We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at Grand Case Beach Club” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Case Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Case Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great stay at Grand Case Beach Club”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

The Grand Case Beach Club was fantastic. My husband and I stayed at the Grand Case Beach Club for 9 days. This was our second time on St. Martin. The first time we stayed at Anse Marcel, which was nice, but far too remote for us. The front desk here is great. They give a bottle of wine upon check in. The grounds are gorgeous. We had fun exploring. There are a bunch of friendly cats that are cared for on the hotel grounds too. We arrived in our room, which was clean and modern and the stereo is already on playing a sampling of local music. We wanted to buy the CD and the gift shop gave us our sample for free because they were out of stock. I didn’t see housekeeping or security that often, but when I did, they were very pleasant. The people that really make this stay enjoyable are those that work at the Sunset Café. They outgoing and very friendly. Their attitude is so infectious that guests on the resort can't help but be in a great mood too. We had breakfast here every day, lunch twice, and ended every night at the bar, which was so much fun. Food, drinks and service were always fantastic. Lunch always end with a shot and it is usually their homemade coconut rum (a must try).

We rented a car, but did not find ourselves driving at night at all. There are so many great restaurants and bars nearby. Basically the hotel is at the very beginning (or end depending on your point of view) of the Grand Case strip. Everything on the right hand side of the stip (including GCBC) has a great view of the sunset and the Caribbean. Our favorite places to eat were the lolos, particularly Sky’s the Limit. The service at this lolo is better than the rest and the cook is very proud of her meals. I wouldn’t know what to recommend. The ribs, shrimp, mahi mahi, red snapper, and side dishes were all fantastic. Plus, meals are inexpensive (about $8) with huge portions and $1 beers. 1 US dollar = 1 Euro there which is important. Le Cottage was our favorite high end restaurant with a great wine selection. I do not know much about wine so the hostess helped us select it and we were very happy. We went to Calmos on a Monday and had a great time because they had a live reggae band. Enold's at the end of the strip was a very cool place, very cheap, great views, and a super friendly owner.

One bad thing to note-- the Activities Desk (Creole Watersports) provided a stark contrast to the great service we experienced everywhere else on the resort. They were not pleasant to work with. I asked what the St. Bart’s and Anguilla catamaran trips were like and was basically read the description on the flyer on the desk. I asked if they could set up a private scuba dive for me and they never did. I gave my room number for them to call and advise me of the status of the dive trip, but they never called. That’s a pretty basic task for an activities desk to set up. I ended up booking it on my own. Also my husband asked for a set of snorkel gear for us at the beginning of our trip and on the day we left, we returned them. We were told then that they charge us for the complimentary snorkel gear if we do not return them at the end of every day. No one ever told us that. Since we used the snorkel gear every day, we kept it with us. We didn’t ever have a good experience with them. Unless you really need to do something through them, book elsewhere. This is the reason I took a couple points off for service in my review. FYI, Octopus Watersports is one block away.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dpefine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,166
    439
    79
    33
    19
See reviews for
323
1,014
27
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Our space at Grand Case Beach Club was a lovely two story villa overlooking the beach and coastline of Grand Case, St Martin. Because we went in May—the beginning of the off season—the beach and our outdoor space seemed very private and peaceful. The rooms were spacious and very clean, and the cleaning staff was very courteous. The property also has beautiful landscaping with colorful flowers and trees.

The villa itself had a well-stocked kitchenette, and the grocery store was only a 5-minute drive down the road. We didn't eat dinner at the restaurant on the property but breakfast there was very relaxed and tasty. The many excellent restaurants of Grand Case are also just a 10-minute walk down the road.

We had a lot of fun playing with the friendly cats and dogs on the property, and we booked almost all our activities through the Watersports desk there. Our favorite was the snorkeling trip out to Creole Rock with the excellent guide, Sebastian. The Scoobidoo Too catamaran also picked us up for a trip Prickley Pear right off our beach, no driving required.

For those looking to explore the island more, you'll have to rent a car to go further afield. We do this on almost every vacation though, and had no problem navigating around St Martin. Orient Beach is only a 30 minute drive away. There is some busier traffic around Marigot during rush hour time, so I'd recommend avoiding driving during that time.

Overall, Grand Case Beach Club gets my excellent review. A peaceful, relaxing escape away from the craziness of the Dutch side resorts and casinos!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JesMonaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2011

If you want to experience the gourmet capital of the Caribbean, Grand Case Beach Club is the place to be! 10 minute walks to all the fabulous restaurants of Grand Case. Seconds from two seperate beaches--both with cushioned chairs and umbrellas upon request. Easy to rent a car for the day if desired. The front desk let us check out late on our day of departure as the flight wasn't until 2:45p and they were able to get taxi's on very short notice. Our only complaint was my sister's suitcase was broken by the maintenance man carrying it up to our room. Minor detail during the week of paradise!

Room Tip: Upgrade to ocean view--worth the price!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rcook421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2011

We only stayed two nights, more's the pity, as an end to our longer stay down in Sint Maarten, but what a great place. We could not have been nearer to the beach and the view from our room was fantastic. The place is pure relaxation with a great restaurant and activities desk. We went sailing with Philippe and my wife and I enjoyed every minute. When we are next on the island we must stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room with loft
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ferryhill_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2011

Let me start by saying that Grand Case Beach Club (GCBC) is lovely and we’re planning to come back. With that said, I’m going to unabashedly describe the good and bad of our experience.

Our room was a garden studio w/resort view. Our first room had 2 beds. We asked if we could be relocated to a room with a king bed. The resort was very gracious about our request and moved us the next day without any confusion. Both rooms were newly updated and fairly spacious. The kitchen and bathroom have nice tile and granite. The AC was noisy and not as effective in the 2nd room, but GCBR worked to improve it while we managed our expectations. We did have some complaints about the bed and bedding. The sheets are scratchy. The bed is hard (not in a good way). That combined with the noisy AC and vicious mosquitoes made our sleeping experience not the best.

The front desk staff and Sunset Café staff (a well oiled friendly machine) were great. We spent at least one meal at Sunset each day and never had anything other than a fantastic experience. The food is excellent and the service is nothing short of perfect. One morning we watched with a mixture of horror and humor as a very large Russian man demanded his bread only minutes after sitting down. The staff took his behavior in stride. They make great drinks at the bar too.

The grounds are beautiful…lush really. They’re environmentally friendly and the purveyors love their animals. There are 5 cats that have an obvious pecking order. We tend to be dog folks, but made friends with a pretty orange cat who liked to come in our room and hang out and turn its nose up at our left overs. There are many bird feeders throughout. Security is excellent. The gift shop can book oceanfront massages: Gina is really awesome! The boutique owner is both charming AND artfully organized.

Ok so for the not so great…after reading reviews here, we were expecting the sports desk to be our main connection to water events. Our first encounter with Sebastian was good. He told us to take the ferry to St. Barts on Thursday when it leaves from Oyster Pond. Other days it leaves from Marigot. Traffic can be bad between Grand Case and Marigot plus the ferry ride from Oyster Pond is 30 minutes shorter. He also booked us on a catamaran trip to Anguilla and Flat Island for Sunday when most things are closed on St. Martin. We also asked him to look into finding a fishing charter that we could split with two other people (minimum is 4 people for most trips). He said he thought he might know of something, but we never heard back from him. That was disappointing.

The most disappointing, though, was that the Anguilla trip was canceled due to too few people booking. We were never notified. We were waiting on the beach ready to go when Monica told us it was canceled. I understand that these things happen, but it would have been nice to have known earlier when we could have poured more energy into finding a replacement. As a result our Sunday felt kind of wasted. We were willing to put a deposit on the trip but there apparently was no reciprocal deposit on our time. Another disappointment was that Sebastian never followed through on calling to try to locate a bag with medication we left on the ferry. I realize we were remiss for forgetting it, but it would have been nice to have felt he tried to help us. All in all we were disappointed not to be able to see Anguilla or go fishing. Next time we will take matters in to our own hands and not bother with the sports desk.

On our last day we learned from Rey, the bartender at Rainbow Café that he has a friend who would take people on his boat for a private snorkeling/sightseeing trip for just $100 more than the Scoobi Too tour the water desk booked us on. I’m sure that wouldn’t have been cancelled unless the weather required it. He also recommended a fishing guide. If only we’d found this out earlier.

The walk to town is easy but just far enough to let you feel you deserve the awesome food you encounter once there. Our favorites were La Villa and Le Cottage. La Villa does the 1 Euro = 1$ if you pay cash. They both offer authentic French food and reasonably priced but good wine lists. The nightlife is really fun. There are only a few places we’d call “clubs”, but stay for a week and you can make friends with the very nice folks who live and work in Grand Case. Partying and dancing with friends was more fun for us than the faceless clubs in larger areas. Jerome at the Factory was a favorite of ours. We met a Reggae singer (Dread I) in Orient Beach who was trying his hardest to sell us his cd. We compromised and decided to watch him perform at the Blue Martini when we realized he was playing in Grand Case that same night. He was AWESOME. If you like Reggae, track this guy down. He is in Orient Bay every day selling his CDs.

We visited in May, which was generally a good time to go in our opinion: You’re out of high season so prices and crowds are not bad; however, being in shoulder season some of the employees just seem worn out. Originally, I planned to be more critical of some of the service, but after talking to locals and observing, we realized they are just plain tired. All the more reason to befriend the locals.

We saw a lot written about crime on St. Martin. While I agree if you’re going to rent a car, you should never leave anything in it and you should use common sense; however, we had no issues what so ever with crime. We did not rent a car so I can’t speak to the break in issue. We chose to take taxis instead, which worked out well. The drivers were all really nice and professional. They also gave us the low down on where/when to go. We probably spent a bit more money this way than if we rented a car, but for the little extra money we spent we avoided the stress of driving and benefited from the taxi drivers’ wisdom. Jr. Benjamin was our favorite driver:easyjr@orange.fr 0690 88 88 89.

Our day trip to St. Barts was a mixed bag. We rented a car on the island for $50 for roughly 5 hours. On the one hand renting a car is a hassle for the few hours you have it and the roads are frighteningly steep and windy. On the other hand, when we arrived at Governor’s Beach, we had a very relaxing time and agreed we’d never seen a beach quite like it. I know St. Barts has other equally amazing beaches to offer, but next time, I’d prefer to visit them by boat. Once you get used to the roads, though, they do afford you some stunning views. It just depends on how brave you are. Also be prepared for how expensive the island is. We should have known better when we ordered drinks and the rail vodka was Grey Goose. A few drinks plus a Panini and a salad equaled $172 and they wouldn’t take credit cards. In Grand Case you can have a seriously gourmet meal plus a nice bottle of a Cote do Rhone for $105. Bottom line: St. Barts is worth visiting, but in my opinion you’d be better off chartering a boat and visiting the beaches by sea. My guess is that the total cost is similar, yet the value would be higher on a charter.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fanSXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gcbcmgr, General Manager at Grand Case Beach Club, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you for your extensive review of your stay, and be assured that we take the critique to heart, both positive and negative.
I understand that Seb from Watersports will contact you personally, so I will simply mention that we, the hotel, require that he deals only with reputable, insured and licensed providers. As it is the sea that they are dealing with, we have to allow them to make the calls on the safety of their passengers (and our guests). We could not, in good conscience, send our clients with friends of friends, who may or may not be qualified to deal with the many hazards that can so quickly develop on the ocean. Sometimes, while it may seem calm and welcoming in our protected bay, it can be very rough out on the open sea! Seb does acknowledge that he could have done better, in communicating.
I am troubled that you did not appreciate the brand new hotel mattresses! Just in December, we invested in very high quality sets that we have received many, many positive comments on since. As with food, each of us has our own tastes, and apparently ours runs a little firmer than yours....we would have been happy to soften the beds with additional padding.
Please do let us know when you plan to return, and we will do our best to "Ace" your stay, and erase any thought of negatives! Thank you once again for not only taking the time to write your review, but for choosing to stay with us at GCBC in the first place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2011

We stayed 3 days in Radisson Blu and 4 days here. We were to book our one week trip in Radisson Blu and so glad that we didn't. For half the price that we paid for at Radisson, this place is a gem. The room has a small kitchenette which is perfect for people that wants to prepare their own meal. Within minutes by foot you will be at the main strip of Grand Case where there are tons of restaurants to choose from. Local food or French cuisine are both available and some boutique shops as well. The are 2 beaches on both sides of the hotel, one side is a bit rocky but the other side is like a big swimming pool. The water is shallow and clear with fish swimming around you feet. This hotel seems old by looking at the pictures but St. Maarten doesn't have 5 stars hotels. The swimming pool is located at the roof top and nobody uses it. You can have the whole pool for yourself. But again, the water is so beautiful on the beach. Why bother the pool?

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Merryberry3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
72 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Our second trip to GCBC was a joy. The environment is tranquil and beautiful. My husband and I shared a two bedroom, two bath unit with close friends. It was spacious, attractive and comfortable, with ocean views from three separate balconies. No complaints other than the eventual need to depart. We enjoyed the views, the water, comfortable chaise lounges on which we read and sipped fruity rum drinks. Other highlights: the Sunset Cafe on site, watersports on site (kayaks, snorkeling opportunities), a wonderful massage in a hut high above the ocean. We rented a car right on the premises (very easy and efficient). There was plenty to do within the resort and in the nearby towns. Favorites were Grand Case (sublime restaurants), Marigot (art galleries, shops, amazing French food, and a lively open air market.) We will be back next year. This place is a keeper.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BGK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
4.8 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.7 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
2.6 mi away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
6.6 mi away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
6.4 mi away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Case Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Case Beach Club

Property: Grand Case Beach Club
Address: 21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Location: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Case Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and relaxing, small but large enough to have just the right amount of service that brings back our guests year after year. We are constantly improving and have updated and upgraded nearly every aspect of our resort, and will continue to do so. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Grand Case Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Case Beach Club Hotel Grand Case
Grand Case Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing