We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Low Key Resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Case Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Case Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Glenview, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Low Key Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed at the Grand Case Beach Club located on the French side of St. Martin. We arrived late in the evening after a long flight. The Reception area, lobby is a very small room at the top of several stairs, not very impressive. We had reserved a room with an ocean view. To our surprise, the room was very modern and well decorated with a complete kitchen.
The Sunset Cafe located within the complex is a separate company and offers breakfast, lunch and dinner. A continental breakfast consisting of a small glass of orange juice, bread basket and coffee was included in the price of the room at this restaurant. If you wanted more for breakfast you would have to pay for it.
There are two beaches at the resort, one in the Grand Case bay and one in the Caribbean which has gentle waves and smooth sand, great for sunning and swimming.
There are not a lot of activities at this resort outside of swimming and sun bathing. If you want to go snorkeling, kayaking or rent a small sailboat there is a beach activities booth located by the beach. None of these activities are included with price of the room and require additional fees. At night time, the only activity is dinner. If there is a rainy day, all you can do is read because there isn’t any other recreational facility.
The town of Grand Case is just 3 – 4 block away from the resort and has many restaurants to choose from. The price for a modest dinner for two is about $120 at any of the restaurants. To get to the town you will have to walk on a dark, unlit street that has been known to have security issues. The resort does not provide any shuttle service to town or elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are all good, do not choose anything else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank VacationPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcbcmgr, Manager at Grand Case Beach Club, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review, and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay.Perhaps you missed a couple of things that are offered...
ALL non-motorized watersports ARE included in the price of the room...snorkels, masks, fins, floats, noodles, beach chairs, umbrellas,childrens beach toys, kayaks, paddle boards, sailboat and the best beach service on the island! In, we even offer a Free introduction to water-skiing, free for the asking! We work with two shuttles into the village, for those who would prefer a ride...one, a electric cart and the other, a shared taxi van that will pick you up at the hotel and drop you off at your favorite Grand Case restaurant, and then pick you up and return you to the hotel. The vast majority of our guests choose to walk, however.Next time you come back, we will be happy to introduce you to the things that you may have missed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,162
    439
    79
    33
    19
See reviews for
322
1,011
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Grand Case Beach Club with my husband for 10 days and we had a great time. The views are spectacular and the amenities would be hard to beat: 2 private beaches, pool, on-site water sports and activity service, restaurant, tennis court and walkways and plentiful seating overlooking the water. Everyone was incredibly nice and helpful. The beach was beautiful and hotel guests can use equipment from the on site Creole Rock Water Sports for free including kayaks, paddle boards, rafts and snorkeling gear. For a fee you can also rent sailboats, go waterskiing and they sponsor snorkeling trips to Creole Rock. Ben and Sylvie who were running things while we were there were amazing. The restaurant staff were also very attentive and helpful and the food and drinks were very good. It's also within walking distance of Tijan perfumerie and many wonderful Grand Case restaurants. We stayed in a loft and the rom was spacious and the concrete walls made for a lot of privacy. We would definitely go back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank K.c. F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This is the third time my wife and I have stayed here, this time for our 20th wedding anniversary, and it couldn't have been better. That is to say, it was just like the two previous times we have stayed here. The staff is ultra-friendly (right down to housekeeping), many of them have been here for a number of years, and the property is kept meticulously clean. (For example, a member of the staff wipes down all the lounge chairs every morning.) The water is gorgeous, the pool is intimate, and the food at the Sunset Cafe is excellent. In addition, you are about a ten minute walk from appx. 20 restaurats, mostly French, but some Italian mixed in. As Grand Case is a fishing village, every day there is very fresh seafood. If you like peace and quiet (but with a dive shop on the property if you're feeling adventurous), great food and wonderful calm warm water, you cannot do better. Try it - your memories will love you forever!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room in either the Tamarind or the Oleander building. All rooms have working k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KozMan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
413 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We recently returned from another restful and relaxing six day vacation at our favorite Caribbean Resort. GCBC continues to modernize and upgrade its facilities to insure we are fully comfortable and relaxed while there. This is our vacation home away from home. Staff are wonderful, friendly and accommodating. Water Sport accommodations and Sunset Café food and services are tremendous. We plan to return in November.

Room Tip: Ocean View Rooms provide a spectacular view of the bay area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Edmund438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

We had such a great time at this hotel. Everyone is so friendly on the island. This hotel is very nice. We usually do an all-inclusive, so this was our first time not doing one, and it was fantastic. We had an ocean view with loft bedroom, great view of smaller beach. There are 2 beaches at this resort. Not a beach you can walk for miles, but very nice crystal clear water, plenty of beach chair, never fought for one. You are not allowed to save chairs, but there is no need to. Beach staff, and hotel staff all very friendly. Sunset Beach Restaurant is on property and they too are very friendly, food and drinks are especially good too. Prices not all that out of line for beach services. Went to Prickly Pear Island Directly from hotel and it was beautiful. Walked to restaurants every night felt very safe. There is plenty of people and security walking around with you. You can arrange for shuttles or taxis from hotel front desk. Anything your little heart desires the front desk staff is willing to help. Also, we had no threats from mosquitos we sprayed the first day and after that kept forgetting spray and never had one bite. I encourage anyone to stay at this hotel, we had a great time. If you have any questions, I will try to answer. We never used the pool as the ocean was so beautiful. I am usually a pool person with ocean view, but the ocean looked like one huge swimming pool. Never used the fitness center either. If you want to stock up on beer. Head to main drag turn left were the pirate girl is handing out coupons and 1/2 way down there is a small grocery store and beer is $1.25 a bottle.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans NY
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed at GCBC the week of 6/1 - 6/7 and it was a very good stay the hotel check in went well and the staff was very nice. I can't think of any one on the staff that wasn't nice and always tried to help with any problems or questions. The Beach club is very beautiful the room they gave my wife and I was very nice with a view to die for, every morning got to see sun rise and at night got to see it set. The Sunset restaurant was the best the food was good and the service was the best. I will be going back and would tell anyone to come and stay at the GCBC.

Room Tip: any room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Darren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenix
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

My wife and I went to St Martin for the first time May 29 for a week's stay at the GCBC with our 18-yr. old daughter and her friend. We rented a two bedroom suite which was more like a town home with all the amenities. WOW, the GCBC was just as all of the positive reviews say…near perfection for anybody who is not looking for a Four Seasons or Ritz experience.
Location: The French side of the island is a dream come true if you want beauty, great beaches, tranquility, and some of the best food anywhere. The GCBC exemplifies understated excellence with truly clean, modern rooms, friendly service by anyone you encounter, and a setting where the beach is mere steps from your door. The Sunset Cafe is the restaurant on property and it served up excellently prepared food, cold drinks, and was staffed by friendly, happy folks. Aside from eating there, we enjoyed several GREAT local-style reasonable cost dinners at the Sky's the Limit restaurant, had an excellent high-end Italian dinner at Spiga, and even had dinner on the beach while a very good reggae band played at Calmos Cafe…ALL within a 5-8 minute walk from our room. On the days we craved a little more action, we drove to Orient Beach (10 mins) and enjoyed the parasailing, jet skis, and people watching.
Two tips: Throughout the French side, the roads are poorly marked with no street names posted even at most major intersections. So..if you rent a car, get the St Martin's GPS (Hertz gave it to us for free and it was a hugely valuable item). Tip 2: Take the Creole Rock snorkel tour through the hotel's dive shop: Ben has a 6-person boat and he knows the underwater marine park like the back of his hand. Was one of the best snorkeling tours we've ever enjoyed.
We would recommend the GCBC and staying on the French side to anyone who values what we have described above. We travel a lot and seldom return to a place twice. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Get rooms overlooking the sea. Ours had both an upstairs and downstairs balcony. If you rent a car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gonequiteabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
4.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
2.6 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,177 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Case Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Case Beach Club

Property: Grand Case Beach Club
Address: 21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Case Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and relaxing, small but large enough to have just the right amount of service that brings back our guests year after year. We are constantly improving and have updated and upgraded nearly every aspect of our resort, and will continue to do so. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, West Indies, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Case Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Case Beach Club Hotel Grand Case
Grand Case Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing