We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Just what we wanted!”
Review of Hotel L'Esplanade

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel L'Esplanade
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2011

My wife and I had been in Simpson Bay for 8 nights and had plannned to spend the last 3 night (celebrating our anniversary) at L'Esplanade.

We arrived early on Saturday. Our room (#9, the standard loft suite) wasn't ready as the checkout time is 12 noon. We did get to "register" and they held our bags so we could go and tour the area (Marigot). They also made reservations for dinner for our three nights (Sol-e-Luna, LaTastevin and LeCottage) (all were great) Arrived back in time to have lunch at the pool. Alan makes a great drink and the cheeseburger was very good!

Around 2 we went back to reception and were able to get into our room. Someone from reception showed us our room and answered any questions we might have.

Our room was spotless. A nice welcome basket along with a complementary bottle of water. We relaxed for the afternoon, and took showers before departing for dinner at Sol-e-Luna. The only complaint we could come up with was there was no fan in the bathroom to remove the excess steam from the shower.

Day 2 (our anniversary) I arranged for the delivery of breakfast to the room @ 8:30. Arrived on time and was very good! We then spent the rest of the day at Orient Beach at Palm Beach. Nice chairs (free if you purchase lunch), not crowded, very cloudy and quite a bit of seaweed on the beach. Drinks were good but my chicken sandwich was very dry. Arrived back at L'Esplanade around 4 and the complimentary champagne was delivered as promised at 4:30. Walked to dinner in Grand Case. Felt very safe on the grounds and on the road into the town. Dinner at LaTavestin was great.

Day 3 started out with Breakfast at Grand Case Beach Club Sunset Cafe. Really good, and they gave a 15% discount because we were from L'Esplanade. Had wanted to take a water taxi to Happy Bay but I didn't make arrangements in time. Drove to Friers Bay for the day. Left around 3 and went back to L'Esplanade were we sat by the pool and had another of Alan's great concoctations. Got ready for dinner and had the best dinner of our stay at LeCottage in Grand Case.

Day 4, the end!. Went back to Sunset Cafe for breakfast. Back to the pool from 9 to 11 and then we went back to the room to shower and pack. Checked out by noon and back to the pool for one last drink.

Basically, our comments:
Great boutique hotel, clean, grounds great and safe. If you wanted something they were there to help, but not in your face. Convenient to the Grand Case fantastic restaurants (they have a book of all the menus!). Internet machine at receiption and the wireless in the room worked well. They have a DVD selection to borrow but we never did. TV reception and choice of channells (about 120) was good. Comfortable beds, nice linen and great view. In short, we had a fantastic time!

Room Tip: The loft rooms seem to be higher up and a slightly beter view. There was no one above us!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 744 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2011

L'Esplanade is the ultimate in customer service. Kristen and her staff go above and beyond to make each and every stay the best. From the well furnished/decorated and spotless rooms to the beautiful, well maintained grounds, to the exceptionally friendly and helpful staff, you won't find a better place in St. Martin. It's why we try to come back every year.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank love2travel0226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We booked the Hotel L'Esplanade after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, and for the main part, they are all very accurate.

Lets get this clear, this is not your standard hotel, it is in fact more of a self-catering apartment more than anything else.

After flying in from New York, we picked up one of the taxis outside St Maarten airport. It is all very straightforward, the staff at the curbside, find out where you are going and then claim a cab for you and tell you the cost.

The journey took about 40-50 minutes or so, through the Dutch side of the island and then to the less populated French side.

Upon arrival at reception we looked around and there was no-one about, suddenly from down below a friendly receptionist appeared and proceeded to book us in. As is often the norm when you arrive before the check-in time, the room wasn't ready, but we helped ourselves to cold drinks whilst waiting the ten minutes or so.

A couple of phone calls later and our room was ready, we were escorted by the same receptionist to our room/suite/studio, it could be called all three to be honest.

It was huge, a nice spacious bedroom, large dining table, large bathroom and a well equipped Kitchen. We were advised that we were welcome to come and go as we pleased, but if we required breakfast or any food making then they would be able to assist as and when required. Suffice to say we didn't need them.

The views across Grand Case Bay were stunning, we could see across to Anguilla also. The only down side was a lack of cover on the balcony. Oh and the fact that there was one lounger and two chairs, as opposed to two of each.

The hotel is well situated for restaurants, just a quick walk through the well appointed gardens take you to restaurant row - the main road that runs through GC. The restaurants there cater for all tastes and pockets, something for everyone.

On our arrival we enquired about the hypermarket that we'd seen mentioned. Receptionist and security guard both said it wasn't far to walk. Trust me, after 45 minutes in hot hot heat it was as far as we could manage. Then we had to walk back with well-stocked bags! We only did that the once, instead we went to the cash and carry supermarket that is located at the roundabout at the end of Restaurant Row by the chemist that has the cash machine.

We loved our stay in St Maarten, the hotel was unassuming and we were left to get on with holiday without any hassle, they arranged for taxis and airport transfers when we were required but aside from that we rarely bothered anyone.

The French side of St Maarten isn't busy by any stretch of imagination, certainly not at the beginning of June, but it was a nice place to relax after a hectic time in NYC

Room Tip: Try to go to the supermarket on your way from the airport so that you can stock up when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank groobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

After a period of 28 years we decided to visit the island where my wife grew up, a place filled with many happy and careless childhood memories. The sad discovery that butterflies don't fly here anymore the way they used to way back when was well compensated by our stay in this beautiful, private and romantic Hotel!!!
The staff will be totally invisible if you don't need them and miraculously be there for you on the spot if you even might think you have a question... just perfect for a romantic stay.
Like their website promises, this must be one of the best spots on the island to watch a magnificent sunset at the end of another intensive 'back to your roots'-day on lovely St Maarten.

Room Tip: The Place for good sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntonCarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My husband I stayed here for the first half of our honeymoon. We loved the quaintness of the hotel. We, unfortunately, experienced lots of rain on our trip to St. Martin. The weather left us with limited activities to do in St Martin & Grand Case. All though we enjoyed Hotel L'Esplanade, we did not care for Grand Case and probably will not return.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shell3879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I attended my nieces wedding in St. Maarten's and extended the stay for a week for vacation. I selected L'Esplanade after reading the trip advisor reviews and I was not disappointed. Clean, Cozy, comfortable. A great place to stay. Walking distance to all the fine dining in Grande Case. Superior accomodations.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
2  Thank bartpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Hotel L'Esplanade a well kept hidden gem on a hillside in Grand Case was just what we needed for our spring trip from hectic NYC. We arrived with high expectations and they were met. The service the hotel provided was top notch and the suite and hotel facilities that we enjoyed were beautiful. We were there for just under a week and explored all that Grand Case and St. Maarten had to offer - with some helpful guidance from the staff at L'Esplanade.

Our suite was wonderful, big and always smelled good and the welcome basket was a nice touch. We did have one issue but we were pleased with the way the hotel handled it. Our air conditioning unit went out on us one night and though Marc tried his best to fix it it wouldn't come back to life. Kristin and Marc did their best to make us comfortable, flooding the suite with fans and offering to put us up at one of their other properties for the night until they could get the AC fixed the next morning. Although we didn't take them up on their offer to move they did all they did to make us comfortable including delivering a bottle of champagne to the room the next evening. Their level of service was on par with all the major resorts we've ever stayed at. By the way the food at the pool is pretty good and we are bummed we waited until our last day to check it out.

We highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to make a return visit!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank beachtravelerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.2 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,817 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.6 mi away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
404 reviews
6.7 mi away
Belmond La Samanna
Belmond La Samanna
#1 of 1 in Terres Basses
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Esplanade

Address: On the Hill of Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range: $245 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel L'Esplanade 4.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid lush tropical gardens, affording its visitors privacy without sacrificing its panoramic ocean views. Spacious interiors blend harmoniously with the Mediterranean architecture. Magical sunsets come to you on your private terrace to touch your soul. A delightful footpath leads you on a journey of discovery. We invite you to find your own rhythm, knowing that our staff is there to ensure that your every day is a perfect day, knowing that your comfort is our excellence and with us, you are home. For those who appreciate privacy, enjoy an uncrowded atmosphere, gracious hospitality and seek relaxation in exclusive, blissful surroundings...Welcome to Hotel L'Esplanade. Introducing our new Ti Spa for all of your beauty and relaxation needs! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel l Esplanade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing