We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Case Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent family holiday”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I recently spent a week here with my partner and four children.
I'm very surprised to read negative reviews because our experience was the total opposite.

Staff are extremely friendly and helpful. I find their capacity to switch from english to french according to customers' requirements particularly impressive and their primary motivation is to satisfy any kind of request.
The room was comfortable and kept clean by an adorable lady who sung as she worked every day.
Despite varied and occasionally complicated requests from our teenagers, the staff at the Sunset were always patient and smiling. The food is excellent.

We spent an enjoyable day doing water sports. We started with a family snorkeling outing at Creole Rock. Ben took the time to brief us on how to behave and how to respect the environment and then spent an hour showing us a multitude of sea life in safety. He paid particular attention to our 10 year old who was a little less at ease than the others, especially when his tooth fell out in the snorkel.
In the afternoon he took us tubing 3 by 3 and even accepted an adult each time to take photographs and immortalize the experience. Poor Jade had to swim far out twice to attach the children but she never lost her smile.

Altogether, we send a big thank you to all the team and we're already happy to plan another stay at Grand Case Beach Club.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sarah m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,185
    445
    82
    33
    20
See reviews for
331
1,028
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Family and I spent a week here
Positives first
The hotel is in very good shape, the rooms are ok but seem expensive for what you get. My room had a kitchen, which may be good for some, but personally, I don't want to cook on vacation.
Views are amazing and so is the beach. My family felt safe and that is really important for me.
Restaurant is great, Sunset cafe, food is nice and reasonable but service is slow and expect to wait a long time to be served.

Negatives
I found the staff to be generally rude and unwelcoming and the water sports staff brought rude to a new level. We did Scuba with them and had a really poor experience. They took us on a tiny boat in rough waves which was scary, especially as I havent got my license, the waves were coming over the front and into the boat. Underwater the guy paid no attention to me and hubby had to check my air, just felt unsafe and unprofessional.
Kids snorkeled and it was over in 15 minutes, Ben, the blond haired guy took them, he smelled bad, was leering at my kids which was uncomfortable, my 16 year old daughter was quite upset.
The girl behind the water sports desk has the worst customer service skills I have ever come across, shame on you.

Great Hotel if only the staff realized that we were there to have fun. We love the island and will certainly come back, but we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Flowerpower2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcbcmgr, General Manager at Grand Case Beach Club, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Flowerpower,

Your comments are disturbing. Allegations regarding safety and security are very serious. Did you report any of what you posted to the restaurant, to Water Sports or hotel management?
Your observations are of a nature that demand prompt and serious attention, and I would have thought and hoped that you would have seen me immediately and directly, rather than some weeks later and through a review site.
None the less, I would appreciate a direct contact on this, my e-mail is swright@gcbc.com .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Good food, excellent room, beautiful beaches, lot of watersports and activities, Close to the best restaurants in the island, people is very kind. Ideal for family trips or romantics trips. Sunset cafe is inside the hotel with good food, good prices and kind attention, There is also a gift shop with good souvenirs. Dont forget to bring your plug adapter from 110v to 220v 2 pin style socket, but If you forget it the gift shop has options for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PerriBerto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Hub and I stayed at GCBC during the week of July 22-29. From the minute we drove up to the gate we knew this was a special place. The grounds are immaculate and well landscaped and manicured. Flowers and trees are trained to grow as part of the architecture. This is not a high tech super luxury hotel. This is a charming and quaint hotel where you are welcomed as a valued guest, not just another visitor. We stayed in the Tamarind building room 215, a one bedroom studio lost ocean front room. We felt this was a perfect accommodation! The kitchen had a good sized fridge, microwave, stove, oven, and all we needed to cook up breakfast or diner if we had wanted to. The bed was perfect for us...very firm!the only drawback we can speak of it that you must go down the loft stairs to visit the bathroom. This was no big deal really as we adjusted. The view from the room was awesome! We could see all of Grand Case beach! There are three places to swim at GCBC. There is a super calm little cove right in front of our building where we snorkel end the rocky area surrounding the point. lots of pretty colorful fish! This beach became my favorite as I could go to the water sports desk (which has a great selection of equipment for the guests at no extra cost to guests) and get at thick foam water mattress and float around for hours in the calm, warm, beautiful water. aahhh...the beach side offers chairs and umbrellas and chair side restaurant service! Finally, there is a pool too. Quite lovely.. The Sunset Inn-provides you with a continental breakfast each day. Delicious pastries and bread, coffee, and juice. We found this to be our favorite place to eat in Grand Case! Their specials are wonderful, and of course the view and welcoming breeze can't be beat. Their staff is friendly and humorous. Our room was kept very clean during our stay. We were very comfortable. The front desk was very helpful in guiding us in the right direction to all the locations we wanted to visit. I stayed at Oyster Bay Beach Resort last year. It is a great place too, but GCBC has a totally different vibe which is much more to our liking. We felt like we had a taste of France! We will be back next year and this time are bringing our best friends. This was a truly excellent place to stay!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank molliecolllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

It's our first visit to St.Martin and to the Grand Case Beach Club. We had a one bedroom,, two bath unit with a fully equipped kitchen. I did not want to cook with so many great dining options, but it was nice to have a kitchen for light meals and snacks. It was really clean, comfortable, and updated. The restaurant, Sunset Cafe. was the most reasonable in Grand Case and also the most delicious. Some of the restaurants in town were overpriced and not as good. The beaches were on the small side, but the water was really quite nice. The small beach had a few rocks upon entering the water, but the swimming was nice and calm. The larger beach had no sandy beach area to lounge on, but there were lots of shade trees above the water with lounge chairs (stairs to the water). Overall, it was a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lscnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i spent 6 days at the GCBC and found it to be fantastic. The location is wonderful and also a bit secluded since its the resort furtherst down the road from the city center. The rooms are all close to the small, sandy and perfect beach where you get chairs and all beach/sea gear complimentary. Also there is a rocky peninsula which makes for a great sunset viewpoint. This is also where the sunset cafe is placed, a super cafe with nice staff and good food. Can highly recommend GCBC. Only complaint is that the wifi is very unstable. Make sure to get an oceanview room!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We loved Grand Case itself and would recommend Grand Case Beach Club to anyone desiring a Caribbean vacation. From the Sunset Cafe, to car rental, to planning excursions or just renting equipment, we could manage our entire visit within the resort. We snorkeled for the first time, and our guide, Ben was very informative and helpful. We were within walking distance if the best dining in the Caribbean and enjoyed both the restaurants such as L'Auberge Gourmand or the LoLos, as well as the shopping, the steel drum bands, and the street art. We hope to return again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
4.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.6 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
4.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.3 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Case Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Case Beach Club

Property: Grand Case Beach Club
Address: 21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Case Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and relaxing, small but large enough to have just the right amount of service that brings back our guests year after year. We are constantly improving and have updated and upgraded nearly every aspect of our resort, and will continue to do so. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Case Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Case Beach Club Hotel Grand Case
Grand Case Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing