We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your conventional hotel”
Review of Hotel L'Esplanade

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel L'Esplanade
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Nw England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not your conventional hotel”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We booked the Hotel L'Esplanade after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor, and for the main part, they are all very accurate.

Lets get this clear, this is not your standard hotel, it is in fact more of a self-catering apartment more than anything else.

After flying in from New York, we picked up one of the taxis outside St Maarten airport. It is all very straightforward, the staff at the curbside, find out where you are going and then claim a cab for you and tell you the cost.

The journey took about 40-50 minutes or so, through the Dutch side of the island and then to the less populated French side.

Upon arrival at reception we looked around and there was no-one about, suddenly from down below a friendly receptionist appeared and proceeded to book us in. As is often the norm when you arrive before the check-in time, the room wasn't ready, but we helped ourselves to cold drinks whilst waiting the ten minutes or so.

A couple of phone calls later and our room was ready, we were escorted by the same receptionist to our room/suite/studio, it could be called all three to be honest.

It was huge, a nice spacious bedroom, large dining table, large bathroom and a well equipped Kitchen. We were advised that we were welcome to come and go as we pleased, but if we required breakfast or any food making then they would be able to assist as and when required. Suffice to say we didn't need them.

The views across Grand Case Bay were stunning, we could see across to Anguilla also. The only down side was a lack of cover on the balcony. Oh and the fact that there was one lounger and two chairs, as opposed to two of each.

The hotel is well situated for restaurants, just a quick walk through the well appointed gardens take you to restaurant row - the main road that runs through GC. The restaurants there cater for all tastes and pockets, something for everyone.

On our arrival we enquired about the hypermarket that we'd seen mentioned. Receptionist and security guard both said it wasn't far to walk. Trust me, after 45 minutes in hot hot heat it was as far as we could manage. Then we had to walk back with well-stocked bags! We only did that the once, instead we went to the cash and carry supermarket that is located at the roundabout at the end of Restaurant Row by the chemist that has the cash machine.

We loved our stay in St Maarten, the hotel was unassuming and we were left to get on with holiday without any hassle, they arranged for taxis and airport transfers when we were required but aside from that we rarely bothered anyone.

The French side of St Maarten isn't busy by any stretch of imagination, certainly not at the beginning of June, but it was a nice place to relax after a hectic time in NYC

Room Tip: Try to go to the supermarket on your way from the airport so that you can stock up when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank groobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    85
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
69
469
15
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Noord, Aruba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2011

After a period of 28 years we decided to visit the island where my wife grew up, a place filled with many happy and careless childhood memories. The sad discovery that butterflies don't fly here anymore the way they used to way back when was well compensated by our stay in this beautiful, private and romantic Hotel!!!
The staff will be totally invisible if you don't need them and miraculously be there for you on the spot if you even might think you have a question... just perfect for a romantic stay.
Like their website promises, this must be one of the best spots on the island to watch a magnificent sunset at the end of another intensive 'back to your roots'-day on lovely St Maarten.

Room Tip: The Place for good sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntonCarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox River Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2011

My husband I stayed here for the first half of our honeymoon. We loved the quaintness of the hotel. We, unfortunately, experienced lots of rain on our trip to St. Martin. The weather left us with limited activities to do in St Martin & Grand Case. All though we enjoyed Hotel L'Esplanade, we did not care for Grand Case and probably will not return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shell3879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I attended my nieces wedding in St. Maarten's and extended the stay for a week for vacation. I selected L'Esplanade after reading the trip advisor reviews and I was not disappointed. Clean, Cozy, comfortable. A great place to stay. Walking distance to all the fine dining in Grande Case. Superior accomodations.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank bartpj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
382 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Hotel L'Esplanade a well kept hidden gem on a hillside in Grand Case was just what we needed for our spring trip from hectic NYC. We arrived with high expectations and they were met. The service the hotel provided was top notch and the suite and hotel facilities that we enjoyed were beautiful. We were there for just under a week and explored all that Grand Case and St. Maarten had to offer - with some helpful guidance from the staff at L'Esplanade.

Our suite was wonderful, big and always smelled good and the welcome basket was a nice touch. We did have one issue but we were pleased with the way the hotel handled it. Our air conditioning unit went out on us one night and though Marc tried his best to fix it it wouldn't come back to life. Kristin and Marc did their best to make us comfortable, flooding the suite with fans and offering to put us up at one of their other properties for the night until they could get the AC fixed the next morning. Although we didn't take them up on their offer to move they did all they did to make us comfortable including delivering a bottle of champagne to the room the next evening. Their level of service was on par with all the major resorts we've ever stayed at. By the way the food at the pool is pretty good and we are bummed we waited until our last day to check it out.

We highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to make a return visit!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank beachtravelerrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel was consistent with the reviews, very lovely. Perfect check-in and check-out, extremely helpful staff, absolutely fabulous room accomodation. We stayed in July, so the hotel was very quiet and the poolside in particular looked a bit as if it was unattended. Understandable that the pool bar was closed, we read that it was only open during "the season" but we would have preferred there to be towels and other amenities at the pool. Superb location, literally down the street from top restaurants and interesting shops. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ExperiencedBusTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macedonia, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

My husband and I just returned from a week vacation on the island and Hotel L'Esplanade was just what we were hoping for! The room was quite spacious, nicely decorated and the view was beautiful! The staff were friendly and helpful and the grounds were very well kept. We also loved being minutes from all of the restaurants in Grand Case! The hotel's restaurant recommendations were great and it was helpful to have so many menus to look over in the lobby before venturing out for the evening. Thank you for making our stay so comfortable!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kdfantis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
0.2 mi away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.6 mi away
The Azure Hotel
The Azure Hotel
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
6.5 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.7 mi away
Belmond La Samanna
Belmond La Samanna
#1 of 1 in Terres Basses
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel L'Esplanade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel L'Esplanade

Property: Hotel L'Esplanade
Address: On the Hill of Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel L'Esplanade 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amid lush tropical gardens, affording its visitors privacy without sacrificing its panoramic ocean views. Spacious interiors blend harmoniously with the Mediterranean architecture. Magical sunsets come to you on your private terrace to touch your soul. A delightful footpath leads you on a journey of discovery. We invite you to find your own rhythm, knowing that our staff is there to ensure that your every day is a perfect day, knowing that your comfort is our excellence and with us, you are home. For those who appreciate privacy, enjoy an uncrowded atmosphere, gracious hospitality and seek relaxation in exclusive, blissful surroundings...Welcome to Hotel L'Esplanade. Introducing our new Ti Spa for all of your beauty and relaxation needs! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel l Esplanade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing