We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach, within walking distance of gourmet restaurants, and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Case Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I and my friend met at this resort that my travel agent booked us from different parts of the U.S, By the way, most of the people on both sides of St. Marten spoke English as well as Dutch and French depending on the side you were on. Breakfast was continental for free mostly consisting of fresh baked bread and croissants, some containing chocolate. You could order from a menu at the cafe and pay for it at reasonable rates eggs benedict different ways including with spinach and other breakfast items which were decent. You could also get cappuccino as well there. The restaurant also served lunch and dinner and had a bar which was reasonably priced and not bad tasting. I think I had braised ribs in a red wine sauce which was delicious on a night we didn't feel like going out. The large beach is beautiful with lounge chairs in the sand and you can get snorkeling equipment to go snorkeling; I think it was like $5. The petite plague (small beach) has no sand but lounges line the edge. We did not need a car as the restaurants, some of the best on the island according to friends we met, were within walking distance; they included Italian and French cuisine. A little travel shop a walk from the Beach Club supplied us a catamaran trip for the day at a cost including a lovely lunch and two snorkeling excursions in Aguilla (passport required by captain). A taxi ride to the south of the island provides great shopping on the Dutch side, casinos, and night clubs. The south side for the youth is the place to go. There are also nice restaurants there as well. People staying on this side did complain of airplane noise since this is where the large airport is. Others staying elsewhere seemed to have cars to travel around but parking seemed limited in some areas of the island. Our only complaint about the hotel were a lot of items including international hair dryer, iron, etc. were missing and the phone was broken but the friendly staff quickly came to our room and rectified the situation replacing the items we needed. The whether was cooler with a nice breeze then the Northeast of the U.S. in summer. The taxi drivers are terrific! I left my camera in the taxi when traveling to the south side of the island. It was brought back to the Beach Club after I called and notified the Beach Club so it was there when I returned. As another taxi driver said if they are not honest they will not be able to serve the hotel again. I would definitely return to this hotel and many people from the U.S. we ran into have returned many times.

Room Tip: There are rooms that have an oceanview if you would like or there are rooms as we chose at .a lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lightnin91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,819)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

948 - 954 of 1,819 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

GCBC is small; no building over three floors; all condos with a view of either the water or gardens. There are two beaches--one where there are plenty of lounge chairs, umbrellas, service. The other is shallow but very low swells which makes it perfect for swimming. Most people are older and repeats which makes it quiet and friendly. The Sunset Cafe which is separate but serves the breakfast (croissants, pan au chocolate, bread and coffee) is an excellent restaurant with a gregarious, friendly staff. Best of all you only have a five minute walk into Grand Case which has at least a dozen restaurants and some of the best on the island. Also there is a supermarche nearby where you can buy all things French (wine, cheese, fruit, meals to go).

Room Tip: We've had both views--water and gardens and both offer something special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kcamicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Grand Case Beach Club. We arrived on February 9th for a week vacation away from our hectic lives and left one week later relaxed and rejuvenated. The staff was friendly, the room was comfortable and clean, and the regular and repeat visitiors to the property were kind and welcoming. The location to the town of Grand Case was perfect. After spending quiet days enjoying the beach - it is small, but honestly big enough- we would walk two blocks and be readly to wander the row of fabulous restaurants that Grand Case is known for. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: We paid to upgrade our room to an ocean view - well worth the price!!
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank MomtoGEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We arrived Jan. 26 for two weeks. Plane was late getting in but once we got to the resort we were greeted by very friendly staff and were told we had been upgraded. Very nice surprise and the bottle of complimentary wine is such a nice touch. The resort is beautiful and the rooms are amazing. We had a one bedroom which faced the harbor. Every evening we drank our wine and watched the sunset from our room. Our maid was very friendly and very accommodating. The groundskeepers were also friendly and they did a great job. The sunset cafe was very good for dinners and the continental breakfast was nice. We picked up some cheese,eggs and European meats and made a nice breakfast.
The resort is very safe with security guards always present. The walk into Grand Case is not as scary as many have mentioned in previous reviews. Out of the 2 weeks we were there only once were the street lights not working, but that is not the resorts fault.
We have an amazing two weeks and I will definately book this resort hotel when we go again next year. Can't wait.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cherbear44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This place was a pleasant surprise. We stayed a week and I can't think of a thing that was a problem or a disappointment. We had a second floor room overlooking the bay. The room was clean and comfortable. Loved the king size bed and the balcony was roomy enough for a table, two chairs and a lounger. It was a real treat to sleep with the screen door open and fall asleep to the sounds of the water.

Rooms are quite soundproof. We never heard our neighbors. Kitchen was equipped enough to make breakfast and the coffee maker was used daily. Microwave was handy to warm up leftovers for lunch.

The beach next to the Sunset Cafe is small, but the sand is soft white. Never felt crowded. We took out the free kayak for a tour of the bay. Great way to check out the beach cafes and hotels. The pool is small, but with a beach and a warm sea, who needs a pool.

We had a lunch and two dinners at the Sunset and found the food to be ggod, not great, and reasonably priced. Wait staff was friendly and competent.

I guess I can find two faults: The TV was small, but we never watched it and one day they sprayed around our rooms. The price to be payed to be protected from bugs.

One last thing: the front desk staff are friendly and helpful and they will greet you with a smile when you get your FREE daily (not Sunday) newspaper. Yes, a real newspaper!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gawdpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We spent a week at the Grand Case Beach Club in January -- it was our first time in St. Martin and we chose this hotel based on both Tripadvisor and personal recommendations.

I reviewed the Sunset Cafe and the Creole Rock Water Sports, both co-located at this hotel, separately.

The setting is gorgeous -- very well maintained gardens, a great boardwalk around the restaurant -- the outside of the property is pretty. The pool, unfortunately, was dirty and we never saw anyone use it.

Our room was fine -- not plush, but certainly clean and servicable. It included a full kitchen. It was useful when we realized how expensive most of the nearby restaurants were. The Grand Case strip is called the gastronomic capital of the Caribbean -- and the food was mostly very good, but also very expensive (we saw similar restaurants with significantly lower prices in Marigot). So we found a local little grocery store and self-catered for sandwiches at lunch, and brought home dinner leftovers to reheat in the microwave.

The included breakfast is just a small basket of breads, coffee and OJ -- so if you want more than that you have to pay for it.

But the thing that started to get to us more and more were the attitudes of the staff. You have to go in to the front desk area to exchange towels, so most people go in there daily. Saying good morning seemed like a chore to them. We didn't get many smiles, and when I asked a question about a nearby activity the response was clear annoyance that they needed to call over and ask for me. We definitely didn't feel like we got good value for the price of staying here.

While we enjoyed our time in St. Martin, if we go back again we'll find a different place to stay where the people enjoy working around tourists more.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RachelinKabul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcbcmgr, General Manager at Grand Case Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

I am truly sorry that you felt less than warmly welcomed by our Front Office staff, we so often get warm and glowing reports of them, I and they are surprised and concerned an=bout your perception. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and we will take it as constructive in our quest for improvements. We will pay closer attention to our small pool area, with the beautiful Caribbean at our doorstep, no man-made feature will ever compare to that, but better patrolling is already in place.
Even if your travels will not include a stay with us in the future, perhaps you will pay a passing visit…we will., and already have put forth efforts based on your observations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Stayed over one night before departing on our cruise for the maiden voyage of the Terre Moana with Paul Gauguin. That is another story... The Grand Case is nice, but if you are used to the luxury of Tahiti or other Caribbean hotels, this may seem a bit basic. The amenities in the room where just average at best. The bathroom was just so-so. The view from our room was nice looking out toward Anguilla. The beach area, if you call it that, was very small and I can see that it would get very crowded quickly. The continental breakfast that they offer is pretty slim and you will need to order a full breakfast to fill you up. (see review of Sunset Cafe). The up charges are pretty steep for a resort. Charging $5 for a small bottle of water from the mini-bar, fitness center is another $5 to sign up, if you wish to use the on-site barbecue grill there is a $10 cleaning fee, kitchen service to clean up dishes is another $15, a deposit posted daily to your room for beach towels. I understand the need for fees, but it seemed a bit excessive.

If I get the chance to return to St. Martin, I simply can't say that I would seek out the Grand Case. There are just better alternatives with nicer amenities. Again, the reviews here make it sound great, and that was what brought us to it to begin with. But it just wasn't up to our expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TXrocklobster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcbcmgr, General Manager at Grand Case Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

“Just OK” ! Ouch! Mediocrity is not what we strive for. But neither is luxury. We are a proud and strong 3 star property that does its best to over-perform at that level. We are casual to an extreme, and we generally succeed in making our guests feel warmly welcomed and casually comfortable. Our average stay at this time of year is approaching 12 nights, and we have a huge return factor. We welcome guests staying 1 night…or 100, though our little resort needs a bit more time to appreciate than a simple single night sleep-over. Like a red wine, which you open and allow to breath, the textures and subtlety just may not be immediately evident on opening… or arrival. The beach (which I would not call anything else,) is not a large one, and its name (Petite Plage) should be a hint about what to expect, is intimate and lovely. On the other side, we are on Grand Case Bay, and it too is not a deep strand of sand just now, but it affords wonderful swimming and a magnificent view into the village. Our beaches seldom get crowded,… nor does the resort itself, as so many of our guests have different places to go and enjoy, not necessarily planting themselves on our beaches…there are 37 to choose from on the island! Charges…while we certainly love what we do, we are also a business. We prefer to let our clients know of our fees rather than letting them discover them on check-out, and I think that it is that practice that has you rankled? We will take your observations and see if we can apply a friendlier approach to our “Welcome Letter”, but still inform our guests of fee areas that they MAY encounter. We want everyone to be aware that they have the option to avoid these charges if they so choose, and that is a choice that many hotels do not give. We offer free parking, free Wi-Fi, free beach towels and beach chairs, free (simple, granted) continental breakfast, free non-motorized water-sports, free introduction to waterskiing and wake-boarding, free use of tennis court and racquets. There is no additional “Resort Fee”. We spend a great deal of effort and large sums of money improving the property and it’s facilities each and every year, and we honestly live by our motto of “Better today than yesterday, better tomorrow than today”. Thank you for the opportunity to respond to your review, and I do hope that you may give us a second chance some time in the future? But please, make it for more than just a day, I think you will be pleased that you did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
4.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
762 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
5.1 mi away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
5.7 mi away
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
406 reviews
5.9 mi away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Case Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Case Beach Club

Address: 21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St Martin / St Maarten
Location: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range: $241 - $554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Case Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and relaxing, small but large enough to have just the right amount of service that brings back our guests year after year. We are constantly improving and have updated and upgraded nearly every aspect of our resort, and will continue to do so. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grand Case Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Case Beach Club Hotel Grand Case
Grand Case Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing