We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOnderful resort for Families or Couples”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Case Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2007

GCBC is our favorite place to stay on St. Maarten. We have visited by Cruise, rented villas and tried a few hotels and GCBC is the best overall vacation. We love fine dinning, especiialy when our 6 and 9 year old daughters are welcome. And this is to be founf all through out Grand Case. It is just a short stroll from the hotel into the heart of Grand Case which is flanked by wonderfull restaurants (our favorites are L'Alabama and the Calamos Cafe).

The hotel itself comes with a friendly staff, good contrinental breakfast and nice rooms that would probably rank and 3 star in the states. But everything is clean and the maid service is nice.

About th only negatives are getting back to the resort in time to exchange your beach towels and the slight arome of the waste treatment in the back of the resort. But the smell is away from your rooms in an area you just breifly walk past and if you stay at the hotel beach (which is also very nice with free chairs and umbrellsa) you are in no rush for the towels.

I highly reccomend a cruise on the Scooby Too while you are there, it will pick you up right at the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank treeguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,822)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,488 - 1,494 of 1,822 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2007

We won a five-night stay on SkyAuction in April and booked for December. Paid extra for an oceanfront loft room where the king bed is in the loft ... worth every penny! Our room was on the second floor and our balcony overlooked the snorkle area of Grand Case Beach. The second floor rooms have more privacy than the first floor rooms, since your fellow residents will be walking directly in front of your patio on the narrow sidewalk.

Also went to Petite Plage on the other side of the restaurant ... more beach and more wave action.

We rented a car and should point out that the hotel is a bit difficult to find in the dark. We spent an afternoon on Orient Beach, which is a beautiful, very popular beach.

Walked down to the town of Grand Case for dinner. Ate in Spiga, which deserves its reputation as excellent Italian food. Service and food were wonderful. We had the cioppino which was excellent.

We also stumbled upon a new restaurant called L'Estaminet ... a real gem that opened in November ... owned by Carole (hostess) and Ina (the chef). Located across the street from California with a parking lot next door.

Our meal was so good that we asked Carol to prepare lobster the following night. (Lobster must be ordered 24 hours in advance.) Well, the next evening we were served lobster four ways (two split tails each with its own dipping sauce). Coconut tempura, "thai" cooked in lemongrass, garlic and butter, and gratin. Unbeliebable!

We did a lot of our own cooking and bought groceries and wine at a supermarket just off the main street in Grand Case. The parking lot is tiny, so you should park on the main street and walk back. They take credit cards.

The Grand Case Beach Resort is clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. They give you a bottle of wine when you check in. We will go there again!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank AcadiaHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2007

GCBC is a wonderful 3 star hotel. By American standards, I'd say that it's a Holiday Inn type of hotel, only smaller. We had a good sized room with a king-sized bed and a small kitchen, which was a pleasant surprise! The front desk gives you a complimentary bottle of red wine when you get there, so that was a nice touch, even though we are not drinkers! The maid service is excellent! The rooms were always cleaned up nicely each day. The flowers on the premises are absolutely beautiful and the grounds are kept up well. The restaurant at the hotel is the Sunset Cafe. A continental breakfast is included(a basket of croissants, danishes, bread, and orange juice). If you want a la carte items you can get them at a nominal price.

Warning: The walls are thin, so you hear the rattling around of the people above and beside you. It's not enough of a problem to keep me from staying there again though!

If you want a quiet place to rest and relax or just need a place to stay because you plan on not being there most of the time, due to exploring, then this is the hotel for you. If you want to party, then stay at a hotel on the Dutch side. Grand Case is quiet and there is not as much night life. It's perfect if you have kids because of the calm beach waters and the small pool.

The hotel is located in a great spot, just in a few minutes walking distance from the area referred to as "restaurant row." There you will find a sea of fine dining restaurants, although casual dress is allowed. They are quite pricey, but the food is good. It really is like dining in France. The meals take a long time to finally get to your table, but it's usually worth the wait. We had a good meal and a nice romantic ambiance at Le Tastevin. We also had a good meal at Le Ti Coin Creole which serves good tasting island food. There are only about 6 or 7 tables there and it is owned by a Chef from St. Martin and has 1 waiter. The cheapest place to eat on restaurant row is what is referred to as the Lolos. It's simply an outdoor barbeque with picnic tables and you have about 4 or 5 to choose from all in the same area. We ended up eating dinner there the first night and later on had lunch there.

We were there for New Year's Eve, so we enjoyed the festivities on the boardwalk in Philipsburg( a free soca concert by a Trinidadian artist, Destra), the capital on the Dutch side. There we started off by having a 4 course meal at the 12 Metre Yacht Club. The meal was again, expensive, but quite tasty and enjoyable.

St. Martin is a beautiful island with overall friendly people. The service in the restaurant by the locals are of a typical island nature, meaning slow-paced, sometimes with a bit of an attitude, so keep your expectations low. On top of that, it's like being in France, so they don't work for a tip, it's not expected, so they don't work extra hard to please you. In the fine dining restaurants, they work hard to please you, tip or no tip.

We did a lot of island hopping, since St. Martin is so close to other islands. We took a 20 minute ferry ride to Anguilla and an hour and 15 minute ferry ride to St. Barth's. The ferry rides are very bumpy, so if you have a weak stomach, I suggest taking motion sickness pills before you go. The ride to Anguilla was tolerable, but the ride to St. Barth's was awful. A few people, including myself, got sick on the ride there. If you hate roller coaster rides, don't do the St. Barth's ferry ride...take the plane instead, it cost about the same amount of money and you get there in 10 minutes!

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank JAmerican2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2006

This was our fourth consecutive Holiday Break coming to Saint Martin. In the past we had stayed at another hotel, that is currently not open, thus, this was our first stay at GCBC.
We were used to staying in a hotel, that had a big lobby, big pool, big "feel", so it was a different feeling to pull up here.
The front desk gave us our room, which was all the way on the left side of the hotel. (closest to town) We had a 2 bedroom room, that had a full kitchen which was great. The entire office staff was very nice, especially Patsy!
Our room, as well as all the others on the "Petite Plague" side had a nice view of the water. However, there was no "beach" on our side, the ocean water came right up to the wall. No big deal though, the beach on the other side was only a 2 minute walk down.
They served an included "continental breakfeast" at the sunset cafe each morning. It included a bassket with french bread and coisants, jucie and coffee. If you wanted any eggs, bagels, etc., you had to pay. We ended up taking the coffee, juice and basket back to our room, and eating there each morning. There were a lot of flies at the sunset cafe, nothing against them, I think the island just has a lot of flies, as it was the same at the other hotels as well. Personally I felt that the ladies at the Sunset Cafe could have been a bit friendlier, sometimes they seemed "annoyed" when you asked for something. FYI - they has happy hour from 5:30-6:30 each day at the Sunset Cafe,where all drinks were 1/2 off.
We sat at the beach next to the Sunset Cafe each day. The beach guys were very nice and helpful, and they had kyacks and paddleboats, cadamerans, and floats you can use, for free, whenever you pleased. Nothing was better then floating on the raft and drifting into the calm ocean.
We would go to the little supermarket in Grand Case in the morning and get things for lunch, and eat in the room. It was nice to get out of the sun for a little, and drink some wine on our pattio, andlisten to the caribbean music CD that they left in the room.
As for dinner's; we went into Grand Case a few nights; La California was pretty good, Il Nettunio was pretty good if you want Italian, we also went to Fish Pot, which we all personally Hated!
Chanticlair in the Marina was Excellent, high price, but worth every penny, also, try this place Bistro Nu, it is in Marigot down this little alley. It is charming, reasonable, and the food is delicious!!!
All in all it was a Wondderful week! we had a great time, and would definatly return to the GCBC. We met the manager at the cocktail party thrown on Monday night, and he was very friendly and nice as well.
Just know that this is a little hotel, it is charming, and very relaxing, howveer, it does not have a Big "Westin/Hyatt" type feel.
Just go and relax, get a good tan, and forget about life for a while!
Cheers!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank ParkerNYCnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2006

After a week on the Windjammer cruise we we to the French side of the Island and stayed 2 nights at the Grand Case Beach club. Really didn't have enough time to enjoy all you could do there. They started us off with a bottle of wine. Nice big room. Only down side was the internet was a hefty extra fee. The last night we went down the road to Orient Beach and Boo Boo Jam's - a fun place to watch the locals dance. The only place we saw any partner dancing - mainly salsa and merengue. Grande Case is a cute town with lots of shops and restaurants. Easy to stroll the main street.

7  Thank Dancin_Ernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2006

We have just returned from a week in St. Martin. We have been there 3 times before with no problems at other hotels.
We made our reservation over a month ago directly with hotel saying I specifically wanted a one bedroom with king size bed. This was reconfirmed twice, as late as two days before arrival. When we arrived, the front desk person acknowledged her email to me, but then said they had no one bedroom king size beds. She referred us to a two bedroom end unit with winding staircase. This was a small, dirty apartment with queen bed and a king headboard not even attached. When I questioned about bed,she had audacity to say it was a french size king! The paint was peeling on banister, shower curtain dirty, rusty hinges, pile of paintings in spare closet. We were too tired to change hotels.We found out from others they had modern, redone rooms and saw one of them. This looked like a storage closet. They had no other rooms. Third day we woke up to a worker tearing up grass outside our door...we asked what he was doing! He said he was redoing the concrete walkway...this is where we sat for breakfast! Finally went to Manager who in an abrupt way said "well..not to be blunt, but what do you expect us to do. If want to check out we won't charge for rest of week! Then said he had a one bedroom coming up next day. This was day before we left..We saw it and heart sunk. It was airy, modern, all new! Location here is really secluded and nice, housekeeping and restaurant staff nice. Front desk is unhelpful, unethical. This was worst hotel experience we've had in 10 years. We even took pictures of the unattached king headboard and torn up trench to send to Board of Tourism.
So, if you heard good things from friends, as we did, don't believe that you will actually get a room that you requested. Its a 50/50 chance even with emailed confirmations.

Stayed: November 2006
11  Thank BLBopinions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcbcmgr, Manager at Grand Case Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2006

I am never happy when we do not deliver the standard that our guests expect, and that was obviously the case in this matter. However, when I was informed and responded, it was also evident that the guest would never be pleased. My response to them was a genuine "what would they like me to do?", a small but important edit from what they quoted me saying.
We are a small and simple hotel that overperforms at a 3 star level. Most of our guests are very pleasantly surprised at what we are able to offer and they rate us enthusiastically with 5.
The alternatives that I offered these guests, they refused, prefering to stay put and air to a larger audience.
We have very recently finished changing all the room furnishings and we are constantly fixing up and improving the property, but we will always be a small and intimate place that is not for everyone.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2006

We had a great 4 night stay at the GCBC. Beaches were beautiful and the staff was exceptionally helpful and nice. The room was not as clean as I would have liked, particularly the bathroom. The Sunset Cafe was a delicious dinner---get your free champaign coupon online. If you scuba dive, book with Octopus diving (---). JR and his wife were great and you get personalized attention on a small boat. Their shop is on the left as you are walking down the main drag. We rented a car for the day and had a great drive around the island with stops at several beaches and the zip line course. If you drive to Pic Paradis---they are not kidding, do not leave anything in your car. 3 guys were hiding out and were in our car in 2 minutes, fortunately they didn't get anything. Overall great trip and off season so no crowds which made for a nice getaway long weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tomandjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
4.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
5.7 mi away
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.8 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa
6 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Case Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Case Beach Club

Address: 21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range: $251 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Case Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and relaxing, small but large enough to have just the right amount of service that brings back our guests year after year. We are constantly improving and have updated and upgraded nearly every aspect of our resort, and will continue to do so. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, West Indies, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Case Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Case Beach Club Hotel Grand Case
Grand Case Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing