We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third trip and still our number one choice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistrot Caraibes

Bistrot Caraibes
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistrot Caraibes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $70
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Third trip and still our number one choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We have been to Saint Martin three years in a row and have never be disappointed when eating here. The owners are great people who present an elegant yet relaxed atmosphere to enjoy your night out. You will see everyone here and the fine dining menu caters to a variety of pallets. We always end up eating here twice during the week because it is so consistently good and makes for an easy choice after a long day in the sun. The rum at the end of your meal is always a welcomed treat. Do yourselves a favor and stop here for a meal, you will not be disappointed. Exceptional food from highly trained and qualified staff without the stuffy pretentious atmosphere and beyond comprehension prices! We are a young couple and just cannot get enough of this place. The owners also own rental options on the island (many of which are at Mt Vernon on Orient Bay which is THE BEST LOCATION ON THE ISLAND). I cannot express to you enough how perfect the location of their Orient Bay Studios are. They are the best budget option out there. Worth the time so look them up you will not be disappointed in Thibault and Amaury- they really do make our trips and we have and will likely always use their services. Cheers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zoolab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,139
    280
    97
    30
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Maryland
1 review
“Everything and more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Absolutely lived up to our expectations. My husband and I were both very impressed with our meals. My husband ordered the red snapper and I ordered the lobster. Half thermidor half grilled. We had several drinks and a dessert-chocolate cake. Not inexpensive but worth the effort to get there. The staff were very helpful and polite. Our meals came quickly. Take the time to go. It's worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EMR R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Splurge! It won't hurt your wallet.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

Seems like my reviews for TA are all for great places (I really am pretty picky but tend to rate only those places that are memorable) and here is another one. First of all we found the food in St. Maarten relatively expensive. One exception tended to be the few fairly high-end places in which we dined. Bistro Caraibes almost seemed inexpensive for such an intimate setting with impeccable/friendly service and high quality dishes. The restaurant is open air yet so inviting. The one thing that can run up your bill though is the lobster - but OMG the lobster thermador was so rich and luscious I wanted to take the leftovers to my room and put them under my pillow. One warning, there is a lot of meat on the tails of these warm water lobsters so a small/medium sized tail is enough for two. The complementary homemade rum shot at the end of dessert has to be a diabetic's worst nightmare, but we were compelled to purchase a bottle of this decadent spirit to take home. Next time we go to St Maarten I guarantee we will eat here more than once. Although this was our highest food bill for our two weeks in St. Maarten, it may have also been the biggest bargain.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lwingjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliquippa
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely must dine here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This restaurant is outstanding. It is quaint and full of atmosphere. From the moment my group walked in the door we all were treated royally. The staff is so friendly and willing to help. Our waitperson was exceptional and we loved talking with her. The quality and taste of the food was superb. We ordered rack of lamb and whole lobster along with appetizers, soup and dessert. After dinner we enjoyed a complimentary rum drink and coffee. Casual attire is acceptable. Prices may be a little steep for a family with children but were in line with most fine dining experiences.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NannyG2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Bistro Caribes lives up to its reputation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

The food and service here are impeccable. We both ordered the same thing -- beef tenderloin -- but I chose to add the duck liver which was SINFUL but so incredibly divine. The after-dinner complimentary rum drink really hit the spot. We are staying at Le Petit Hotel, and the owner here told us that three restaurants are owned by the same family. In any case, they gave us a little card and if we get a stamp at all three restaurants, we will get a gift of a bottle of their homemade rum! This rum is not like ordinary rum, it is more like cognac, it is thick and sweet and has a lovely flavor of vanilla.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Egglady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Caraibes also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 

Been to Bistrot Caraibes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing