the island -- this was an excellent idea because we got to see so much we would have not otherwise seen. The driver was incredibly knowledgable and kind, stopping along with way, and gave us a tremendously fun tour!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parisio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.2 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,732 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.6 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.5 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Esplanade

Property: Hotel L'Esplanade
Address: On the Hill of Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel L'Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid lush tropical gardens, affording its visitors privacy without sacrificing its panoramic ocean views. Spacious interiors blend harmoniously with the Mediterranean architecture. Magical sunsets come to you on your private terrace to touch your soul. A delightful footpath leads you on a journey of discovery. We invite you to find your own rhythm, knowing that our staff is there to ensure that your every day is a perfect day, knowing that your comfort is our excellence and with us, you are home. For those who appreciate privacy, enjoy an uncrowded atmosphere, gracious hospitality and seek relaxation in exclusive, blissful surroundings...Welcome to Hotel L'Esplanade. Introducing our new Ti Spa for all of your beauty and relaxation needs! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel l Esplanade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing