We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should be ranked #1 in Grand Case” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bistrot Caraibes

Bistrot Caraibes
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistrot Caraibes is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 67 Restaurants in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $70
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Spruce Creek, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
217 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Should be ranked #1 in Grand Case”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is the best restaurant in Grand Case. There are many great ones, but this one IS the best. We went for Valentines Day and the food and service was wonderful. There is a tank facing the street loaded with lobsters (some in the 7 pound range) that greets you when you enter. The wait staff and owners really fall all over you. It is obvious that they are very pleased that you are dining there. We chose to do salad and tapas. There are plenty of great tapas, so don't hesitate on ordering tapas along with a salad. We had the Caesar (best in our stay on St. Martin), and had the frogs legs (only place on St. Martin that we found frogs legs), the snails (a dozen of them) bubbling in butter, and the combination of scallops and grilled shrimp. We also chose to have desert this night. They did have some Valentine's specials, but we chose the creme brule, whichdid not disappoint. Nadia was our server and if you go, ask for her. She is extremely attentive.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sprucecreekfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,540 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,131
    277
    97
    30
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clearly outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I spent 7 nights/6 restaurants in Grand Case. For more general discussion see our other two reviews. Clearly Bistrot Caraibes is an outstanding restaurant. Rather than be repetitive we refer readers also to the excellent and authoritative review below by Washington DCR dated 8 Feb. Regarding the excellent service we especially agree with the plaudits there. Nadia in particular made our visit most enjoyable, although much credit goes to the brothers Thibault and Aumary who have great flair for the restaurant business in all of its aspects and our compliments also most certainly to the kitchen. For our part my wife started with the classic escargot perfectly done, then followed with an excellent sea bass cooked whole and deboned in the kitchen as we recall. I had a very tasty beef carpaccio followed by a most tender, moist, and flavorful grilled salmon steak. The French wines here, as elsewhere in Grande Case, are not to be missed if one has any interest in wine. For you chocolate lovers I can affirm that the hot chocolate cake with hazelnut ice cream and coffee sauce is delicious. Also, please note that a menu is posted on their website. Then we must mention the unique and delicious rum with flavors including ginger offered gratis at the end of the meal. As for cost, we found all of the top restaurants in Grand Case to be fair and reasonable, as well as competitive with their peers in France or Italy. Prices are online. Do the math, and remember that you can spend a bit less on the French wines here than you would in the U.S. To all at the Bistrot we say, "Merci beaucoup, et au revoir!"

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fanandsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York, United States
1 review
“Better than any restaurant in Paris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

The best dining experience I have had in a long time. My husband and I travel to Paris fairly often and this restaurant was as good if not better than any we have eaten at there. The service was friendly and professional. I had the lobster bisque which was wonderful and the snapper special. It was made with saffron and was amazing! My husband had the snails with mushrooms and a filet mignon, both equally delicious. They have a house cocktail which is a champagne cocktail. Overall, a wonderful dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband is in the seafood business, and last night we had the best lobster Thermidor EVER!!!
It was Carnaval and the place was popping with people and the owners still managed to be very attentive and fun with everyone and serve a beautiful meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Molso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highlight of our trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We saved the best for last and had a great dinner at the Bistro Caraibes on our last night in Grand Case to top off a fantastic stay at the Orient Beach Studios. The meal and service were excellent! My wife and I agree that the Seafood is among the best we ever ate and the personal attention by the owners Armury and Thibault was very much appreciated. Great desert and especially the tasty rum completed a very memmorable meal and if we ever get to return to this beautiful island we will definately visit this superb restaurant again. Thank you very much!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hans-Georg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistrot Caraibes also viewed

Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
 
Grand Case, Saint-Martin
Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten
 

Been to Bistrot Caraibes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing