We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great place to relax.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Case Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Case Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great place to relax.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great place to relax; rooms are tastefully appointed and hotel personnel is friendly. Beautiful beachfront property. Walking distance to very good restaurants. The Sunset Cafe within the premises is excellent, marvelous ocean view, good food, reasonably priced, and very corteous waiters.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CARLOS Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,069
    408
    75
    31
    19
See reviews for
302
922
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Grand Case Beach Club is at an excellent location with two beautiful beaches. The water is very clear and there is no garbage in the water like we have seen at other places. The kids collected lots of sea shells and sea glass. They have a desk where they can organize snorkeling, diving and other trips, water skiing etc. We visited Anguilla and St. Barth. The boat pulls up right at the beach and picks you up. It's all very convenient.

We stayed at a 2-bedroom garden view apartment and it was great. We had 4 different balconies. The upstairs bathroom had a strange smell so we asked them to clean it. Other than that the rooms were clean and we slept very well. The staff was very nice.

We loved the Sunset Beach restaurant. The food and service was excellent. We never really wanted to eat anywhere else. The village is a few minutes away but is not very nice. We rented a car to get to the hotel from the airport so we drove to the village a few times to get some groceries.

Room Tip: Room 814 is a nice 2 bedroom with garden view. Garden view rooms are also very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isabelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at GCBC for 2 nights after a cruise (9th and 10th March) We had chosen it for its beach front location and quiet position on the French side but also close to fabulous Gramd Case restaurants.

We were not disappointed on any of our expectations except the weather was unsettled and snorkelling was not possible.

The rooms were very nice. Having arrived early (about 10AM) we were told to use the sun loungers and the staff would come to find us when our rooms were ready which we were told was likely to be before the check in time of 3pm. We were encouraged by that but when no-one came we went for a lovely lunch in the Sunset cafe. By 3pm we still didn't have rooms and were disappointed not to have got them earlier although we appreciated that it may ot be possible.

It was great place to stay for a couple of days. The position could not have been better and hopefully we'll return for a longer stay.

I was surprised by the comment of another reviewer about Grand Case not being French enough. I thought it was more French than I remember from previous trips and was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I went to Grand Case Beach Club for our 50th wedding anniversary at the recommendation of our travel agent. She thought we would love it. We had requested a room with a balcony, but we got a first floor patio room. This turned out to be o.k. The rooms were very nice and the staff did a great job of cleaning each day. We did have trouble with the toilet and had to call maintenance twice during the week we were there. Another thing we did not like was having to call the office to replenish a drink or a candy bar every time we took one.

We felt that the staff at the office were very friendly, nice, and helpful. My husband got sick while we were there and had to see a doctor. The young lady in the office called a cab for us and recommended a doctor.

We did use a cab for shopping and sightseeing -- 3 hours will cost you $90.

We felt that the resort was too secluded, especially since there was no shuttle into town. It is kind of hard for people in their 70s to walk the distance into town when there are no sidewalks. We had to ask the office to call a cab each time we wanted to go somewhere which was a pain.

We also would have liked more than one restaurant. The food was o.k., but not outstanding.

If you want to lay on the beach and relax or snorkel, this is the place for you. We are not interested in going here again.

Room Tip: A better view with a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank greatcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. Va.
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Grand Case Beach Club is a wonderful place to unwind with lovely accommodations and a gorgeous setting on the beach on St. Martin, though outwardly it appears to be very unpretentious. We were upgraded to a 3 bedroom, 2-bathroom condo (!) which we didn't require but it was a very nice space with a large, long balcony overlooking very nice landscaping and the beautiful beach. Staff was businesslike and professional in the reception area and efficiently made dinner reservations for us in Grand Case a few nights. The housekeeper assigned to our unit was lovely, friendly and thorough. We spoke with her every day (thank you, Sandra!). The water sports staff were all professional, busy and mostly friendly. Some of the equipment is free of charge, some requires a nominal fee. They can arrange for snorkeling trips, catamaran trips to Anguilla (we saw 6 humpback whales on our way over!), trips to St. Bart's, waterskiing lessons, etc. It was nice to have complimentary continental breakfast (juice, coffee, baguettes, croissants and chocolate croissants) at the Sunset Cafe each morning, overlooking the bay. There is a full breakfast, lunch, dinner and bar menu offered also. There are so many different secluded areas on various levels of the grounds at the Beach Club to sit, relax, and enjoy the scenery. All areas have very comfortable, sturdy outdoor furniture. The pool is small but very nice. There is free use of one tennis court but then there's a $5/day charge for use of the small fitness room. Their policy is to charge an increasing percentage for every extra hour for late checkout also. There is a $4/minute charge for phone calls made from the room back to the States, even if you have purchased an international phone calling card! Those things just make you feel like you're being nickel-and-dimed to death, and they should be a courtesy for guests.
The walk into Grand Case itself takes only about 8 minutes or so. There was never a question of safety on the road (other than cars close to walkers on a 1-lane road!), and it was adequately lighted. The restaurants in Grand Case are plentiful and wonderful - take your pick of many French restaurants or local Lolos, the food is terrific everywhere. People are friendly and speak English as well as French, the dollar and/or Euro is accepted everywhere, though not always at a 1:1 ratio.
We would love to return again and again - this was a perfect spot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnthegoGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Arlington NJ
Level Contributor
61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I knew I was going to have a great vacation before it started. A few days prior to its beginning I received and email from the manager asking about arrival times and if he could make any reservations for dinner. Nice touch!

We were 4 close friends traveling together and booked the 2 bedroom duplex. The unit is large by any standard and includes a kitchen with granite counter tops and all one would need to prepare simple meals. There is a living room and 2 bedrooms, one upper and one lower both with modern ensuite baths.

The upstairs bedroom is huge and includes a sitting area. There are 3 outdoor balconies with the usual tables and chairs.

The grounds are well kept and there are 2 beaches. yes, one does disappear with the tide, but the other is much larger and perfectly suited to sunning and swimming.

There is a "board walk" running around the property which provides lots of covered loungers to relax on.

The resort is "interestingly" placed. It is at the end of "Restaurant Row" which means the nearest restaurant outside of the resort is about a 5 minute walk. The farthest is about a 20 minute walk. I am a walker so I loved being able to dine at different restaurants without the trouble of using a car or taxi.

The walk to "Restaurant Row" can appear a bit seedy, but it is well lit, patrolled by security and at no time did I feel unsafe. Honestly, if I had stayed in a more secluded resort, I would not have enjoyed this trip half as much. There is plenty of local color and just about everyone greats you with a Bon Jour or Hello.

I have no complaints with the staff. Questions were politely answered, sometimes with a bit of whimsy. Our house keeper, Mayra, was exceptional. The rooms were spotless and she is a cheerful ray of sunshine.

The restaurant is not owned by the hotel and I found it to be just average. There are much better places in Grand Case. Do not miss Spiga!

I am not sure why this resort only receives 3 stars. I believe it should really be 4. I would love to return and spend another week in paradise.

Room Tip: We booked 809 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Phil6184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I have travelled the Caribean over the years and fully understand the difference between tourist's expectations and the reality of commercial presentations.

Grande Case Beach offers a simple, quiet, professional, unpretentious accommodation to those willing to accept the realities of a very competative commercial enterprise.

The place is very well maintained. The staff is gracious without being condescending, which is much appreciated by jaded travellers such as we.

We have stayed at this resort five times, and plan to stay five time more.

Room Tip: Relax, and enjoy. All rooms are sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoeSeph1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
4.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#1 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 stars 1,911 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.3 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Case Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Case Beach Club

Property: Grand Case Beach Club
Address: 21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Case Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and relaxing, small but large enough to have just the right amount of service that brings back our guests year after year. We are constantly improving and have updated and upgraded nearly every aspect of our resort, and will continue to do so. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, West Indies, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Case Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Case Beach Club Hotel Grand Case
Grand Case Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing