We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Honeymoon Destination!”
Review of Hotel L'Esplanade

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel L'Esplanade
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

L'Esplanade was the second stop on our honeymoon, and it was a fabulous spot for us. It was a beautiful room, and had a full-size refrigerator, sink and stove with plenty of dishes and pots and pans to cook some simple breakfasts with. A bottle of delicious champagne along with some snacks and coffee were there waiting for us when we arrived.

The hotel was very quiet - we were there in early June 2012. We only saw a few other guests while we were there, and usually had the pool to ourselves. Walking to the restaurants in Grand Case was a 10 minute, easy walk, and we did that most evenings even though we had a car. The food was comparable to what we can find in San Francisco - that is to say fabulous. There are very expensive options and cheaper ones available, based on what you feel like for the night. There is a little beach up the road, but you will have to drive to other beaches.

L'Esplanade also helped us arrange for a car rental - the guy picked us up from the airport, and drove us to the airport, and was punctual and very friendly.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at L'Esplanade and would definitely come back if we wanted to stay in St. Martin again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
There are newer reviews for Hotel L'Esplanade
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 743 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Okay, we were supposed to visit in July but had to postpone at the last minute. We just got back Monday and had an amazing time. Here are my thoughts from an American perspective:

Do’s and don’ts for your trip to Saint Martin:

Don’t cheap out…spend some money and enjoy.
Do Stay at Hotel L’Esplanade. You will not regret it. Everything good you have heard about this place is true…cannot say enough about it.
Do get up every morning and buy a baguette for breakfast and enjoy on your patio overlooking the bay.
Do rent a car. Cannot enjoy all the beaches w/o it.
Do buy the book “Secrets of Saint Maarten/Martin”. Mostly to help you decide which beach to visit that day and more importantly, how to get there. Some of them are hard to find but once found they are worth it.
Don’t bring socks…you won’t need them
Don’t bring long pants…you won’t need them
Do bring one of those speedo type swim suits…you still won’t look French but you will fit in better
Then again, Don’t worry about how you look…no one cares…they are French!
Do eat at a different restaurant in Grand Case every night. Words cannot explain how good the food and experience is.
Do eat at a restaurant for locals (called LoLos). Experience the culture!
Do buy a beach umbrella. We got one for $20 euros, used it on the beach every day and carried it on the plane on the way home. Finding shade on the beach is a must and not always easy to do.
Do walk down the path to town from L’esplanade every night. It is very romantic.
Do take a day off from the beach and check out Loterie Farms. The whole setting is very cool…pool, zip lines, trails, tree top restaurant. Not sure where else you would experience something like this anywhere in the world.
If you are an American, Do try to be cool about the lack of swim suits on some people…if you are not American you already are cool about that…
Beaches with the least amount of people:
Happy Bay (You have to walk there over a hillside through the woods for about 10 minutes). Bring that umbrella…rent a couple chairs from Danny.
Friar’s Bay – Start here then walk to Happy. Both are sweet.
Bay Rouge – Big waves while we were here. Bring a board. Rent some chairs and have some lolos food
Plum Bay – Fun ride to get here and worth it
Bay Lounge – Near Plum…watch for rich and famous types
Petite Plage – Walk here from L’esplanade at sunset. Watch sunset. Repeat every night.
Beaches with more people:
Orient Bay – I think this is the tourist capital of the island. Great place if you like a lot of action
Anse Marcel – Upscale, beautiful…great if you want to have the cabana boy/girl bring you Mojito’s all day
Mullet Bay – Rocking people and waves. Young crowd possibly due to a med school nearby
Pinel Island – Take the ferry out there (5 minutes). Hike all the way around the island. Enjoy.

If only we could get there without flying commercial…really the only bad part of this entire experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the same amazing view you see on their site.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
45  Thank TBSportPix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

my wife and i went for our 7th anniversay and it was just wonderful

great location beautiful grounds gorgeous rooms
and super helpful friendly staff

walking distance to some great restaurants and all the local "lolo's"
where you can great food for cheap

the owners of this hotel really care and it shows


cannot wait to go back

Room Tip: all the rooms in this hotel are excellent you can;t go wrong
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mike g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I returned a week ago from a one week stay at Hotel L'Esplanade and am so wishing I was still there. I am a bit picky with most things especially restaurants and hotels, so it is always such a pleasure to visit L'Esplanade because I never have a single complaint. My family and I have stayed there 5 times over the last 8 years and it is consistently fantastic. The rooms are stylishly decorated with high quality furniture that has a modern yet cozy feel. The furnishings are not "standard Hotel" style which is very refreshing. There is always everything you need and expect when you arrive, so often(in other hotels) I have to call the front desk 15 minutes after arrival because an essential element in the room is missing or not working, that is never the case here. They always have the little extras; excellent shampoos/conditioner/lotion, there is water in the fridge, the kitchen/kitchenette always has everything you need, there is good coffee and some snacks waiting. We now know that we will have everything we need and expect and that is such a good feeling when you arrive after often a long travel time.

The location is also so beautiful with so many flowering plants on the grounds that are so obviously cared for meticulously. Their pool area is so beautiful and welcoming for both adults and children. It is really difficult to express how comfortable and personal the experience is there compared to most hotels.

Lastly the staff and the maids are awesome, so friendly and helpful and I have never had any attitude no matter what the request!

Room Tip: They have different size rooms but the one bedrooms are what we get, a couple with two children.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 1CHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

To enjoy your paradise getaway, L'esplanade will not only spoil, comfort and guide you through any trip you would like to plan on your island stay. I found they are very helpful with either for a drop in vacation for local activities. Or on a longer stay to pop from island to island, this is your place! Private, close to beaches and shopping. Strategically located to enjoy every part of the island with a "at home" feeling when you return to your room. I would highly recommend this location or Le Petite which is a sister esablishment. Great thanks to everyone at L'esplanade for your gracious accomidations.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charmin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I thought St Martin would be nothing but beaches. I was very mistaken. There is something for everyone here! Zip-line, hiking, beaches, FOOD...yes, I'm a foodie. And this was an excellent destination for my palate!

And this hotel is fabulous! Every detail perfect, the rooms elegantly casual and immaculate. All of the rooms have ocean view balconies. The suite in which we stayed was extremely comfortable and secure. Hotel L'Esplanade's architecture is a lovely melding of Italian and Spanish styles. The atmosphere and service are above what you would expect in the Caribbean. I am so glad we found this gem! Thank you all at L'Esplanade for a great week!

Room Tip: As far as I could tell, all of the room are good!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Makara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at the L’Esplanade in St. Martin (French side) from August 1-5, 2012. We also stayed at the Sonesta Maho Resort & Casino in St. Maarten (Dutch side) from July 27 to August 1, so also see that review.
L’Esplanade is located on a hill overlooking Grand Case on the ocean. It is a lovely, very quiet, small resort and all rooms overlook the ocean a short distance away. There is free internet, and satellite dish TV. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious with a large patio. The patio door also had a screen door, so in the early morning hours we could enjoy the fresh breeze. There is also a nice, private pool area that is relaxing.
To avoid having to drive down to Grand Case or walk along the roadside to get there, they have built a private walkway down to the edge of town. We took this each night when we went down to Grand case to eat.
Grand Case has a very long, nice beach, and the ocean was always calm. Grand case is full of various restaurants for lunch and dinner, but we only saw a few that served breakfast. No meals are served at L’Esplanade, but coffee is available all day long in the reception area. Coffee, Danish’s, etc. are available for breakfast, but you must turn in a form the previous evening to have them delivered to your room in the morning.
If you are looking for a quiet getaway, with great rooms and wonderful, relaxing views, I would highly recommend the L’Esplanade.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MB_and_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.2 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,815 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Belmond La Samanna
Belmond La Samanna
#1 of 1 in Terres Basses
1,143 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Esplanade

Address: On the Hill of Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range: $245 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel L'Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid lush tropical gardens, affording its visitors privacy without sacrificing its panoramic ocean views. Spacious interiors blend harmoniously with the Mediterranean architecture. Magical sunsets come to you on your private terrace to touch your soul. A delightful footpath leads you on a journey of discovery. We invite you to find your own rhythm, knowing that our staff is there to ensure that your every day is a perfect day, knowing that your comfort is our excellence and with us, you are home. For those who appreciate privacy, enjoy an uncrowded atmosphere, gracious hospitality and seek relaxation in exclusive, blissful surroundings...Welcome to Hotel L'Esplanade. Introducing our new Ti Spa for all of your beauty and relaxation needs! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel l Esplanade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing