We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't Wait To Go Back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Case Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Can't Wait To Go Back”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful week stay at Grand Case Beach club with my husband. This was our sixth time back to St. Martin, but first stay at GCBC. We wish we had discovered it sooner. Everything from start to finish was perfect. We stayed in an oceanview studio loft. The loft rooms are on the top level which gives you excellent views of the beautiful sunsets. If you go, spend a little extra for the oceanview rooms, they are so worth it. There are two beaches on the property. Both were beautiful. The landscaping is meticulous and well thought out. There are sea grape trees that act as natural umbrellas over the promenade of lounge chairs. We enjoyed sitting under these reading our books or after having spent time out in the sun. Continental breakfast of juice, coffee and chocolate croissants and french bread w/butter and jellies is included. You can eat breakfast in the Sunset Cafe restaurant or they will fix it to go and take back to your room. We loved taking it back to our room and having it on our balcony overlooking the ocean. We also bought some eggs and cereal/milk at the local grocery store (US Marche) nearby to supplement the included items. There is a very nice kitchenette in the room if you do want to cook or microwave. A bottle of wine is provided in the room upon arrival. As are fresh flowers. Very nice touches. The staff could not have been more helpful. The manager introduced himself to us the first day. They hold a guest mixer on Thursday evening with cocktails and appetizers. Great way to meet the manager and the other guests. Also a perfect photo opportunity as it is held up on the rocks as they call it, where there are great sunset views for picture taking. We had a car, but did walk a few nights to Grand Case Blvd where all the great French restaurants are. Finished off the evenings with a nutella/whipped cream crepe from the crepe cart. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Go for the ocean view room. This is a location that is so worth it. Made the trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarylandIslandLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,171
    441
    80
    33
    19
See reviews for
325
1,020
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (481)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Resort grounds and rooms are very nice and that's about it. To get to the resort you have to drive through alley ways that are getto, not native, getto. Resort has an 8" protective fence around it. The electric is european (220) and no rooms have American (110). Cafe is disappointing with free breakfast of only coffee, juice and small assortment of bread, not French pastries but breads. Staff is not willing to accomidate and can become very rude when you simply ask a question. We checked out early and went to the Dutch side of the island.

Room Tip: Don't book here, there are much better places at other areas on the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcbcmgr, Manager at Grand Case Beach Club, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
So sorry that we were not what you expected…but we are very much as we present ourselves on our web-site (where you booked your reservation), and we certainly do want all of our guests to be happy. I do not feel that the staff was rude, but they were surprised at your hostility over the 220V current, which is the standard for the French side, and you were informed of the availability of transformers and adaptor plugs, as well as the ability of newer electronics to use a range of voltages. The provided Continental Breakfast is a simple offering of Coffee, Juice, and a basket of fresh bread, a plain and a chocolate croissant with butter and jam. If more is desired, a full menu is also presented and you may make your choice at the listed prices.
The approach through Grand Case is a little chaotic and messy, but your choice of words is unfortunate and incorrect. Not all people choose to live in any one prescribed manner and the local residents have made their choice…not because of what you or I may think or want, but by what THEY want.
While not thrilled that you left, we hope you found what you were looking for on the Dutch side, as it was immediately obvious that you were not going to have any pleasure with us on the French.
Traveling is what you make it, the differences between what you are accustomed to and what you encounter can be a rich and mind opening experiences…or they can be dark, ominous and fearful. Luckily, the huge majority of our guests choose to have wonderful and positive outlooks as they savor the differences between cultures. And for those who chose a more pasteurized experience…there is always Disneyworld, or even Las Vegas. And they both have 110 voltage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Just spent a week at Grand Case with my husband and 2 teenage children. The hotel is very charming as are the people who work there. Had the one bedroom loft on the second floor. Was perfect for us. The 2 beaches on the property were clean and never crowded. There were umbrellas and lounge chairs and the hotel supplies snorkeling equipment free of charge. We took a snorkeling trip which was so much fun and worth the money. My son also tried waterskiing and had a blast. The restaurants in Grand Case were excellent, not cheap but the food was great. Le Pressoir and Le Tastevin were our favorites. The Sunset Cafe at the resort was the best though. The view, the staff and the food were incredible.

The only negative was we visited the Nature Preserve which is about 15 minutes north of the resort. It was so dirty, full of litter and there were homeless people living there. Very sad.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie7983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

My husband and I stayed at GCBC several days following a cruise, and this was as pretty a place as we saw any where on the cruise. The two beaches are beautiful and pristine, and the grounds around the resort are fabulous with different nooks for relaxing around the water's edge, both shaded and private. The Sunset Cafe is right on the water so you can eat all three delicious meals with a fabulous view and beautiful sunsets without leaving the grounds. The Grand Case restaurants are just a short walk away and the lobby has the nicest menu guide I have ever seen-complete with photos of the restaurants. The service throughout the resort was exceptional-they even mailed a sweater to me that I had left. Their special touches such as flowers adorning your bath towels and even the artistically folded paper towels are testament to their striving to delight and please their guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JagusNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Spent a week here and never felt so at home anywhere else in the world. Energetic & accomodating staff, waterside accomodations, quiet surroundings, and perfect view of town. Soft sand beach, comfortable beach lounges, free non-powered water actiities, snorkeling right off the beach--SO DELIGHTFUL. Staying where we had our own kitchen and utensils gave us yet another choice about dining. Made it easy to enjoy a little quiet time on our private patio, and stroll to town or the excellent on-site restaurant--the Sunset Cafe. One of the few places in the world we will return to.

Room Tip: If you e-mail the staff before arrival, special requests or reservations for dinner nearby can be ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sensitivity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

WOW! Me and my family just returned from GCBC and we are impressed!!! Our room had a great view of the crystal clear ocean! The food at Sunset cafe is amazing! We wanted to get away from all of the hustle and bustle of Philipsburg and that is just what GCBC offered, it is located on two beaches (Only one is a true functional beach), and the two beaches are connected by a boardwalk right on the ocean, and the rocks. Make sure that you do the snorkeling trip to Creole Rock the hotel offers, we saw dolphins, and sea turtles! You can also just go snorkeling right of of the rocks at the point, (watch out for sea urchin) The hotel offers complimentary paddle boards, snorkel gear, sail boats, sea kayaks, sand toys, and paddle boats, so you never run out of anything to do. Make sure to bring alot of cash to St. Martin because most restaurants offer 1 euro to 1 dollar exchange rate if you pay in cash. Also the ferries to other islands from Marigot only except cash. One of the big highlights of the trip was Lottery Farm, which is located 10 minutes away. We had loads of fun on their fly zone course, which has zip lines, suspend bridges, and more! Dont worry if you are afraid of hights, or get altitude sickness. You are always attached to safeties, and every once and a while their is an exit ladder you can use to get off if you are not enjoying the adventure. Also make sure to make a stop at the butterfly farm which is 15 mins away by Orient Bay. Super cool place, almost every kind of moth and butterfly around.

Room Tip: choose a two story ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dtoneill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

The week was in late November at St Martin (French north half of the island) was really wonderful! Simple, warm, very friendly, and great food.
In the beginning I was recovering from a bad cold, but we could laze about the warm beach, swimming before the sun came over the mountain. Reading and napping the first few days, was good for me, and there was lots of shade in front of the 2 bedroom suite from the Caribbean grape trees (not wine grapes.) Our temps were about 80 – 90 F; they report temps in Centigrade since it is a French country.

A. booked us at the Grand Case Beach Club- look on line, as beautiful as the pictures. We stayed in the two story bldg. toward the far end, quiet and much preferred. Private beach, warm soft weather. The rooms had dehumidifiers and a good AC system if you needed a cool sleep.
Nature was challenging at first. There was a deluge the first afternoon night, and I drove through long road puddles with lots of trepidation. The second night we had a 4.7 earthquake off shore at 1 am- no damage, no excitement from others- happens every so often they say.

We shopped at Grand Case as we walked about town looking at restaurants, and enjoyed a day trip to Marigot (French little port) sweet people speaking French mostly with some island English- and tropically colorful. I had been growing my hair out, and it was way too thick for beach days- so, I had my hair cut by a woman who did not speak English (to a magazine picture) Happily, she did a good job.

Tuesday night was A.’s birthday- Dinner at L’Auberge Gourmand. Then about midnight a moonlight skinny dip. Believe me, no one was awake then, and the sound of the ocean blocked all our laughter.

Oh my... the French food was spectacular! At L’A.G. she had tuna and loved it. I had the duck with a beautiful sauce- onion wine sauce with hints of pineapple and garlic- very mild sweet sauce. The vegetables were little rounds of various things- one was topped with a cold, whipped Shallotte cream- so interesting. Bistro Carribe had a beautifully cooked Sea bass in a beurre blanc sauce. And even at lunch one day I had wonderful garlic shrimp at Sky’s the Limit with a coleslaw that had some light coconut milk and red pepper flakes.

I (maybe) sampled too many Caribbean drinks- rums flavored with tropical fruit- but swam every morning and late afternoons, so obviously the drinks were not too much for me.

We went to the Orient Beach for the experience. We sat in bathing suits, while the nudes, topless women, and gay men embellished with rings and studs walked by. Most visitors to the beach were older, some probably retired, as they showed many years of sun exposure. Clothing vendors and beer clubs by the beach gave every comfort and cover-up as well.

Thursday we snorkeled at the big rock nearby; the display was nothing as colorful as Belize, but watching fish was restful and beautiful. The guide showed us animals we would not have noticed because they camouflage so well. Saw parrot fish, sheeps heads, flounder, pipefish, spiny urchins, spiky thin starfish, and lots of little colorful darting fish I could not identify.
That evening at the hotel they had a hospitality hour for the guests- mostly returning couples. As the seemingly only singles, we met 3 helicopter pilots (younger married guys) who fly for the richest man in the world. They told some interesting facts about him and their lives, and we had lots of questions.

Friday I drove into Phillipsburg to see the city in the Dutch south half where the cruise ships go. Andrea was ready to rest that day. Alone and a bit lost, I got into the famously terrible traffic. I regretted the jaunt from the peaceful Grand Case Beach.
My last night, the beach Club restaurant bar beckoned. It was so easy to walk to the other end of the gated hotel, and get a beautiful view and safe walk home. Laughed and exchanged travel stories with two often returning couples and the bartender contributed too. Seems the place is a favorite once discovered.
The last day there, as usual, I swam a while in the shade of the mountain, packed up and we drove back to the south end of the island. Lunch was a beautiful tuna steak sandwich we split at the Sunset Bar. Famous because the planes fly so close you can feel them and they blow beach sand. A big wow, and gets you ready to fly home.

Room Tip: The far end has less walk by traffic, but it was quiet place anyway. Also you can rent a car at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PaprikaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
4.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.6 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#5 of 8 in Orient Bay
495 reviews
4.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
2,210 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.3 mi away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Case Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Case Beach Club

Property: Grand Case Beach Club
Address: 21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Case Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and relaxing, small but large enough to have just the right amount of service that brings back our guests year after year. We are constantly improving and have updated and upgraded nearly every aspect of our resort, and will continue to do so. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Case Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Case Beach Club Hotel Grand Case
Grand Case Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing