We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great staff, GOOD TIMES!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Case Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

GCBC is a great location and an easy, comfortable walk to the main drag of GC.
Make sure you walk around the whole resort when you arrive, find the pool, both beaches, etc. Our second day there we walked around this winding boardwalk along the ocean, passed the restaurant and found two chairs, under shade looking out over the ocean. We moved here every afternoon to escape the sun and it was like we were all by ourselves on the island!
The beach next to the restaurant, 'Petit plague' has some room to walk the shore and chairs. All you have to do is raise your umbrella and staff will bring you umbrellas, cocktails, whatever you desire! The other beach is good if you just want to sit in the shade and hop in the water every once in a while. They've got comfy chairs and cushions out at each.
The Sunset Cafe is a MUST. There are also some really great restaurants in the main downtown area, but Sunset Cafe is just as good, if not better sometimes, and CHEAPER! Take advantage of the specials they offer.
The staff is super friendly and we enjoyed visiting with them. The free breakfast is nice, but we added a fruit plate every day and we felt a bit healthier after that :)
Lunch is also great.
There was a nice manager's reception Thursday night with a free drink and some snacks.
Wish we had a chance then to talk to the staff, they were just always busy.
We booked the ocean loft because I like being on the top floor, but when we arrived we had been 'upgraded' and ended up in what was as large as a one bedroom apartment! it was a GREAT room, great view, great furnishings, but we just didn't get to spend too much time in it!
AC in the rooms is strong, thank goodness, so no need to worry about suffering in the heat at this resort.
We also had satellite tv, not that we spent time in front of the tube, but we did catch the NYC news a couple nights.
Stay here, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: I requested a top floor loft but we ended up on the bottom floor, which I normally don't enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daydreamingtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,822)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

889 - 895 of 1,822 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

I would definitely agree with other reviewers, in that this is my little slice of heaven! We've stayed at the GCBC several times now & just love the quiet relaxed nature of the resort. We stayed from April 28 - May 8 this year, and only wish it could have been longer ;) For us - the location is perfect - just a short walk into town to a wide array of top notch restaurants! There are excursions which leave directly from the resort, which is convenient. It's about a $30 cab ride from the airport, and there is a car rental desk in the office.

After checking in with the friendly desk girls, we were accompanied with our luggage to room 709 - a great 2 floor 1br 2 bath oceanview room. The downstairs deck had a partially obstructed view by palm trees, but worth it to have 2 bathrooms. Wifi worked great & unit was clean & very comfortable. The beds were super comfortable, and I slept great. Minor complaint - the TV upstairs - the volume was awful. At a level 1 it was barely audible. At level 2, very loud. No in between! It was nice to have the sound system/iPod docking station which also charged our i-devices. In the upstairs bathroom, there was both a European and a US plug. It also had a tub, but no shower curtain & the shower head part is mounted down by the spigot, and has to be handheld, which is awkward to wash your hair one-handed & not get water everywhere. I would have preferred that the shower handle be mounted on the wall. The downstairs bathroom had a standup shower with a wall mounted shower head. The kitchen was perfect for our needs, as we don't really cook while on vacay. The refrigerator was smaller & a pizza box had to be angled just so in order to fit in freezer. Oven was in Celsius & had to figure out conversion to cook pizzas. :) There's an ice machine down towards the tennis courts.

The beach guys are awesome and friendly, and once they knew I liked an umbrella, they brought one to me each day. The beach is smaller, but clean and always had a great breeze blowing. There seemed to be plenty of lounge chairs and tables for the guests, but not a ton of the smaller chairs - the ones to sit in the edge of the surf in. :( We didn't visit the pool on this trip, but I spoke with one of the board members, and he mentioned that plans were being discussed to renovate the pool, and possibly add a pool bar up there. I think that would be an amazing addition!! Wish list :: infinity pool with pool bar, more small chairs on the beach, more than 1 towel per person. :)

The Sunset Cafe was fantastic as always - such a bright part of our morning to be greeted by Lolo & the rest of the staff with a welcoming "Bonjour Monsieur & Mademoiselle!" The complimentary breakfast with coffee & juice was often enough for us - the chocolate pastry's are my faves! But occasionally we would split something else - their French Toast & Eggs Benedict are both delicious! We had lunch here a few times, and dinner once - everything was delicious! (You get a discount for takeout)

All in all, a fantastic trip & we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citrusgirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

GCBC is so awesome for many reasons. It's beautiful, private ( gated community) and a few minutes from 'restaurant row' in Grand Case. We walked daily to the restaurants and dive shop, octopus diving. The staff at GCBC want nothing more than to maker sure each visitor is well taken care of. They are kind, pleasant and go out of there way even on the smallest requests. We would never stay any where else :-)

Room Tip: There web site has it all but if you have a question they respond very quickly to emails. In the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michellek13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

A friend introduced me to the Grand Case Beach Club several years back and I've been there six times so far. It is my heaven on earth! And being within walking distance of some of the best restaurants in the Caribbean is a great plus! No need for car rentals or cabs for dinner. It is also right up the beach from Octopus Diving who I dive with several times each trip.

To "me" being on vacation means being able to walk out of my door and be right 'on' the beach, and the Grand Case Beach Club has two - on one you can even raise a small flag by your chair and have someone serve you drinks on the beach - how can you beat that? And breakfast each morning overlooking the ocean while drinking coffee and munching on French bread and croissants is marvelous. The Sunset Café also has wonderful lunch and dinner options.

I can't say enough about this place - I need to get back there soon :-)

Room Tip: Personally I always go for the oceanfront rooms - being able to see the ocean as soon as I get up in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Other than being the youngest crew of people there (all in our mid 30s-40s) and being told to "keep it down" at 7pm, we had a great time at Grand Case... LOL! The restaurant is super casual and convenient. The staff was friendly except for one of the guys on the beach crew, but we just got our own chaise lounges. We took the Creole Rock snorkel trip, which was great. The guide was helpful and took us around the reef. The Garden View 2-bedroom was perfect for 2 couples, with enough space to be separate/private. Very clean, comfortable, and nice balcony space. One convenience about Grand Case is the proximity to town. We walked into town to shop, browse, and enjoyed several dinners. We were there for the Super Bowl and they had a nice big-screen set-up with a BBQ. Grand Case is right on the water, turquoise and beautiful... there are great places to sit and enjoy the view scattered throughout the property so be sure to explore. Would definitely go back - great value and convenient flight options from JFK to STM.

Tips: Don't overpack! It is a very casual island. European 220 watt outlets so bring a converter. Walk to one of the local markets for snacks and drinks to stock up! Be patient with the staff, they "warm up" as time goes on.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msnewll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The Grand Case Beach Club is a great choice in the small town of Grand Case.

We reserved a Studio Loft room. It was clean with fairly modern decor. The view is awesome. We could look down into the water from our balconey & watch the fish.

The staff is very helpful & friendly.

We rented a car from the rental desk in the hotel office. No issues at all with it.

There are board walks all around the property with secluded loungers. We loved this.

The best restaurants on the island are a short walk to town. The lighting is a little dim from the hotel to town but not once did we feel uncomfortable making the walk after dark. The hotel's security walks up & down the street after dark to make sure everything is safe. A really nice touch.

The housekeeping staff was inconsistent on providing towels but they did a great job overall other than that.

The restaurant on the property - Sunset Cafe - is great for lunch. The food was excellent. Unfortunately we didn't try it for dinner...too many other places we wanted to try in town.

We felt the price was very reasonable. The beds were super comfortable.

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay & would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mappie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

we enjoyed it the last time and now with the room upgrades better yet. One aspect might be looked at by management. Bathroom lighting does not work well for female makeup in the evening if you are going out. Staff totally friendly. helpful, and cooperative. See you again in Rm. 204.

Room Tip: ground floor..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chuleta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcbcmgr, General Manager at Grand Case Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Thank you for your visit and review! We have taken note of your comment regarding the bathroom lighting, and will be improving it in our scheduled refurbishment of the 200 building in late August. We are a constantly improving property, and we listen to what our guests say! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
4.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
764 reviews
5.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
4.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
410 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa
6 mi away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Case Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Case Beach Club

Address: 21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range: $250 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Case Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and relaxing, small but large enough to have just the right amount of service that brings back our guests year after year. We are constantly improving and have updated and upgraded nearly every aspect of our resort, and will continue to do so. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Case Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Case Beach Club Hotel Grand Case
Grand Case Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing